We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pub with history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rumrunner

The Rumrunner
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Coleman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Local Pub
Oliver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Pub with history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This place was a thriving boot-leg business during prohibition days of 1916 - 1924. The pub decor and photos support this. A clean place with good friendly service. Napkins and moist towelettes provided. Our soup orders, taco salad and chicken burgers all good. We tried various brews with our nacho appetizers, which contained a large portion of tortilla chips but sadly lacking in cheese. That was our only complaint. The sticky pudding dessert served three of us (as if we needed dessert!)
The next table had ordered pizzas-they arrived hot and laden with toppings-we noted those people took doggie bags home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    55
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Me and my family just recently ate at the rum runner, and we were all very impressed with how amazing the food was! Definitly worth every penny, loved the old rustic country feel to the place and the staff were all friendly and genuine! Definitly a thumbs up and we look forward to going back!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephhachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Rum Runner is a theme restaurant based on the prohibition days. It is quaint and decorated with many collectibles giving it a historic feel. The food is good but pricey.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Popular place on Highway 3.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We ate here quite late on a Saturday evening. The place was busy and very noisy. Service was pleasant and good. We each had fish and chips. The serving was large and the fish was very good but coated with a very heavy batter, which was greasy and unappealing. The fries were fine, as was the wine with our meal. The serving of lemon pie was also large and good but not great. Overall, average pub style food in a busy location. The decor in this place is very eclectic-there is a lot to look at.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curlew1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stop and Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My Hubasnd, myself, and our 9 month old daughter went to the rumrunner for a family night out and we weren't disappointed. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and the services are quiet nice- We seemed to have a newer server in training as when we asked what was good on the menu her reply was everything! Not too helpful for us out of towners- but my husband and I ordered the The Chicken Mexicana pizza and it was delicious! If we are around coleman again we will definitely come back and recommend this restaurant for a nice night out and great food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommaroo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rumrunner also viewed

Coleman, Crowsnest Pass
Blairmore, Crowsnest Pass
 
Coleman, Crowsnest Pass
 
Blairmore, Crowsnest Pass
Crowsnest Pass, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to The Rumrunner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing