We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wandering retirees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wandering retirees”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We really had a good time in Bonigen. It was most convenient for the boats and the buses, enabling us to take advantage of the half prices!

We had a very pleasant room with lovely views over the lake - never the same twice - but as has been said before the decor was a little tired. Service in the dining room was fair as was the food. We would return to this hotel to do all the things we did not have time for this time.

Room Tip: The back rooms get the sunshine but the front ones have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    27
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

As others say, a lake view is a must. Fantastic views all day and beatiful sunshine until around 11 am.

We stayed for a fortnight in August. The hotel was quiet: a combination of the Euro's weakness keeping the Germans and French away and the Olympics keeping everyone away.

Food was superb. We ate table d'hote most nights, with one a la carte in the main restaurant. The pizzeria seemed popular with guests, locals and people from the nearby camp site, though we never ate there.

The room was so wonderfully clean and eveything else so good, we forgot about the slightly dated decor. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even opening up the terrace on a Monday (when usually shut) for us to sit & enjoy the ambience before departing for home.

Any stay at the hotel includes an Interlaken card, which includes free local buses in Interlaken. This makes the twice hourly service into Interlaken (until after 11pm) very useful. The boats almost stop in the lobby, so you can sit on your balcony, hear the boat sound its whistle for the previous stop, clean your teeth and stroll to the jetty.

There is no traffic noise. Only the buses (towards Interlaken) and about 10 cars per hour pass the hotel. The small promenade is wonderful for an evening stroll and there are both stenuous and very flat walks from the village.

Top tip: if you are in room 109 or room 110 you can access the free hotel wi-fi, supposedly only available in the lobby. This saved us a fortune compared to logging onto the paid for wi-fi service available throughout the hotel and on the promenade.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thalwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Excellent hotel at a very nice place directly at the shore of lake Brienz with a beautiful view on the water as welll as the surrounding mountains. Best quality kitchen and service, very friendly and familiar athmosphere. Good public transport connetcions, the bus to Interlaken stops directly in front of the hotel and it takes only a few minutes to get there. So do the boats for a nice trip on the lake.
We spent a very nice 5-days holiday there and for sure will come again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Recently had a very pleasant overnight stay at the Hotel Seiler au Lac and I can happily say that they live up to the promises on their website of being very friendly & welcoming. It is a lovely family run hotel & I can see how you could easily spend a few days to a week there (as many people repeatedly do) as it is very relaxing. We had a lovely room with a balcony & view over the lake. We ate at their La Boheme restaurant as it was the one night of the week that their main restaurant was closed but nevertheless had a very enjoyable casual meal. Would like to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here for 6 days with a group of about 30 touring Switzerland by train. Superb hotel. Rooms are comfortable. Service friendly and responsive. Food service varied and excellent. Beautiful restful location on Lake Brienz. Its quiet location outside Interlaken is away from the town's hustle and bustle, but bus and train service are so good that we were not at all limited in our travels throughout the country.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We have been guests at this wonderful hotel for over twenty years. Although we have stayed at many other hotels during this period, we always consider this establishment to be our home from home. Its ambiance is something very special in this age of chain hotels with their efficiency but perhaps rather impersonal attitude towards guests . This has both; efficiency with a heartfelt pleasure of making your stay memorable as a valued guest.

Firstly, it has probably one of the best views in the Bernese Oberland from a hotel room, overlooking the beautiful Lake Brienz with the towering mountains framing the view down the azure lake.

Secondly, it is an excellent location to explore this beautiful alpine region with free bus travel to nearby Interlaken with its transport connections to the mountains, lakes and cities.

Thirdly, this family run hotel is perfect if you wish a quite and peaceful holiday. It is spotlessly clean, the chef prepared food is excellent in the dining room with an Al a Carte Restaurant and a Pizzeria/Stubli as alternatives.

An indication of a hotel's success is the number of 'returning guests' and on this score, this hotel scores very highly as we always seem to be meeting guests from previous visits.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel. Great view of the lake, large rooms, very kind people. Certainly no other place like it in Interlaken. We had dinner at the Pizzeria of the hotel, very good cheese fondue, but very expensive. Very poor price/quality ratio at this restaurant.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picassospain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boenigen
2.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,205 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
642 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#15 of 40 in Interlaken
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seiler au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seiler au Lac

Property: Hotel Seiler au Lac
Address: Am Quai 3, Boenigen, Interlaken 3806, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Boenigen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seiler au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Hotel situated directly on Lake Brienz, 3 miles from Interlaken Ost train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Seiler au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seiler Au Lac Switzerland/Boenigen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing