We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Patrick J

Almost Incredible- worth a try

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jul 2023via mobile
We spent 3 days and 2 nights at the Luxe by Charlee in room 205. They were running a last minute special my wife found. We got our money’s worth! The views here are outstanding. Check in was easy, but the ‘lobby’ staff was curt and in a big hurry despite us being the only guests checking in. They did let us know all the details. All of the Tuk Tuk drivers are so nice especially Juan. Our outside porch had a wood burning fireplace that Juan built for us night 2. We had a hot water issue but it was fixed promptly. I appreciate that stuff happens and they fixed it. The restaurant is pretty good but the service is not - except for Lilliana - she was our breakfast server the last day and needs to train all the guys in blue shirts that don’t care about anything going on how to be a better server. The blue shirts(no name tags) mostly just hang by the register. We rented jet ski’s the first night for an hour. Don’t whine about the cost just do it ($125/hr) and the Ski Doos are in good shape and fast enough. This allowed us to ski all the way to Guatape and then back all the way to right under the big fat rock. Outstanding experience. This lake is wide open during the week. Our condo was cool and it is nice to have 2br and 2 bath when traveling as a couple. We had plenty of room to spread out. Juan took us to the big rock our 2nd day - get there at 9am to avoid the tour buses - we just beat them at 9:45 arrival. You have to climb the big rock. Do it. Then … Guatape is a charming town especially if you walk up a few streets. We even saw some Zocaleros working on their paredes. Check out was just like check in. No one even acknowledged us. Our Tuk Tuk driver told the receptionist we were out of 205. That’s it. No one asked us how are stay was. It was hot in that area - my wife asked for some water and the receptionist told her to walk down the hill to the restaurant. It is these kind of things that sound like other reviews I have read that turn people off. This place is too special to have poor service anywhere. Maybe the cold blooded receptionist needs to drive the Tuk Tuk and let Juan treat people to a welcoming experience. Maybe Lilliana needs to be promoted and run the restaurant. The place is so special! Almost there…
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Carlos Rodriguez C, Propietario at Luxé Cabañas y Aptos., responded to this review
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Dear Patrick J
Thank you for sharing your detailed experience at Luxe by Charlee. It sounds like you had a mix of both positive and negative encounters during your stay. The beautiful views and location seem to have left a lasting impression, while some aspects of service fell short of your expectations.

Your feedback is valuable, as it can help the establishment improve. When it comes to service, it's essential for staff to be attentive, courteous, and responsive to guests' needs. Positive experiences with staff members like Juan and Lilliana showcase the potential for exceptional service at the establishment.

While the service you received may not have met your expectations, your suggestions and insights could be constructive for the management to address these issues and improve their overall service quality.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and I hope your next trip, wherever it may be, is filled with more positive experiences and excellent service.

Juan Carlos Rodriguez C
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£151
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    £127
  • Agoda.com
    £67
  • Expedia.com
    £127
0.2 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
Free Wifi
Free parking
£237
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £237
1.3 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
Free parking
Restaurant
Suite Imperial
£90
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £90
  • Tripadvisor
    £90
1.2 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
Free parking
Pool
£34
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
    £64
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
Free Wifi
Free parking
£25
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £36
  • Hotels.com
    £36
1.1 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
Free Wifi
Free parking
£19
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £19
2.5 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
Free Wifi
Free parking
£21
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £22
  • StayForLong
    £28
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
Free Wifi
Room service
£148
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • Hotels.com
    £150
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
Free Wifi
Free parking
Jacuzzi
£95
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £88
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £88
2.9 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
£12
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £12
4.5 miles from Luxé Cabañas y Aptos.
View more hotels in Guatape
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
86
17
11
12
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
17
11
12
24
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2023

My family and I had a wonderful time at this lake front property. The lake houses are beautiful, modern, and elegantly decorated. The jacuzzi tub on the wrap around pouch was a nice touch. Our cabin/lakehouse had a clear view of La Piedra del Peñol, which we throughly enjoyed from our balcony as we relaxed in the jacuzzi. When we checked in, we received complimentary bundle of fire wood to burn, and the staff gave us an extra bundle as an added bonus during our stay. I will try to add pictures to my review, but I don't think my pictures do this property justice.

The property is in a hilly area with unpaved roads. But no worries-- the staff drive little tuk tuks (a three wheeled mode of transportation) to drive you around the property.

The resturant staff was very kind and accommodating, and they worked with my daughter's numerous food allergies. I am not a native Spanish-speaker, but the resturant staff listened patiently as I practiced my language skills and placed our orders. Another gentlemen was present (with the wait staff) during the order to help me translate if I forgot a word, too. He was very helpful. I believe he is the day manager at the resturant.

On Thursday, June 29, 2023, I had a massage in the cabin. Let me tell you, it was phenomenal! The massage therapist was on time, professional, and created a "spa like environment" right there in the living room. She even brought spa music to set the tone. This is an extra charge, but completely worth it!

That same day, we took a boat ride in the lake. Once again, that staff was pleasant and friendly. Flaken (sp?) gave us a mini tour of the lake front properties and showed the old (sunken) town of El Peñol.

Finally, check-in was a little challenging (because of failures on our part, not the hotel). But, Alejandro saved the day and our vacation. He was professional, polite, and extremely patient with us.

Note to international tourists: YOU MUST BRING YOUR PASSPORT(S) WITH YOU TO CHECK INTO ANY HOTEL IN COLOMBIA.

In the United States, you can typically just use your DL to check into a hotel. But, in Colombia, South America, you need your physical passport to check into EACH hotel you plan to stay at. So, if you are staying at multiple properties, BE SURE TO BRING YOUR PHYSICAL PASSPORT(S) FOR EACH CHECK-IN. Make life easy for yourself.

In summary, we highly recommend Luxe by the Charlee. We had a fantastic time.

Room tip: Bring your physical passport to check into the hotel.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Felicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Carlos Rodriguez, Propietario at Luxe Cabanas y Aptos., responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2023

Dear Relax624295

We are glad that you enjoyed the experience y Luxe, thanks to the natural environment where it is located, we hope to have you back soon.

Juan Carlos Rodriguez C
General Manager / Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2023

The location, facilities, view and view of the property are fantastic, but the terrible customer service provided at check in with a lot of hidden charges (not mentioned in the booking), incorrect taxes (using a much higher fake price as a base) and bad attitude prevented us from having a wonderful time. It's was a shame.

We tried to contact the manager during our stay, but the same people who treated us poorly hid him from us and never let us speak to him or asked him to get back to us.

Make all your booking details clear with them before you arrive to avoid surprises.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank RAPT8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Carlos Rodriguez, Propietario at Luxe Cabanas y Aptos., responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2023

Dear OCTOraptor.
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention.
Your feedback helps us do better. We are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately.
We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Please could you contact me at info@thecharlee.com.
I will be waiting for your email.


Juan Carlos Rodriguez C
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2022 via mobile

We came with a vegan person, and they did not have any option in the menu and weren’t open to develop any vegan plate for us.
It is the first place in the world that this happened to us.
We talked with the manager and tried to talk with the chef, but they were not willing to do anything different from what was on the menu.

Room tip: Not able for vegan people
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank samperen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Carlos Rodriguez, Propietario at Luxe Cabanas y Aptos., responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2023

Dear samperen


Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We love to serve each and every single person in our place, and our staff is always willing to go the extra mile for you.
We are working to develop a variety of new options in the menu including the vegan community.
For now, we offer a couple of options in our menu.
Thank you so much for visiting us!

Juan Carlos Rodriguez c
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2022 via mobile

Excellent, unique, tranquil, stylish, so many adjectives! This is a must-stay property for anyone traveling to Guatape. Will be bringing family and friends back without question!

It will be difficult to find another property that provides a similar experience at such a low price!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Carlos Rodriguez, Propietario at Luxe Cabanas y Aptos., responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2022

Dear Josh C

It’s awesome to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in Guatapé with us. I can’t tell you how much it means for us to read this, especially since this is your first visit with us.
Thanks so much for helping share. Reviews like yours mean the world to us and are so important for future travelers, including family and friends.
Thank you again for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback.
Sincerely.

Juan Carlos Rodriguez C
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

Place is a dump. Villas are falling apart, infested with spiders and no air conditioning. Small uncomfortable beds and hard pillows. The master doesn’t have a walk in shower, only a tub you have to step into. Obviously the good reviewers don’t travel much. $450/night for a total dump

Room tip: Avoid this place like the plague
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Storyteller789725
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juan Carlos Rodriguez, Propietario at Luxe Cabanas y Aptos., responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Dear Storyteller789725

we are sorry that the experience yo had wasn’t enjoyable for you. We are always working towards improving our products and services. All your comments will be taken into account, thank you.

Juan Carlos Rodriguez C
General Manager / Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews