We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food ... rooms a little 'dated'”
Review of Hotel Zwartewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zwartewater
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwartsluis
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food ... rooms a little 'dated'”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Food is very good, hotel is in the middle of "town" if you can call it that, but it was sufficently close to where i was working. i would recommend the "mixed grill" off the standard menu - this went down a storm amongst the team.
Rooms a little dated, but all still very functional ... no problems at all and a great outlook over the river.
didn't stay long enough to use other facilities (bowling alley, pool, gym etc).
would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    31
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
17
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meppel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Close to my hometown there is the small city of Zwartsluis with this great hotel locaties in a typical Dutch landscape . Great restaurant, comfortable rooms, friendly staff .
The area is most suited for those who love watersport. Windsurfing, water ski, sailing etc.
Close to Zwartsluis is the village of Giethoorn also know as little Venice . A must see if you are close by.

Room Tip: Task for a room with a view of the waterside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taverny, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed there during a business trip.
The hotel is located in a small town along the river.
The room is very large, at least 30sq/m with a dedicated area with 2 armchairs and a small table.
I had a bedroom with a view on the river. It's very quiet no sound of boat's engine which use the waterway.
The bathroom also is large, well equiped and claen as the bedroom.
The breakfast is correct and if the weather is good you can take it on the terrace along the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemtheConqueror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We, a group of seven persons, arrived to stay for a night on our cycling tour around Ijsselmeer. We found the hotel didn't look so exciting from the outside as we approached it with our bicycles. But the rooms were perfect, spacious and had a little balcony with a view to the river. Our best was to have drinks on the verandah and to chill and to watch the traffic on the river and sunset.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Someone pressed the pause button 25 years ago and nothing seemed to have changed since then. Its worn but clean. Restaurant is lovely placed by the canal but the food is quite disapointing. Had a so so sleep since the bed and pillow was not that comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zwartsluis hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sonthofen, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel really looks awful when you approach it from the road. The sport building, for bowling and tennis, blocks the view. Once you get into the hotel, particularly in the restaurant, the view onto the canal is spectacular. Our room looked onto the car park but that's life; we booked late. The room was large and the beds and bathroom were really OK. The general feeling of the rooms though is that they need pepping up. The restaurant is attractive. Our food was excellent and to sit on the terrace and watch the sun go down and the ships go by is really a treat. The service staff is average when they show up. Breakfast excellent, self service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2409JohnEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Great restaurant, rooms are not big, but clean, good price

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RomanH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwartsluis
8.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
7.9 mi away
Geertien Hotel Cafe-Restaurant
5.9 mi away
B&B Landgoed Oldruitenborgh
B&B Landgoed Oldruitenborgh
#1 of 1 in Vollenhove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
De Olde Smidse
De Olde Smidse
#3 of 3 in Giethoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Jonge
Hotel Restaurant de Jonge
#2 of 3 in Giethoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel de Harmonie
Hotel de Harmonie
#1 of 3 in Giethoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zwartewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zwartewater

Property: Hotel Zwartewater
Address: De Vlakte 20 | Zwartsluis, 8064 PC Zwartsluis, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Zwartsluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwartsluis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zwartewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Zwartewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing