We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better value than inner city Hotels!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Much better value than inner city Hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I will start firstly by noting that this hotel was about a 30 min bus ride from Amsterdam Central but will proceed to say that for the same price to stay at this hotel as a hotel/hostel in the city centre this will provide much more value for money!!
Ideal for business trips/family/couple stays, would not recommend if you want to party in the city as this hotel is quite up market and out of the way. The bus stop is literally right outside the hotel and buses run frequently into Amsterdam roughly every 15 minutes. The hotel is also situated quite near to Volendam which is worth a little visit to see the cheese factory and the harbour.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, the room was clean and tidy with a beautiful big bathroom and modern shower. Various amenities such as swimming pool, aerobics, sauna although we did not have time to make use of these.
Breakfast is highly recommended when you stay, it is a little pricey at around 12.50euro each but it is a large buffet consisting of hot and cold meats, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, coffee, fresh orange juice and pastries and the restaurant is really nice/high quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlett s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    443
    112
    26
    13
See reviews for
271
505
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great hotel, good price and only a short bus journey into Amsterdam. When we were visiting Amsterdam, the city was really busy and rather than spend money on a rubbish intercity hotel we opted to stay outside the city and commute in... I definitely recommend it - you get a lot more for your money and this hotel is lovely and has great amenities, friendly staff (although the reception staff were not great to be honest) and set in a lovely rural location a stones throw from the city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tardis_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Me and some of my friends were visiting europe, and when we headed to the Netherlands, we booked to stay here from Last Minute Hotels.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was lovely. It is located close to the beautiful town of Volendam, which has many wonderful restaurants and cafes. It is also located close to a bus stop with direct access to buses to Amsterdam Centraal.

We loved it here so much that we expanded our visit one more day, which was still extremely cheap. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alax S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is 20 minutes by bus from Amsterdam central and the busses run until after midnight, so for me it was a great base to work from. The staff were really helpful and professional, the place was clean and comfortable and the room was large enough to feel spacious. The Shower was as hot as you can handle and the little bottles of toiletries were filled up every day. The room is also well soundproofed so you don't hear people passing your door all the time.
I was very pleased with the comfort and service but I was very disappointed that there was no kettle in the room, nor anything for making tea and coffee, or even cups. (other than the glasses in the bathroom.)
I feel that the manager should have a serious look at putting tea and coffee facilities in all rooms as I have never been in a hotel that does not provide this. Even the cheapest hole in the wall gives this. I went and bought a kettle for 10 euros from Hema, one of the chain stores in Amsterdam.
I am more than satisfied with my stay there though and would add that there is a very good cheese shop next door where you can see cheese being made and clogs being made. People should be made aware that your bus ticket is an all day ticket and you can travel on it as often as you like on the day. I went to Edam, Volendam, Hoorn, Mockendam, Purmerend and Amsterdam and at he moment the ticket is only 10 Euros for the day. Very good value, great comfort and a perfect place to relax in the countryside, yet close to the city.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but bring your own kettle if you book a basic room. you can buy one for 10 Euros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

First of all, Van der Valk Hotel Volendam isn’t in Volendam. It’s actually located in the middle of beautiful countryside. Village(s) of Edam-Volendam is half an hour walk away so be warned. This hotel can be a good base to explore Northern Holland though.

I would recommend getting there by car, parking is free and parking lot is big enough. If you are limited to public transport, bus from Amsterdam Central Station will get you here in 30 minutes. Buses use dedicated lane and stick to timetable even in rush hour. There’s a bus stop right near the hotel.

We (party of 4) have stayed for a week attending exhibition in Amsterdam. Had absolutely no trouble with anything. Staff was very helpful. We chose this hotel for room prices that were lower than similar hotels in Amsterdam itself.

Hotel has modern look and feels clean and professionally run. Standard room is large enough. Bathroom very clean, spacious and seemed designed with much care. Beds are comfortable; the hotel itself is located off the main road so it is very quiet.

Breakfast was good; my only complain being no choice of fresh vegetables. For some reason only tomatoes were served for breakfast though hotel’s restaurant offered wide range of salads for lunch and dinner.

Wi-Fi in the room is free, unlimited and excellent though you have to login via KPN hotspot first. Skype worked well.

Pool in the Health Center is quite small and can be overcrowded. But hey, it’s free!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vyacheslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dielheim
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have booked 1 night in this hotel as we could not find a room im Amsterdam. Surprinsingly after reading some appreciations, we have found this hotel quite convenient, very quiet, the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms renovated and very beautiful.
we had diner in the restaurant and it was very good, the service being very professional.
breakfast was complete, and good.
we paid 89 euros for a night, plus breakfast = really this hotel is to be recommended, located near amsterdam ; we also had the possibility to visit Volendam, Edam , which we would have certainly skipped if we were staying in Amsterdam.

This is not a romantic hotel, indeed but very convenient if you don't want to spend too much money and still have a very good comfort.

Room Tip: don't forget your swimming-suit !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfyDielheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

A very nice modern hotel near Amsterdam. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and clean. We liked that the hotel was warm, as it was somewhat cold outside, even it was July, so that we could bath the kids. The breakfast was extremely perfect, it was delicious and had too many choices. The hotel is very close to Volendam and Edam, must-see small villages, and Amsterdam is 15 minutes by drive. It's a bit hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melike-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katwoude
1.9 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
11.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
1.9 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Volendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Address: Wagenweg 1, 1145 PW Katwoude, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Katwoude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Volendam 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Volendam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Volendam Hotel Katwoude
Van Der Valk Volendam Katwoude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing