We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake View Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hevilat(Carmen de Viboral)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Recinto Quirama(Carmen de Viboral)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
176
54
12
4
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
54
12
4
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantlake viewthe kitchensan rafaelgreat bargreat placeprivate roomburritocommon roomthree weekswaterfall hikethe ownerbeautiful townenjoyed my stayoutdoor activitiesstayed longerhot shower
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Not a lot of options in this town, but not needed as Lake View offers anything a hostel would at a reasonable price.

Kitchen with tea and coffee all day, as well as good supply of kitchen utensils. Nice balcony area. Good walk into town for supplies, also good to get away from lights and noise in the evening.

Stayed in dorm room, had small in suite bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed there just for one night, but I loved it. Especially the atmosphere - the hostel has this cosiness and family feel to it. And the fully stocked beer fridge (self-service!) is brilliant! :)
My only regret is that I wasn't able to stay there for longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndMa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms were ok. The location is a 10m walk from downtown. Great views from the balcony, you can even see the Penol rock. There is a large fridge with different brands o ice cold beer. The owners organize activities (e.g. Pizza nights and boat rides) and are very sociable (maybe a bit too much sometimes..). Place can get noisy, although this usually ends before midnight. All in all the best option in town!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We came to Guatape intending to stay 2 days and ended up staying a week. The hostel is right by the lake edge and about 5 mins walk to center of town. We had a large and comfortable double room with private bathroom. The internet was the fastest we have had in the last 6 months of traveling. The hostel employs volunteers, so it is always kept clean and tidy plus there is always someone around to help. One of the volunteers (Elija) was an ace chef and regularly cooked for us for a small charge. They also have pizza nights and fajitas nights.

The best thing about this place is the owners Nick and Greg. They both live their jobs, love what they do and love the area. This is reflected in the service they provide. They are an encyclopedia of useful information and great company too. They create an ambiance which is sociable but in controlled moderation unlike other party-all-night hostels. For this reason this place would appeal to most people and indeed when we stayed you had young singles and an older couple with a child.

There is a lot to do in the area and lake view is a great base from which to do it. A lot of the stuff is also free to do, so this is a great place to explore and save some money too. The guys really know how to run a hostel and are currently building a new hostel, so I'm sure that will be worth checking out too. The only problem with this place is you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We saw a poster in a hostel in Medellin about volunteering at this hostel and jumped at the opportunity. The past 11 days have been a blast, we could not have chosen a better hostel to stay and volunteer in. The owners, Nick and Greg are super friendly and it was great getting to know them. They tell you all you need to know about Guatape and so much more. The environment at the hostel is very nice and chilled. We cooked some meals for the other backpackers which really brought everyone closer together. They've got bikes, kayaks and fishing rods for hire, among the many. We spent a lot of time relaxing on the balcony, in the hammock, enjoying the beautiful view. Cleanliness was first class and as volunteers we saw how much effort is put in. We had some trouble with hot water for showers and Greg almost immediately solved them, excellent service. Sleep quality was excellent apart from the blankets that gave one of us an allergic reaction. The hostel is about a 5 minute walk from the town center and it is quiet and peaceful at night. We skipped going to Cartagena to stay longer at the hostel and that just goes to show how much we enjoyed it. Definitely a must go!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmad Mustafa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews