We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Encounters Accommodations
Ranked #2 of 3 Coleman B&B and Inns
vernon,bc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great little b&b”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed there last week for the first time and had the arts and crafts suite. The rooms were cosy and clean with a super comfy bed! The owners were friendly and helpful. And they made a great breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
N. California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have been staying at the guest house every year for the past 6-7 years and have no plans to stop. We keep coming back both because it's the perfect accommodation for us and our dog and because Dawn and Mark are perfect hosts. They made us feel welcome from the very first visit and we now look forward to catching up with them every year. They are very personable and happy to share their extensive knowledge of the area. Both are fabulous chefs as well! The guest house has everything we need after a day out fishing or exploring. The kitchen is well stocked and the new pillow top beds are especially comfortable. The house is in a quiet neighborhood and only a couple blocks from the Crowsnest River and the pathway that follows the river for miles. The back deck and yard, though not totally fenced in, is a perfect place to hang out. As for what the Crowsnest Pass area offers, it's one of the most beautiful places we have found. We can't wait for our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NCALFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Going to stay in Coleman is like stepping back in time, and enjoying the historical atmoshere of the days gone by! Dawn and Mark are friendly and welcoming hosts, who are genuinely interested in making sure you enjoy your stay- whether it is to hike ghost coal mining towns, flyfish in the streams or attend a scapbooking /quilting retreat! They know great food and deliver it! This B&B has been a work in progress and this part of history is well worth spending a few days exploring!( good value in every way) Look forward to a treat, as this is hidden in downtown Coleman!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summitwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed here for a week this fall when I was in the Crowsnest Pass for a conference. I stayed in the 20's room. There is a bedroom with a bathroom off of it and a sitting room with a pull out in it. Mark and Dawn are so hospitable. It is so cool to come in after the day out and walk in to incredible smells in the kitchen. They are incredible cooks. I love waking up to the smells of bacon cooking in the morning. I would definitely stay here again when I was in the pass. The only thing that is unfortunate is the trains that blow their whistles all night but after a couple of nights you don't even notice them anymore.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowbanks, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A group of us have been staying at this B&B for several years now for a flyfishing vacation. Very nice comfortable place right in the historic town of Coleman at the foot of the forestry trunk road. The owners, Dawn and Mark are wonderful, friendly people and both are exceptional chefs. The breakfasts are varied and you can also take advantage of the optional dinners which surpass any of the restaurant meals you will find in the area. We always look forward to our annual return to Country Encounters

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Wonderful little place full of character and charm. We not only had great breakfasts but dinners too!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed two nights in the ‘20s’ room and the ‘arts & craft’ room at Country Encounters and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were large and comfortable (the website accurately reflects the rooms and facilities). The owners were very friendly and hospitable– suggesting activities and places to go for meals – while respecting our space and privacy. Accommodation options seem a bit limited in the Crowsnest Pass but this seems to be (by far) the best option in the area. It is away from the highway and is nice and quiet.
This is my first tripadviser review, but I’m not involved with the B&B: I’m posting because was hard to find info about where to stay in the Crowsnest Pass.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleman
2.5 mi away
The Kanata by BCMInns Blairmore
0.6 mi away
BCMInns - Coleman
BCMInns - Coleman
#2 of 2 in Coleman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
18.4 mi away
Causeway Bay Hotel Sparwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
York Creek Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Paddock Inn
Paddock Inn
#1 of 2 in Coleman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.6 mi away
Highwood Motel
Highwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Blairmore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Encounters Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Encounters Accommodations

Property: Country Encounters Accommodations
Address: 7701 17th Ave, Coleman, Alberta T0K 0M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Crowsnest Pass > Coleman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coleman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Encounters Accommodations has four individually decorated rooms, with ensuites in our original building and five suites in our new building all located in a national historic district. The Garden Room takes you back in time to the Victoria era, the Twenties room to the 1920's and the Arts & Crafts room set in the 1870 to 1920's. In the new all suite building each individually decorated room relect days gone by. The bed and breakfast has a splendid ambiance and offers its guests delicious full breakfasts and plenty of comfort. Other meals are available upon request or book our events room for your special gathering. There is a hot tub, a guest lounge and a furnished patio area for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Encounters Accommodations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Encounters Accommodations Coleman, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing