We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, classy hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed at the Van Der Valk, Volendam for 3 nights last week and had a really lovely visit to Holland. Our room was clean, spacious and was represented accurately by the pics on the hotel's website, nice big clean bathroom, beds were heavenly and to boot we had a nice view of the Dutch countryside. We found the staff to be helpful and efficient, we had to ask them about bus transport to get into Amsterdam and they helped us with booking a taxi early on a Sunday morning, really can't fault them. Volendam is a gorgeous place, 15 mins out of Amsterdam by bus which conveniently stops right outside the hotel and they run frequently. The Simonehoeve Cheese and Clog Factory next door is well worth a visit, all the staff in there are lovely and the cheese & souvenirs are fab. God bless Holland!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    533
    124
    29
    14
See reviews for
321
629
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

would nt recomend to anyone..... arrivd a little early did not wnt to book us in ... as soon as we mentiond more money all of a sudden there wasa room available... after that confrontation everything we ordered from to the room was very late and would turn up cold.... i asked them to warm up my babys milk they refused... veryunhappy

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had been visiting Holland on Business and rather than fly off back to the UK we decided to stay on for the weekend, unbeknown to us this was the weekend for a national Dutch Holiday "Queens Day" We searched far andd wide for a hotel close by to Amsterdam and eventually found Van Der Valk. What a find !!! really well located to explore the nearby towns and villages and very close to a "park and ride" into Amsterdam city centre. The staff, as would be expected in Holland, were courteous and hospitable.

The bedrooms were spacious and ours overlooked some waterways and lawned areas. A real treat was the swimming pool.

We were able to thoroughly enjoy our stay in Holland, experience Queens Day and rest in the Van der Valk

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Van der Valk Volendam hotel was a welcoming place to rest away from all of the hustle and bustle. The countryside scenery is breathtaking and must be enjoyed via cycling. What a nice surprise to rest and then enjoy Amsterdam.

Pros: Bikes available, restaurant, available transportation every 10 to 15 minutes (buses), information available on park and ride, beds are comfortable, and rooms are very clean.

Cons: Did not enjoy the cheeseburger we ordered, but the breakfast buffet was fabulous!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the countryside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Beautifull terras, nice staff en good food.
Super location for an outside lunch of drink. Close to various typical Dutch sights.
Very good price for a good choice of meals

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankSpaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend at VanderValk, Volendam. Our party consisted of 16 adults
(8 x de luxe rooms), who joined us to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. The service was excellent, all arrangements were exactly as requested (thank you Bernadette) and everyone had a fantastic time. The live-cooking on Saturday night was great and all our English friends vowed to come back and spend more time here. Location is great - half an hour to get you into Amsterdam so definitely leave car in the carpark. Edam/Monnickendam en Zaanse Schans are "must-sees". Please pass our thanks to all staff who made our celebration so very memorable. Florence & Mike Talbot-van Rijn

Room Tip: de luxe rooms are very good - nice if you have the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This place is about 30 minutes outside of Amsterdam. If you have a car and want to visit the city, you can drive to the car park about 10 minutes away and for 8 euro (for the whole car - we had three people), take the train in. Very convenient. The hotel itself is OK. Probably a pretty nice conference hotel in it's day - now it's a bit run down. The rooms are good sized and the bathroom is large and clean. But between the fitness room charge, breakfast charge, internet fee, high prices at the restaurant, etc. we felt a little 'nickel and dimed' by the place. The staff (esp the manager) are very helpful. Don't be fooled by their classy website - makes the place look more modern than it really is.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaroldsMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katwoude
1.9 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
442 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
1.9 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
1.8 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#3 of 4 in Volendam
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Volendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Address: Wagenweg 1, 1145 PW Katwoude, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Katwoude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Volendam 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Volendam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Volendam Hotel Katwoude
Van Der Valk Volendam Katwoude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing