We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable spacious rooms but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Bilt
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable spacious rooms but poor service”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My experience goes back to 2012, which I stayed there for one week. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was large and well organized.
Breakfast was great but when I went out of the shampoo and asked for the refill, nobody caed to do that. The cleaning people were not doing their job without extra tip.
:(

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laleh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    239
    71
    14
    5
See reviews for
90
197
25
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

I'm in de Bilt visiting the Dutch Meterological Institue, KNMI, and this hotel was arranged by them but I would return if I have to come back. Location for de Bilt, Utrecht and Zeist is great. Breakfast is top end continental, after a long day of work & travel we arrived after 10pm but they were still able to serve us a good hot meal, not sure I'd get that in the UK. Free Internet is good in my room. Pool is small but worth using and, although the hotel is off a main road, you are very close to countryside. I had a very pleasant run after work today, seeing purple heron and deer. I would recommend the hotel, as another reviewer has said it is much better than the travelodge/premierinn brand in the UK but for the same price.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Openered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

UK budget hotel chains need to have a look at Van der Valk.

Excellent restaurant, front-desk staff, clean and modern throughout, great choice for breakfast, lovely swimming pool when the kids get the hell out of it and no-one seemed to mind when I reversed my van into one of their walls.

All this for 80€ per night.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: One side of the main complex borders a busy road. Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Incredeble nice staff, the food was realy nice and spicy, it seems That All THE rooms where totaly new. The drinks, dessert beter than ever, and THE band was realy entertaining. We soon coming back and try everything over and over again?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDear1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I was booked in by the organizers of a meeting nearby, for one night only. I immediately noticed the architecture, which was authentic and inviting. The atmosphere was very pleasant. The room I was booked in was quite spacious and very modern. The bathroom equipped with a shower and separate bath. The bed was very comfortable and I particularly like the large and supportive pillows. I slept well, something I often find difficult for the first night at a new hotel.

The breakfast was slightly above average, perhaps a little cramped where you get the food, but with plenty of options.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the main boulevard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We received a nice room (no.111) with a large bathroom and the breakfast was very good. All this for a fair price.

But... is a but here. The bed matresses were terrible, we felt like sleeping on a trampoline (very elastic and very high) and I woke up in the morning with back pains.

Concerning the "free Internet", well it was free, but with a signal so weak that it was impossible to use the Internet in the room and only in the morning when going to breakfast I was able to connect in the lobby with the Internet. To have Internet in your room - this is part of the comfort you want to have in a hotel and this hotel is not able to provide it.

Third complain,: when leaving we were asked to pay for two breakfasts! for each of us while we were in the hotel only one night! It took 10 minutes and the control of a supervisor to establish that we have not to pay the extra breakfasts we were asked at the beginning. :-(

My advice: if you are looking for a comfortable night - don't come here.

Room Tip: Avoid room no, 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It was the kind of Dutch winter time when one would not want to overly rely on the road conditions: frosty, with quite a lot of snow. So we settled down in the Biltsche Hoek, a stones throw away from my childhood home, to spend a night en route between destinations in Utrecht province. We found a quiet hotel, a large room and a nice swimming pool at our disposal. So instead of ploughing through the snow we had a nice dinner and a relaxing night.

Room Tip: if you have trouble negotiating stairs, check the route to your room with the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0H0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Bilt
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
628 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
1.7 mi away
Star Lodge Hotels
Star Lodge Hotels
#7 of 22 in Utrecht
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
3.8 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Address: De Holle Bilt 1, 3732 HM, De Bilt, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > De Bilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Bilt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk de Bilt-Utrecht is a 4-star hotel nearby the beautiful forests Houdringse bossen. Benefit from free parking and an indoor swimming pool. The hotel rooms are well-appointed and have a private bathroom with a bath. An extensive breakfast buffet is available in the morning. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner daily. The centre of Utrecht can be reached within 15 minutes by car or public transport. Jaarbeurs Conference Centre is 20 minutes away by car. The motorway is 3 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht Utrecht Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing