We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Nights in Guatape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Portobelo Guatape
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guatape
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“2 Nights in Guatape”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Arriving by bus we were planning on staying for 1 night,after searching and checking out other hotels we met someone named Mauricio who led us to this hotel. After seeing the rooms, we opted for the least expensive on the 2 nd floor and were pleasantly surprised when they put us in the Romano room with a beautiful view of the malacon. Large spacious balcony,queen bed. Very clean. Cristina and Noralba were the ladies at the front desk and they both were very helpful. Breakfast was included and was down the street from the hotel. Only negative was they could have used a small love seat in the room as it was very spacious and there was nowhere to sit except on the bed. We love Guatape and plan on going back to enjoy more of the beautiful countryside and friendly people. We ended up staying 2 nights and could have stayed a third

Room Tip: Best view in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpwlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MABLETON
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Portobelo for three nights in July 2013. It is a very nice place. The room is very clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff is also very helpful and kind. This was our first stop in Colombia and we needed to find an ATM machine. The host walked us to a young man nearby who then escorted us to the machine. We stayed in one of the suites and it was really nice to soak in a hot jacuzzi after walking around the town all day. The balconies provide a nice view of the Malecon (waterfront).

My wife and I only understand a little Spanish and the staff at the hotel just speak a little English, but we all managed just fine. We will definitely stay here again if we go to Guatape.

Room Tip: We stayed room 202 and would recommend it. It is on the corner so you have a better view from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrislast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was staying with my relatives in Guatape , I booked a room in order to experience the new themed suites and choose The Oriental . The room was spacious with a wonderful king size bed , a very clean and modern bath room , plus a jacuzzi for two , every thing was sparkling clean and the decoration was with oriental touches as the name of the room suggested . The panoramic window looked to the board walk and the Waters of the Laguna the Guatape and opened to a nice balcony , breakfast was included and served in one of the adjacent restaurants , convenient located in the same building .
This a real nice addiction to the infrastructure of tourism of Guatape .

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms with view of the Board walk and the Laguna de Guatape .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent two days here, in one of the smaller rooms - the Marroqui. The room was attractive and clean. The whole hotel seemed newly remodeled and the staff was pleasant. The included breakfast was tasty - apparently prepared at a neighboring restaurant, but delivered to our room by the hotel staff.

We had a nice little balcony that overlooked the reservoir. The downside was that the reservoir was quite low, and much of the view was of the muddy banks. Also, the hotel (and our balcony) overlooks the main thoroughfare passing by the town; lots of loud trucks and occasional loud groups of people.

The room is quite small. There is no hanging closet or even a clothes rack of any kinds, although there is a dresser with drawers. Overall, it seemed a bit pricey for what we got, although there was a discount for paying in cash.

The town itself is quite attractive, and we thoroughly enjoyed a private boat ride on one of the many available launches. If you don't mind smallish boats, It seemed to be a much more enjoyable and interesting ride that those available on the bigger passenger boats (which are slower and more limited where they can go). The ride on overhead cable system was also a blast.

Room Tip: If price is no object, the more spacious suites might be a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braxton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I travled with our and his friend to Guatape, Colombia. We booked two rooms at the Hotel Portobello which was recommended by a policeman as we entered the city. The place was great. The accomodations were superb. We stayed in the East Indian and California Rooms. Each room and suite in the hotel are themed. We had great patios overlooking the lake. The staff were very friendly and supplied all our needs including much ice for our sunset cocktails on the patio. Breakfast just down the street at a good restaurant was included in the price of our rooms which were only $70 U.S. per night. We stayed for four days while we traveled to nearby villages, out on the lake by boat to see Pablo Escobar's lake residence that was fire bombed, and the monolith El Penol. Great stay. We will stay there again if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffysenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Nice suite ambient with jacuzzi. The attention was great and our breakfast delicious. Guatape is a lovely and colorful town with a magnificent lake. Thanks to Carpos Mario for his attention. You must visit the piedra del peñol and sure you will have a great view from up there

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonicmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guatape
2.9 mi away
Hotel Los Recuerdos
Hotel Los Recuerdos
#1 of 3 in Guatape
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Guatatur
Hotel Guatatur
#3 of 3 in Guatape
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria de las Aguas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Movich Las Lomas Hotel
Movich Las Lomas Hotel
#1 of 4 in Rionegro
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hostel
Lake View Hostel
#2 of 36 in Guatape
220 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Pietra Santa
Hotel Pietra Santa
#2 of 18 in Guatape
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portobelo Guatape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portobelo Guatape

Property: Hotel Portobelo Guatape
Address: Calle 32, N. 28 - 71 | Calle 32, N. 28 - 29, Guatape 053847, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Guatape
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Guatape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portobelo Mall Hotel is a modern space with different themes in each of their rooms, where you will find various details of harmony and serenity, according to the selected topic, which will allow you to live an unforgettable rest surrounded by a lush beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Portobelo Guatape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing