We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I finally found the perfect place to stay. I come to Cairns regularly for business, I have stayed in many, many places and do not have the urge to stay in any of them again. Some of which were between 4 and 5 star!
Prices are fantastic too.
I loved this little resort. Have already booked it again for my next trip

Room Tip: Make sure you request a ground floor room, the only problem with this place is, there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased that you have finally found somewhere comfortable for your stays when you are in Cairns for business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Arrived there with a huge smile on my face!!!
By the time we put our staff down in our room,I just couldnt wait to walk outside and have a look around and gushhh.....its sooo preddy..
I just love the Beach resort its just soo amazing there that just took my breath away..
Lovely place to when youre there especially with friends or couples..
I just couldnt leave the place and go to New Guinea after our weeken.
The facilities just greate and I love the food,beach and everything about this resort.
Best in Cairns and Congrats!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that faces the sea so you could just relax and enjoy your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for the great review. We aim for rest and relaxation and it looks like that is what you wanted as well. We are happy that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise and would love to have back to stay next time you are in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed a week at this resort, on the beach in Holloways Beach, Cairns. We enjoyed the very relaxed and comfortable resort and the staff were most helpful and very friendly. Our 1 bedroom apartment had all the home comforts we needed and the super king sized bed was difficult to leave every morning! The resort has a lovely pool and jacuzzi plus a great BBQ area, with 2 complimentary large gas BBQ's, condiments, seating etc. Our only issue was the WiFi, which was very hit and miss and seemed to be influenced by the weather. Lots of clouds = no ipad wifi! I recommend this accommodation for a relaxing, chilled vacation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We aim to provide a relaxed atmosphere and it looks like we have achieved this for you. We would love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is an apartment complex surrounding a swimming pool and across the beach from the ocean. Very clean, large apartments with great kitchen facilities. Could have used an air conditioner in the living area as well as the one in the bedroom. There is a great beach with a swimming area complete with lifeguard. There is a bar/restaurant on the beach but the service and food left something to be desired. There were a couple of good restaurants in the nearby shopping area and a liquor store. The area is very quiet which allows for lots of walking on the beach. We enjoyed the relaxation, helpful staff and cleanliness of the accommodations and would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdncarol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for the review. We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you are in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Arrive and relax is exactly what we did. We purposely booked Australis Cairns Beach Resort as it was out of town and close by to friends who lived in Machans Beach. We enjoyed the fact that we were not surrounded by shops and restaurants and far away from the crowds found in town. We checked the resorts website so we knew exactly what to expect as far as location, beach, pool and amenities. Maybe resort is not quite the correct description, apartments maybe more appropriate.

Our room overlooked the sparkling pool and the lush, manicured, beautiful, tropical gardens. The resort was fairly quite whilst we were there so were managed to have the pool all to ourselves on most occasions. Our apartment was spotless and came with all the necessary utensils for cooking. Although we had friends who transported us to most of our activities, we did use the public bus service to town on an occasion. The bus stop was a short stroll from the resort located next to a small group of shops. The shops supplied everything we needed to cook meals and also a bottle shop.

"Straight on the Beach" which was directly across the road was a pleasant place to spend some time with a light meal and a drink after a stroll along the beach. The stinger net and lifeguard are there for our safety and anyone travelling to Cairns should be aware that.

We found the staff at the resort warm and friendly, they had a wide knowledge of activities in the area and could help with any bookings if required.

We had difficulty playing dvd's which we had hired from reception for a small fee, but it was soon resolved when a Glenn came to the rescue and showed us how to set it up.

After being in town or at a tourist spot we were always happy to return to this little piece of paradise, far away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds. We would gladly stay here again next time we are in Cairns.

Room Tip: Room 24 had a beautiful view over the garden and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueCque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for all the kind words and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. The pool and gardens are the perfect area if you want to relax after a day out on tours. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you visit cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

1. These are more "serviced" apartments with swimming pool and tour booking service, rather than a resort. There is a beach across the street, but when we were there in December, most of it was closed off due to jellyfish. The closest restaurant is across the street and is basically a convenience shop where you an order at the counter and have food served to you at tables by the beach. I was asked to move from a table (when there were plenty of empty tables available) while finishing up a meal cause they said the table was reserved.

2. I put "serviced" in quote above because we did not receive consistent service. We booked two apartments - one through Interval World timeshare and one directly through Australis Beach Resort. The unit booked through Australis got fresh towels, shampoos and soap during our week long stay, the unit we booked through Interval World did not. The reason we were given was that the Interval World apartment was not serviced the same. Not sure why, since we paid about the same amount for both units (about $135/night) and the only reason why we were there was because of Interval International.

3. Sofa bed was extremely dusty (enough to give me breathing problems) and the bedding was urine stained. I was given fresh sheets, but no attempt was made to even have a look, let alone clean it. Instead I was told the sofa beds are uncomfortable anyway and don't use the bedding. Health inspectors should inspect this place.

All of these are a shame because there were many nice things about it, however the above were deal breakers which is why I'm giving this a poor rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. There are two kinds of tariffs that you can book when staying with us. We have a holiday service and a daily service. The daily service rate is higher than the holiday service. You booked the second unit on the cheaper of the two rates which gives you a towel change on the 4th day of your stay and if you are staying longer than 7 days you get a full linen change and unit clean on the 7th day. The unit booked with Interval International is on a set agreement with that company and guests booking this way do not get any services unless they are staying for two weeks and then get a full clean and fresh linen on the 7th day. There are washing machines and clothes dryers in each unit to enable those guests that book a holiday service to be able to wash and dry their own towels.
You booked for two people in both of the units and had split beds in both units and if we were aware that you needed the sofa bed we would have also had that made up with linen when you arrived. We have spoken to the housekeeper that serviced the unit before you arrived and we do rely on them to do the right thing and change the mattress toppers and she certainly had not done her job properly so we do apologise for this error of judgment on her behalf. If you had told us of this then we would have had the girls come to your unit and completely change all of the bedding straight away.
On your review you have mentioned about the café, when people check in we do say it is a café and not a restaurant and of course what they do there should have no reflection on us. The meals are café style meals and they do not pretend to be a restaurant. The beaches all the way up the coast were closed at that time due to jellyfish and this is to protect visitors in Cairns from being stung, again we do not have any control over this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked two side-by-side one-bedroom apartments on the 3rd floor, one with ocean views. Each apartment has a good kitchen with a complete set of items required to prepare good meals rather than eat out. We would have preferred to have one two-bedroom apartment, but the resort surprisingly doesn't seem to offer that option so the cost is higher than expected for a more-than-one-bedroom group. There is a pull-out sofa, but one of the sofa beds had a mouldy mattress. We used it but with extra sheets wrapped around it.

As we were staying at Christmas, the weather was hot. The ocean-view room can be cooled somewhat by opening the balcony door, but the other apartment was quite hot. The bedrooms have air conditioning but for some reason I don't understand the living-dining-kitchen area does not. Air conditioning in the late afternoon, to take the edge off the heat in the apartments, would have been good.

Internet was a disaster. We obtained internet access. I was blocked from the internet after a day and a half. Had to use the coffee shop across the road (Strait on the Beach) as they had free internet but they had to be asked each time to turn it on and tended to shut it off at times. I don't blame them as free internet is part of their business, but nowadays internet is essential even just planning the next few days of the holiday. The Australis Cairns Beach Resort people were friendly when I said internet was a problem but said that they did not have any expertise with the internet nor any troublesheet to follow nor experts they could call. Finally the internet let me back on the day before we were checking out right after the five-day pass had expired!

In all I would say that the resort is a good place to stay if you are seeking an isolated pleasant holiday. Holloways Beach is very quiet but friendly. If you want air conditioning, good internet, nightlife and restaurants, somewhere else is better.

Room Tip: Go for 3rd floor ocean view if you don't mind the hike up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We do not have two bedroom units as our website clearly states we are one bedroom units. We take these reviews very seriously and take action to fix any of the problems that might arise, if made aware of problems when guests are in the rooms this enables us to fix the problem straight away rather than have a guest going away unhappy. We have been to the room that you have said had a mouldy mattress and had a look at the sofa bed mattress and found that it is not mouldy as stated. You booked for two people in both of the units and had split beds in both units and if we were aware that you needed the sofa bed we would have also had that made up with linen when you arrived. We do not make up sofa beds unless we are aware that they are required.
Our rooms have an air conditioner in the bedroom and if the apartment is kept closed and the air conditioner on it does cool down the whole apartment.
With regards to the internet we have hot spots, you were advised that you would not receive internet in your room. We did not charge anything for the internet and we did have other people that were using it at the same time that you were in house so we are sorry that you were unable to access it on your device.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
6.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,145 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
5.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
615 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range: £74 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region/Holloways Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing