We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Nuland-'s-Hertogenbosch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nuland
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I booked the Hotel Nuland as I had business close by, I had previously stayed there for 3 weeks in 2007. The hotel has undergone a refurb and now has a very modern feel. I had a large chalet room to the rear of the hotel. The room is very large, great bathroom, flat screen TV (with BBC1&2), two comfortable double beds and tea and coffee making. There is free WiFi but you can struggle to get a signal in the chalets.

The restaurant is also modern and comfortable menu is standard fair for The Netherlands I had the liver which was very nice, breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold continental style offerings. All staff were helpful and very friendly and to top it all the room rates are very reasonable too, I will be staying again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EODUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    245
    90
    42
    12
See reviews for
100
293
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We were working at the Western Experience and again stayed at this great hotel. We had room 16 overlooking the main car park at the front. Quick check in by friendly staff and a nice warm refurbished room. Lovely bed, extra pillows, fantastic shower, clean, hd tv etc
Since our last visit the bar has been turned into a small casino but there was another bar through the restaurant and down the stairs. Good service and nice beer.
We did not have an evening meal there but our workmates did and said it was very tasty, we did however sample the breakfast on the two mornings and it was very good. A selection of cold meats etc or standard hot food.
When I read some of the previous comments I find it hard to believe the review is about the same hotel. Myself and my fiancee had a brilliant time here again and could not fault it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erkygrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for two nights in October 2013.
I was allocated a room at the rear of the hotel in a separate block - they are rather like chalets, on on top of the other. The room was spacious and modern with two double beds (or four singles if you pull them apart). Tastefully decorated bathroom with an excellent shower and bath. The TV had 28 rubbish channels - I managed to catch Charlie's Angels and Star Trek ! No Sky or UK TV at all.
I ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights and have to say the food was excellent. Beautifully cooked and lots of it. They also provided bread at no charge, and an in-between course of a salad with a small bowl of apple sauce with a cherry tomato on top - also at no charge. So it was a shame to see that they did charge 1.25 Euro for a small pot of ketchup!!
The hotel is undergoing an extension at the moment, so the bar has moved downstairs - it wasn't very busy at all, but was nicely furnished.
All the staff were very friendly and attentive.
One last thing - the hotel appears to be obsessed with energy saving light bulbs. The rooms have plenty of spotlights in the ceiling, but they don't give off much light - I found it hard to read anything. It was the same in the restaurant.
I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyJEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stopped here for 4 days on a conferance with work . The rooms are very spacious and have recently been refurbished . The bed is very comfortable to sleep in as well . I had a room at the back of the hotel which was a 2 minute walk from reception and it was very quiet . The food in the hotel was of a good standard and the breakfast was good with a good selection . The only downside to this hotel is its location as there was not a lot going on around the area . It has a small casino and a bar which does not stop open late for residents . It seems to be very popular with businesmen/ladies and the resteraunt always seemed quite full day and night . In all a good hotel but in a pretty quiet location .

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room at the back of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegas910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botswana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is a few minutes from Hertogenbosch and it is just off the A59/A2 motorway. It was convenient for me. We had a superior room, it was huge with two double beds. I chose the room as it had air conditioning. We were in the middle of a heatwave. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was lovely. We have a refurbished room. I do believe that they are in the process of refurbishing all the rooms. The receptionists were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKnowlesBotswana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a tour. The rooms were in the process of being updated (ours was still 1980's - but clean). Rooms opposite us had the builders in - with the constant smell of wet plaster and electric wiring all over the corridor floor. Obviously compensation culture has not yet hit the Netherlands or Injury-Lawyers-4-Us would have a field-day at this hotel. No air con in the room. We left the patio door open when we were in it, but as we were on the ground floor and next to the car park, we couldnt leave it open as we slept - so it was stifling hot.
Food was terrible. Same choice for 3 nights - pork or fried fish. As a vegetarian there was no choice. After much fuss the Chef eventually cooked a mushroom omlette which was fine and offered tinned mushroom soup. Third night was a disaster! I'd explained to the waitress that I was a vegetarian so she had offered stuffed mushroom as the main - fine. As a starter I'd ordered the "cream of tomato Soup" - this then arrived with meatballs! I swapped it for a prawn cocktail - but the lettuce was full of grit. My mother's "medallions of pork" (in reality - a couple of thick slices of pork) arrived - but were red raw. I'd ordered a "cheese board" for desert - which arrived looking like the last scrapings of the cheese from the back of the fridge. As a part of 26 we had expected much better food/service. The restaurant manager apologised every night and indeed he had a lot to apologise for. They had obviously served us the cheapest possible food under the assumption that English people will eat anything and not complain!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park which can get very noisy. Also ask for a first floor room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We used this hotel as part of a four day group holiday that incorporated visits to both the Floriade and Keukenhof Gardens. The Van der Valk hotel Nuland is situated 10 minutes from the city of 's-Hertogenbosch and also near the A59/A2 motorway, convenient for both aforementioned attractions. Quite, despite the proximity of the busy road.

It is classified as a four star hotel and it meets the criteria ec expected of such a grading. Very affable and helpful staff, especially at check-in, which involved over forty clients. English, of course, widely spoken at the front desk.

Comfortable rooms with fridge, the usual satellite TV including BBC1. The few critisisms that could be levied included the lack of a curtain surrounding the bath, which limited the use of the shower facility, and the ommision of a bath mat. The stairs are particularly steep so caution is advised, although there is lift access to the floors.

Good decor although slightly dated, although some upgrading of rooms was on-going (minimal disturbance). We chose the half board option and found the standard of cuisine was of a very satisfactory; well presented food with good choices at dinner and a very adequate but unremarkable breakfast. Excellent coffee machine and a lovely fresh Orange juice maker. About equidistant from the Floriade and Keukenhof sites so convenient location.

For groups a very prudent choice and on a B& B basis it would also fail to disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms, if they are available. Beware that the Gym is located in a sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbruce912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuland
5.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel 's-Hertogenbosch
7.1 mi away
Hotel 's-Hertogenbosch-Vught
4.5 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant ’s - Hertogenbosch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Uden - Veghel
6.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Hotel Central
6.3 mi away
De Ruwenberg Hotel | Meetings | Events
De Ruwenberg Hotel | Meetings | ...
#1 of 1 in Sint-Michielsgestel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Nuland-'s-Hertogenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Nuland-'s-Hertogenbosch

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Nuland-'s-Hertogenbosch
Address: Rijksweg 25, 5391 LH Nuland, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Nuland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nuland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Nuland-'s-Hertogenbosch 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Nuland-'s-Hertogenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing