We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Well charmless but worth was the cleanness of the room (hairs on bed, cut nails in bath tube, lamp cable not plugged in etc). I travelled in small B&B in Asia much much cleaner... Also the room I have is called/aircoed even when airco is off.
Positive is included wifi and food I got was good.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

First day arriving in the Netherlands and i had the opportunity to stay in this very unique hotel.
A very busy hotel if i may add, but fortunately the service was fantastic. Staffs were smiling all the time, friendly and always willing to do more.
Room was spacious and had a nice view. The bathroom was also huge, with sufficient amenities.
Would definetly like to come back and stay here again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azmi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Hotel in the middle of nowhere, towering over all the other properties. Room was more like a suite at other hotels. Had a room on the 7th floor which was problematic. People travelling to lower floors or 15/16 etc okay, but the two lifts kept gliding past our floor whether up or down. Waited nearly 15 minutes one morning. Reason? Lifts were big enough for 5/6 people (no luggage) and that was it, crowded. Room facilities were very good, although on first day I found that there was no coffee just empty wrappers from the last occupant. As it was late, we ate in the restaurant on the first night, good quality food and service was good. Without a car then you would be very limited for restaurants. Breakfast was excellent.
Use for business or a stopover going somewhere but then it might be considered expensive.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors to get past lift problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbloke_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for a business conference. Middle of nowhere location, the hotel towers over the surrounding area which is bland and uninspiring. It was almost as though the hotel had been dropped onto an alien landscape. Anyway the room was large and comfortable, especially the bathroom. Breakfast was good, plenty of voice etc but the other meals weren't impressive. Staff friendly but the absence of a gym in a hotel of this size which presents itself as an upmarket venue was odd. Wouldn't want to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxwellStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Certainly one of the best hotels I’ve been in Europe.
The rooms are excellent; there is nothing negative to say about it.
The bathroom is large, with both a bubble tub and a shower.
The restaurant offers a nice selection of food, but sadly it looks better than it tastes.

Room Tip: highest floor possible, to get a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leodium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

However officially a 4 star hotel, this could almost be called a 5 star hotel, and I would love to rate the hotel with 5 stars, as I had a very quiet night in a comfortable and spacy room, the staff is very friendly, the food at the restaurant (certainly the breakfast with great variety) and the atmosphere in the lounge bar is great, however one point puts me off to award this hotel with 5 stars and that's the general cleanliness.. I won't say that the hotel is 'not clean' and certainly not dirty, but I think it's the first time I saw so much dust (in the hotel room, but also elsewhere in the hotel), also at noon in a quiet restaurant the floor didn't look that clean. So not to blame the cleaning service at the rooms, as it more seemed to be a general attitude that the hotel management did accept. If this would have been changed the next time I would visit this hotel (as sure I would not hesitate to return or certainly advise it to others) I hope this will have been solved, then I'm sure I'll give it an excellent 5 star rating!
By bike (you can hire them) within 30 minutes from the city of Utrecht, and although close to a busy autoroute, you could hardly hear noise in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomBelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We enjoy eating here. The food ranges in price with a number of options: the three part set menu, the lunch menu--which is a good deal in the Netherlands--to the 'nostalgia' menu which includes a discount for retirees. The food has always been good. The service impeccable and friendly. In short, it's a good dining experience: consistent, friendly service moderately priced for European standards and good tasting. They also offer options such as 'live cooking', a grill evening, etc. We think it good value!

Room Tip: This is a 'business' hotel, with lots of business travellers as well as locals. The location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leembruggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houten
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Utrecht
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
3.4 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Theater Figi
Hotel Theater Figi
#2 of 6 in Zeist
299 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kasteel Kerckebosch
Kasteel Kerckebosch
#1 of 6 in Zeist
558 reviews
4.7 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#6 of 22 in Utrecht
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht

Address: Hoofdveste 25, 3992 DH Houten, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Houten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Price Range: £67 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing