We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rejuvenated Weekend Getaway!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cidade de Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cidade de Goa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dona Paula
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rejuvenated Weekend Getaway!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Pleasent stay at the resort for 3 nights and 4 days. We had book deluxe room with direct access to the beach. The rooms were upto the mark, the beach view from the room was breath taking with the private balcony sit out and swing/juhlas. The perfect setup for the perfect beach holiday. Personal balcony set up was icing on the cake just perfect to rekindle but d sad part was the bathroom which was not upto the 5star standard may be the room and the balcony had set up such high standards so expectations were much higher for the bathroom. Beach access was just amazing enjoyed the water rides as if we owned the sea it was quite and calm, unlike calangute and baga.Cafè Azul was nice wherein you order 1 cafe latte which actually serves 2 so first check the quantity and then order..had ordered a sandwich which was good but the pizza was a regret with no taste. In-room dining was good with wise idea of serving in casarol so the food remains the same hot till it reaches room!!brilliance personified!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Divyang785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Divyang785,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you had a very rejuvenating weekend getaway at our beach resort.

Deluxe rooms are situated in our Bay wing and offer very convenient direct access to the Vainguinim beach. We highly recommend these rooms to our guests coming as couples.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the water sports facilities provided by us and the in-room dining service.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    513
    194
    57
    63
See reviews for
471
349
30
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for a week in November (our first visit to India) - on arrival there are security checks for all vehicles and then further security checks as you enter the hotel. The hotel is situated, overlooking the beach and is of a Portuguese design, with a colourful façade - there are many different levels, which gives the hotel an open an airy feeling.

We opted for a superior room and were allocated 206, which had it's own balcony and overlooked the beach and the sea. The room was delightful, well serviced and had a huge bed. Complimentary bottles of water (4) were provided each day in our room and every evening there was a knock on the door to see if we needed any fresh towels. There was a complimentary fruit basket provided too on our arrival and we really appreciated the air conditioning which was very efficient. There was plenty of storage space in the room, which also had wifi too.

We stayed bed and breakfast and enjoyed a good selection for breakfast each morning in the Cafe Azul, which over looks the pool area, terrace with palm trees and also the sea. We also ate in the Alfama, which is a restaurant based on a Portuguese square, serving Portuguese fusion food - a very enjoyable meal. There is also a coffee bar area which serves coffee and cappuccinos as well as other restaurants and a bar. The staff in all the various bars and restaurants were always very helpful, friendly and obliging.

There are ample, well kept gardens, with leafy shade, places to sit down, plenty of sun beds, an almost private beach which is clean and well kept - daily fresh towels for the beach. An amazing view of the sun going down! Again there was security staff in the gardens and beach, so you were never pestered if you sat on the beach, although there is no service on the beach and if you wanted to get a drink you would fetch it yourself. Every day there was a different demonstration that you could watch (cooking, pottery, cake making).

The hotel has a modern, very well equipped gym and spa area and we certainly enjoyed the spa treatments that we tried - again the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The one area which would benefit from an update and staff training is the reception desk - the reception desk does not do the hotel justice, neither does the level of staff courtesy. The reception is the front of house where everyone is representing the hotel - the window that everyone sees when they come to the hotel. This is a 5* hotel - waiting to be served is a little like waiting at the taxi office, whilst the staff talk to you and answer the phone at the same time (without saying excuse me). Answering the phone should be carried out back stage - front stage should be for those people with excellent customer service skills, who actually want to be providing a helpful reception service, smartly dressed (maybe traditional dress). Currently for a female expect to be overlooked until you are the only person standing at the desk to be served!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Marion D,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay with us-I am sure it will be of immense help to other travellers planning their trips to Goa in the near future.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed all the services and facilities provided at Cidade de Goa, along with the architecture of the property, the layout and Portuguese inspired architecture and the security arrangements. We have also noted your appreciation towards our hospitality services, especially the housekeeping and restaurant and bar staff, and we have conveyed the same to them.

We have also noted your issue with our front desk, and I would like to inform you that we have already increased our internal training for the same.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

One of the well known and older resort hotels of Goa , it still lives upto its good reputation.About 45 minutes drive from the airport , very close to Panjim , Dona Paula & Miramar.

The design and layout of Cidade is very attractive and the colourful facade/interiors make it more so.The paintings on the walls are unique.

A warm welcome by the front desk , served a welcome drink and invited to join the cake mixing ceremony.That was a lot of fun.

The resort has some good restaurants esp Alfama.The decor is of a Portugese square,very attractive.The menu is Goan - Portugese fusion.Had a wonderful dinner(grilled king prawns,crab cakes,goan sea food broth,apple pie).

Good breakfast spread at Cafe Azul.

Rooms are well sized,with a comfortable bed.Bathroom is functional.(A bath tub would have been a treat).The sea view rooms with a sitout are wonderful.

The swimming pool is clean with many sunbeds scattered around. The beach is clean , secluded and almost private.

Excellent staff - very helpful and friendly(special thanks to Aaron,Nilesh,Sudesh,Nasir).

Dont miss listening to the pianist Tony playing at the bar.He has some great tunes esp old Bollywood numbers.

The in-house boat house has lots of activities including boat rides , kayaking , water scooters , para sailing,cruises etc.Its tad more expensive than those in the north beaches but worth it because one doesnt have to travel elsewhere for water activities.

The hotel provides complimentary airport pickup and drop by an ac bus .This was prompt and timely.

Excellent security.

Cons : Breakfast at Laranja can get to be crowded because of large group of conferencers.
Stray dogs on the beach.

OVERALL : A great stay.Will surely return.

Tips :
+Calangute,Baga & Anjuna beaches(further north) are a must see(45-60 mins drive from Cidade).
+Dont miss going to Old Goa(St Xavier cathedral/Mangeshi temple)
+Carry adequate medicines as there are no medical shops close by.
+The southern part of Goa is more peaceful and staider as compared to the north.Cleaner beaches too. Most of the top end hotels are in southern part.
+The party scene and popular beach shack eateries(Brittos/Souza Lobo) are located up north
+Buy Cashew nuts and Port wine to take back home.Excellent quality.
+Do try Feni - the local Cashew/Palm drink.Very strong but worth a try.
+Do the Mandovi river cruise.
+DONT hurry in Goa.The pace is slow.Remember you are on a holiday.

Room Tip: Sea facing room certainly(Costlier though and the sound of the waves lates into the night can get ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladict_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Traveladict_del

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay with us. I am sure it will be of immense help to travellers planning their trips to Goa in the near future.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our resort. Cidade de Goa has been welcoming and delighting guests for the past 3 decades and it is the appreciation of guests like you that motivates us in this endeavour.

Alfama, inspired by the Bohemian town square of Lisbon, is a fine dining restaurant, serving signature gourmet dishes and wines. The unique ambience of this intimate restaurant lies in its romantic balconies and alcoves with musicians to serenade guests during a candle lit dinner.

We are grateful for your appreciation towards our colleagues- Nilesh, Sudesh, Aaron and Nasir. Your appreciation has been conveyed to them personally by me.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

While reviewing few of the star rated resorts/ hotels on Goan beach side while we were planning for a family vacation, Cidade was recommended by a friend based on his earlier stay experience. We got a sense of the team's professionalism right from the time we started to communicate to confirm our bookings and requirements. With all set, while our family of 5 including my parents stepped in within Cidade, we knew we had made the right choice. We let out a collective Wow no sooner we were ushered into our beach facing well designed and maintained rooms with spacious sit outs . The view was mind blowing and so was the manicured lawns and pathways around. The swimming pool is one of the best I have seen in resorts and the pool side bar and café added to the overall experience. However, the overall differentiator being the Hotel team who treated us no less than family. Their overall services and demeanour added to the pleasures of the family vacation at every step of our stay and we did not feel the need to step out to experience Goa except for half a day for a short sight seeing trip. I did go back with my friends 3 months later and again the experience has been awesome in all respects.
I do look forward to a Goa trip soon and needless to say Cidade feels like home. Cheers to the team there !

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms are out of this world !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niloy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Niloy2013,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review about your stay at Cidade de Goa. I am sure it will be very helpful to other travellers planning their trips to Goa in the near future.

We are delighted to read that your recent stay with us was at par with your expectations. It is the appreciation of guests like you that motivate me and my team to perform our best at all times.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
del
Level Contributor
156 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

an ageing property needs some real work to improve

extremely poor room service, no one cares for a guest. seems the place is to big and the management is highly unprofessional.

one of worst expriences of being in goa.

food poor, breakfast served much below standrad.

asked for a cup of coffee, the guy said it'll turn cold by the time it reaches your table.....

no standards what so ever......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Chaturvedi,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review. It is with extreme concern that we have noted the issues mentioned by you. Please accept the apologies from me and my team, as we were unable to deliver our usual high service standards that we usually pride ourselves on.

I would like to invite you to write your detailed feedback to me directly on cidadedegoa@cidadedegoa.com so that we can look into the same. At Cidade de Goa, guest feedback and suggestion is always welcome as it helps us to better our guest experience.

Thank you for your review.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

It was fun to be at Cidade Goa - the view was great - beach front, swimming pool, the food at Barbeque (wow sea food - also tandoori stuff) was finger licking good.....
We also had the oppourtunity to enjoy the water sports (expensive though) the thrill to challenge the waves with Jet Ski, Banana ride, Parachute surfing etc...

Room Tip: Always insist on Sea facing room to have the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family_master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Family_master,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other informed travellers. We are very happy to read that you had a fun-filled family vacation at Cidade de Goa.

Barbeque is indeed our award winning open air grill restaurant serving the freshest sea-food.
As Cidade de Goa is located right on the Vainguinim beach, all our sea-facing rooms, public areas and restaurants, especially Barbeque, offer stunning views of the sea.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you to Cidade de Goa in the near future.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We went from our office trip to goa and stayed here. The resort is nice well maintained and truly deserves 5 star.

Beach was awesome. Nothing much to describe.

I feel , for eating out you have to go out 2 km from the hotel to find a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasgupab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Dasgupab,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are delighted to read that you recent stay with us was a ‘very nice experience’.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform our guests that we offer multiple dining options within the resort- Laranja (multi-cuisine buffet restaurant), Café Azul (all day dining multi-cuisine restaurant, specializing in wood-oven pizzas), Barbeque (open air grill restaurant, serving fresh sea-food) and Doçaria ( 24-hour coffee shop). If our guests prefer to dine outside the resort, we also provide transport service through our travel desk.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
2.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
2.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
16.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cidade de Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cidade de Goa

Property: Cidade de Goa
Address: Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula 403004, India
Region: India > Goa > Dona Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dona Paula
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cidade de Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready to experience one of Goa's best kept secrets? Just 10 minutes from the capital city of Panjim, Cidade de Goa is spread across 40 acres and nestled along the tranquil Vainguinim beach, close to Dona Paula. Within it you'll discover a world of welcoming hospitality. The impeccably furnished rooms are equipped with every possible amenity and great sea views. Our Master Chefs will delight you with multiple cuisines in Cidade's array of restaurants. The fun shines brighter here with a range of water sports, beach games, indoor activities and kids' facilities. Clube Saúde has its own state of the art gymnasium and offers an array of Swedish body massages and holistic ayurvedic treatments. Come, experience the best that Goa has to offer at Cidade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cidade de Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidade De Goa Beach Hotel Vainguinim
Cidade De Goa Beach Resort
Cidade Goa Beach Resort
Hotel Cidade De Goa Beach
Cidade De Goa Dona Paula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing