We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely the place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alex Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alex Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Zwanenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alachua, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely the place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My name is Jorge, and I was with my wife, Carmen, in June 2014. I can only describe our experience with superlatives. The service gives hospitality a welcome concept. The shuttle to and fro the airport is better than the big name hotels. The rooms are modern and well thought out for your rest and confort after your tour of the city.The price is so low it is misleading, but it is the best stay I have had in a long time in any country. The sorroundings are beautiful and very much a community of nice people (the restaurant was superb, food and service and they did notaccept our tip. They said it was not necessary).
I look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Room by the entrance on the first floor, but each room has a special actractiveness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0rge1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    36
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
79
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The wife and I stayed here in early June 2014 while visiting Amsterdam from Canada. Clean and modern rooms, small but cozy, and quiet atmosphere. We stayed on the top floor room which has a private rooftop patio to sit outside and enjoy an evening drink (Mini bar fridge included).10 minute walk to the local Halfweg-Zwanenburg train stop, 10 minute train ride into Amsterdam. Free shuttles to the airport - they even accommodated an extra early 5am shuttle so we didn't have to make other plans which was greatly appreciated! Excellent experience overall! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant_S25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I really liked Alex rooms, the place was in a quiet location and the rooms where superb, with lovely little balconys to enjoy the evening stars on. the staff where very friendly and helpfull, and this is definetley a place i look forward to staying at again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We needed a room right near the airport for our last night in Holland. I looked this up through booking.com and was intrigued by the photos. It is just as it appears.

The manager and his wife were very friendly and eager to please. We arrived around noon but were able to get a room right away.

Our room had a huge jet tub which worked perfectly. The only downside is there is practically no fan and you are advised to leave the door shut so the steam does not get into the room. As a result, the floor is literately sitting in water.

That aside, the bed is comfortable and it is so close to the airport that we were able to find some breakfast (no meals here) nearby and not have to rush. There are several food stores, cafes and a few restaurants nearby. If you turn left from the front door you will find only food stores. If you turn right, you will see bakeries with coffee and further along, pizza places and if you walk as far as the canal and turn left, there is a nice restaurant near the corner. Everything is close by and the roads are all bricks. Very enchanting.

In the back of the hotel is a very nice patio, partly enclosed and partly open. If it is raining you can still sit outside. All smoking must be done outside. We were thankful that it was not too busy so we could sit outside without getting smoke on us.

They have a service to take you or pick you up from the airport. We had a rental car and there was plenty of free, safe parking at the rear in a school yard.

We really liked it and would stay again if we were in the same position.

Room Tip: We were in a front room beside the door where patrons come in late at night. Perhaps something upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1946HappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The number at Schiphol no longer is working, you must call the place directly to be picked up. Expedia has the correct phone number. The "hotel" is 20 -25 minutes away in a neighborhood in a suburb, Has three decent places to eat and a small supermarket within walking distance. Didn't try the train to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaShrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had been travelling around europe for 4 weeks and this was our last stop and without a doubt the best place we stayed by miles!!

The couple that run this hotel were lovely and were very accommodating for us. They even collected us from the airport and dropped us off again when we were going home. The room we had, had a balcony that looked onto the garden. The bed was by far the comfiest bed I have ever slept in and the shower was great! The area of which alex rooms is in is really nice and is perfectly situated to get into Amsterdam city centre but still be far enough away to relax. We will definitely be back and are hoping to book again next year loved it!!! No complaints at all well the weather could have been better haha!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank macgregor107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our room was beautiful, we had a large balcony and the room was spotlessly clean, staff were very polite ad helpful, the hotel is situated in a nice quiet area with easy bus and train access to Amsterdam central. supermarkets within 5 minutes walking distance. we can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwanenburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zwanenburg
Hotel Zwanenburg
#1 of 1 in Zwanenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
3.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
7.1 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#44 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Rooms

Property: Alex Rooms
Address: Dennenlaan 80, 1161 CS Zwanenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zwanenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zwanenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alex Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alex Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing