We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Satisfied”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay! We came in very early to check, which went smooth and to our surprise the room was ready. Our guest room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was perfect. The staff members at the Front Desk and Restaurant (breakfast) were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask if there's an availability to get a room on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeCeePeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    210
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
33
151
24
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a 4 stars hotel but deserves 5 stars!
Everything is perfect - large modern and tasteful rooms, great bathroom. Spacious and spotless.
All the facilities you want - lovely lobby and bar area, good food at the breakfast and lunch buffet.
For meetings - superb meeting rooms with modern appliances. Great Service. Free Wifi.
Al in all - an excellent hotel with good value for money

Room Tip: All rooms are similiar and great - you won't go wrong. Try an upper floor if you fancy some view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna151281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitebird4
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel whilst visiting friends in Holland. It was exceptional. The rooms are big lovely decor and a jacuzzi bath. The breakfast had plenty of choice of cooked and cold foods. On Saturday evening we went to the one price evening buffet 35 euros to eat and drink all you wanted. The food was very good. Oysters prawns clams turbot and salmon to name a few fish dishes on offer and all the meats and vegetables you could think and just to round off the evening a chocolate fountain fresh fruits creme brûlée and plenty of other tempting desserts. Wonderful value for money. The hotel is close to all road links and a few minutes by car from the train station. This is a very good hotel and any person who can find fault must be very hard to please.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whitebird4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrassa, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I spent few nights last week there by business reasons. And enjoyed the hotel a lot. Fantastic rooms with relaxing jacuzzi included. The room was incredibly huge. The restaurant is very good, and we spent nice times in the bar watching World Cup football matches in TV (the only con is the screens are very small for this place :-) )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otmbarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is my 5th visit over the last 7 years I have stayed at this hotel.
It still remains the only hotel close to Houten centre, although it is a brisk 25 minute walk through a pleasant park.
The cuisine is still pretty good in the hotels restaurant, also they still have a decent size menu with
a good selection of various meals.
The bar and terrace is very popular and quite impressive selection of drinks,snacks and lite bites.Very spacious public areas.
Bedrooms and bathrooms are generous in size. Please note that windows do not open!, to compensate the aircon is efficient.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view ask for rooms above floors 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKNorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Considering the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, I find it overpriced. However, it is a good choice for business travelers going to Utrecht or Papendorpseweg. The deluxe rooms are clean, well furnished and well-sized but the whirlpool is far from comfortable with jets of water that prevent to assume a comfortable position and with showers of boiling water coming out of the faucet at random.
The restaurant in the hotel is nice with a wide variety of dishes, but it is also pricey.

Room Tip: There is nothing around the hotel and rooms are pretty standars, but rooms in higher floors have a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here in April 2014. It was about 40 minutes from the AMS airport and very easy to get to. I would describe it as a mix between a Westin / W. My room on the 15th floor was large and spacious by European standards with a nice waterfall shower and a separate tub. A very nice queen bed and 42" LCD rounded out the room. Very stylize like a W with contemporary furnishings and quotes and the like on the walls. Breakfast was included in my stay and it was fantastic with custom omelets and many other buffet options.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houten
3.4 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Utrecht
Van der Valk Hotel Utrecht
#13 of 22 in Utrecht
35 reviews
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nieuwegein-Utrecht
5.1 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
788 reviews
4.7 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
Address: Hoofdveste 25, 3992 DH Houten, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Houten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing