We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junior Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Have been for a few days with wife and children, the room is magnificient with very efficient heaters, beautiful flat led tv, two showers and a real jaccuzi bath that was brand new when we were there, the restaurant is top dutch food with real service

Room Tip: take the junior suite if its available when you come and you have 1 or 2 children, they will love th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy9835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here based on other reviews. We were visiting Amsterdam but wanted to stay outside of the city. This was an excellent hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The bus stop was juust outside the hotels and buses into Amsterdam were about every 10-15 minutes and the journey took about 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrKoala64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband, 12yr old son and myself have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is excellent, very clean and with good size rooms (we stayed in a triple luxury room). All staff spoke english but one downside we felt was that the staff were not very forthcoming with info. As first time visitors we knew nothing about the buses or surrounding areas and we kep having to go and ask them. They only give us the basic facts and during our stay the main road which the buses passed on was closed due to re-surfacing a fact which they failed to mention. This was no fault of the hotel but was a little inconvenient as we had about a 10min walk to get the bus into amsterdam.

The hotel surroundings is beautiful with our room looking out onto a duck pond and surrounding countryside. Due to the road closure we walked into Volendam which took about 45mins. It is a beautiful quaint fishing village and the walk in was lovely although somewhat sore on the feet!

Breakfast was excellent at 11 euros per person but we were unsure what children are charged at as one morning we paid 7 euro for our son and then the next mornings they charged us 11 euro.

If you are looking to stay away from Amsterdam but still travel in I would recommend the Van Der Valk. Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings with only a couple of small downfalls.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My family and I visited the Netherlands-primarily Amsterdam- in June 2012. Based on other reviews that we read about this hotel, we decided to stay there. We weren't dissapointed.

The hotel was extremely clean, the staff was very friendly and very helpful. We also enjoyed staying at a hotel that wasn't located directly in the city of Amsterdam.

We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room that looks over the pond where the sheep and goats graze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevanstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is an extremely well equipped hotel in a beautiful rural setting, with great views of fields, and pond, even boats going by way off in the distance! But it would not be a good choice for a backpacker relying on public transportation as there are no other services and no town nearby. We had a rental car and this hotel made a fabulous home-base from which to do day trips to towns such as Marken, Edam, and Volendam, all within 15 minutes drive. We booked ahead of time through Tripadvisor (Booking.com), and arrived late in the evening without any complications.
The hotel has every possible amenity such as pool, free wi-fi (one hour daily per device, so if each of you have a laptop you are all set!), and a restaurant and bar (with lovely patio). We arrived late and were worried about getting something to eat since there are no other services nearby, but the hotel kitchen stays open to 11 pm. and at 10:50 pm we got a fabulous meal (I had ribs and my husband had spaghetti - both excellent). In the front lobby the hotel even has a couple of free Play Station machines for kids to spend their time on. There are a couple of slot machines in the bar, but thankfully the sound was turned off, so it did not disturb us when we were there. There is a fitness centre on the premises (next to the pool) but hotel guests have to pay, and when we wandered in to check it out and ask about prices, they were pretty unwelcoming and it was impossible to get much information about anything.
The rooms are huge, clean and well equipped, with really nice modern bathrooms. The patio doors open onto a long communally-shared balcony with chairs and tables and a wonderful view. Very nice. The windows/doors are those that I have only seen in Holland that have three settings - door, open window from angling open from the top, or closed.
My only criticism of the room would be that there was no air-conditioning and it was hot that day, but we were able to leave the windows open and it did cool down. The other criticism was that (as with many hotels in Europe) asking for a double bed gave us two single beds stuck together, leaving us (who like to cuddle together during the night) to sink down in the crack between the beds all night long. These two items were the only reason I lowered my rating from excellent to very good.
For breakfast we opted to eat at the hotel restaurant buffet. What a great deal THAT is! For 11 euros, the breakfast includes virtually anything you could imagine. Three different kinds of scrambled eggs, fried eggs, boiled eggs, sausage, bacon, sliced meats, sliced cheeses, smoked salmon and cream cheese, a huge selection of breads and rolls, a huge selection of cereals and things such as raisins or oats to top them... wow, what a spread! They even give you a chance to make your own freshly squeezed orange juice (but if you are not so inclined you have a choice of 4 other juices!). An espresso machine provides decent (though not great) lattes or espresso. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel for a home-base while exploring nearby towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pond! If it is hot, specify you want a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The area where this hotel is located is absolutely breathtaking. If you can, request that your room is NOT looking over the parking lot. On the other side of the building, there is a gorgeous view of a pond and grazing sheep.

When we arrived, it was a few days after a heat wave in Volendam. The building is made of brick, and had absorbed all the heat of the past week. It was VERY warm there, and despite the description we had been given, our room was not air conditioned. Normally, this would not be a problem in Holland because of the pleasant temperatures, but if you are visiting in the summer you should make sure you are reserving a room with air conditioning. The rooms have a door and a balcony (shared with the entire floor), but no cross ventilation. Only some of the rooms have been remodeled.

This hotel was a great value for our family. It had three beds (two together to make a queen, then a single for our daughter). That's hard to come by in a hotel. The beds were VERY comfortable. I am a germaphobe, and I found the hotel to be a very clean, well cared for place. There is ample space to move around, and the halls were very secure. You needed your key card to access the halls in the hotel. I only wish they would have locks on the screens, as I felt a little shaky about leaving the balcony door open at night, but it was necessary because of the heat.

The people at the front desk were pleasant and accommodating. They were very willing to offer information about the area, and gave us some pointers about getting to Amsterdam via Park and Ride.

The village of Volendam is WONDERFUL. I could have spent the entire week there and I would have been happy. Still, it was a great base from which to tour around Holland.

We had breakfast in the hotel every morning, and it was WONDERFUL. There was a little bit of everything. The highlight of each morning was the fresh squeezed orange juice from a large automatic juicer. You push the lever and watch as the oranges roll into the machine, get squeezed, and produce the yummiest juice you've ever tasted. I missed it as soon as we left!

We also had dinner one night at the restaurant there. It was very good, but a bit on the expensive side. The wait staff is very stiff and inattentive, but I have found that to be true of most restaurant staff in Europe. There are many, many choices for restaurants just a few minutes away in the marina area. Nothing beats eating out in the open air with a view of the water.

Overall, I loved this hotel. Next time, we will ensure that our room is air conditioned.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room facing the parking lot. The view is bad, and it is very noisy. Try to stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daynasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed at the Van Der Valk, Volendam for 3 nights last week and had a really lovely visit to Holland. Our room was clean, spacious and was represented accurately by the pics on the hotel's website, nice big clean bathroom, beds were heavenly and to boot we had a nice view of the Dutch countryside. We found the staff to be helpful and efficient, we had to ask them about bus transport to get into Amsterdam and they helped us with booking a taxi early on a Sunday morning, really can't fault them. Volendam is a gorgeous place, 15 mins out of Amsterdam by bus which conveniently stops right outside the hotel and they run frequently. The Simonehoeve Cheese and Clog Factory next door is well worth a visit, all the staff in there are lovely and the cheese & souvenirs are fab. God bless Holland!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeyDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katwoude
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
491 reviews
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Old Dutch
#3 of 4 in Volendam
179 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel
Lloyd Hotel
#102 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Volendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Address: Wagenweg 1 | N247, 1145 PW Katwoude, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Katwoude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Price Range: £59 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Volendam 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Volendam ans surrounded by the polder landscape of Waterland, lies Hotel Volendam. 15 km from city centre Amsterdam and 3 km from Volendam.A family hotel, characterised by its warm hospitality and a homely atmosphere in a tradional Dutch countryside location. Hotel Volendam offers you the best of two worlds. it provides teh oerfect retreat between citi and nature. Enjoy a fabulous lunch or dinner, a confortable night's rest in one of our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Volendam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Volendam Hotel Katwoude
Van Der Valk Volendam Katwoude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing