We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming!!!!!”
Review of Hotel 't Voorhuys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 't Voorhuys
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Emmeloord
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

First time in Emmeloord and 't Voorhuys is located almost right in the middle of the square with shopping only a stone throw accoss the street. My check in process took barely 3 minutes. I love the decor in my room and the sitting area by the reception. The staff spoke very well and their smile were so genuine. Though I stayed only for one night, I will be staying there again and again on all of my future trips to Emmeloord. By the way the food at the restaurant was sensational and the portions are worth every Euro.....

Room Tip: Taxi ride from Lelystad Centrum train station to the hotel did cost me over 80Euros. I had to go thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNBRUNO_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
24
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Booked this for a 1 night stop over and wished we could have stayed longer, hotel staff were lovely and spoke good English, we had booked a family room for 3 people with breakfast and it was a snip at £49.00. The room was fab, plenty of room, nice furnishings and really comfy beds and the bathroom was huge with probably the biggest bath i have ever seen!
Breakfast was the usual buffet style with loads of choice including bacon and eggs.
Didn't have time to explore Emmeloord as we were only passing through.
Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudys51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
422 reviews
385 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Best Western Hotel t’Voorhuis is situated directly on the main square of Emmeloord. In September construction works were in full swing, but it was not listed on the hotel Website. Apparently the renovation of the entrance and the lift will be terminated by December 2012.
We were given room #21, but we asked for a change as the room was dusty, in need of renovation and also because of missing hygiene. The seals on the shower cabin were mouldy and stained with brown dirt. We were then directed to room #35 which looked much fresher, but still in need of some renovation. The bed was comfortable, with LCD TV, free Wi-Fi was provided and tired plastic flowers which did not much contribute to make the room look more welcoming.
The breakfast was made ready in an adjoining room, scarce in choice and without presence of a waitress. The restaurant is divided in an English Pub and a dining section. The price of the meals seems firstly overpriced, but due to the hugeness of the portions justified. We could not find an alternative restaurant, a part of a Chinese Restaurant and some fast food joints. Free parking is available opposite of the hotel on the main square from 06.00 PM.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is as far as possible away from construction works
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
341 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is a very good hotel. It is located in the centre of Emelloord which is a very pleasant small town. Free parking for the hotel is in the main town square opposite the hotel. We were a little concerned to find, that a carrillon tower was outside our bedroom window, but it did not seem to opperate between 10pm and 8am, at least we did not hear it and I am a light sleeper. In fact considering that the hotel is in town it was very quiet overall. Our room was very pleasant, very clean and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed linens and towels were beautiful, crisp and fresh, some of the best we have experienced. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable rate and was extremely good with plenty of hot and cold choices. We ate in the Hotel restaurant one evening, which was also excellent with great food, and is obviously a popular venue for locals, a little on the pricey side, but worth it. All of the staff were most helpful and knowledgeble about the area, and most spoke excellent english, which is always a bonus. There is an elevator in the hotel and free wi-fi which was good. This is an excellent base for visiting this part of The Netherlands and there is plenty to see and do away from the main touristy areas, more like the real Netherlands.We hope to return soon and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
Level Contributor
391 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Hotel 't Voornhuys is located in the centre of Emmeloord but very easy to reach by car. In front of the hotel is a large parking place which is free of charge, after 18.00 hrs. The rooms are decent and clean, the wireless internet is free of charge. The hotel offers good quality for the price and I could recommend it to everyone who has to spend the night in the Noordoostpolder.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normandic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I have used this hold for business for the past 12 months or so. the hotel is the focul point of the whole viillage of Emmerloord. you are 10 mteres from the high street, the shops, the casino., the chinese restaurant, the tapas bar etc ... if you choose to each in the hotel restaurant, again i can recommend it.

i have probably eaten most of the menu over 12 months and have never been disappointed with service, portions, taste, quality or presentation.

i would say that you need a car here - there is no train station in the village but there is a big bus station.

the service is what put this at 5 stars rather than 4 ... as it;s like being home from home. the staff treat you like family. i have had breakfast served at 5am, 11am, dinner after midnight. over christmas i was the onlt guest on one evening and they actually asked me what i wanted for breakfast the next day and at what time - it was like stopping and my parents house !!

in the last few weeks there is now free wifi in the hotel, restaurant and the rooms, plus small but signficant changes to improve things around the hotel.

yes, i would recommend !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (Sept 18, 19, 20 2009) We walked in off the street requesting a room. Joke (Yo-kA) One of the owners, found us a room and told us they were full the next night but would see what she could do about the other 2. Later on the same evening just after dinner as we passed through the lobby, she saw us and told us that there had been a double booking and we could stay for 2 more nights if we wished. When we needed directions to go visit people in the region, she called them, got the directions and then printed out mapqest for us. Throughout our visit she and all of the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our experience as pleasant as possible. Breakfast was included and very nice with a good selection of typical Dutch breakfast foods. 2 nights we ate dinner in the bar / restaurant. One night bar food and the second real dinner. Both times the food was fresh, tasty and the staff attentive. The room itself was a good size, with 2 twin beds pushed together to make a queen size, this worked well since I was travelling with my mother and we could push them apart. The decor was clean and attractive. The bathroom was spotless and lots of hot water. We couldn't hear any sounds from other rooms other than some noisy neighbours closing their door. The Hallway is sectioned off so we only had 4 neighbours. The hotel has free internet in the lobby. Also of note: we choose not to have our room made up. This hotel, without asking left us clean towels, shampoos, and toilet paper on a plastic bag outside our door each day.

We travel to Netherlands about once per year, I loved this hotel and would absolutely stay there again.

The pictures of the rooms that the hotel posts are exactly what I saw and got.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianWomanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emmeloord
1.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Emmeloord
10.3 mi away
Geertien Hotel Cafe-Restaurant
18.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Lelystad City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Restaurant De Eese
20.5 mi away
Hotel Lumen
Hotel Lumen
#2 of 9 in Zwolle
544 reviews
23.1 mi away
NH Veluwe Sparrenhorst
NH Veluwe Sparrenhorst
#1 of 3 in Nunspeet
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Voorhuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Voorhuys

Property: Hotel 't Voorhuys
Address: De Deel 20, 8302 EK Emmeloord, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel 't Voorhuys)
Region: The Netherlands > Flevoland Province > Emmeloord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Emmeloord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Voorhuys 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 't Voorhuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing