We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
4
4
4
7
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
4
4
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airport opens spanish village alicante airport pig disappear facilities sun pools supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing complex, lovely on site pub, The Spaniard. Close to everything you would want to do on a holiday. Excellent security and very well maintained grounds. Would love to live here! We will be back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Charley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My family & I traveled out to HDA multiple times a year for over 10 years. A stunning resort in a fantastic location, we loved that we could fly easily & transfer from the airport in less than 30 mins. The resort has maintained its manicured lawns, clean public areas and high standards even in the years where the financial crisis hit hard.

My husband & I kept an eye on the property market and noticed in 2014/15 all the 'for sale' signs began to disappear! Not wanting to miss out, we started viewing property and in 2015 purchased a lovely detached villa from John Green at hdagolfproperties.com. With the help of Spencer Kelly from Home-Space.es we drew up plans to extend & renovate the property.

Between 2015-17 we started spending as many weeks as we could holidaying with the children, spending all of the school holidays on the resort. The outdoors life for children is fantastic, there is so much for them to do and it is all free on your doorstep. They are safe to play out on their bikes or be in the park whilst you finish a meal in The Spaniard, or run round the fountain and Spanish Village with other kids whilst you have a drink in Manolas.

At the end of each extended visit, I would always feel so sad that we were leaving. In March 2018 we finally moved out to enjoy a new lifestyle, the children have settled at their school and my husband & I are enjoying a work/life balance where we can get the kids from school and head to the beach, or walk out after dinner and take them on a bike ride with breath taking views. We really do feel like we are living our dream and we have no regrets.
This was always our plan, we loved the scenery, the relaxed way of life, the reduced cost of living and the simplicity of enjoying outdoor pursuits in year round sunshine. The added bonus is that the Hotel & Spa have now opened up and are stunning! A lunch time drink in such luxurious surroundings - there are new Bars & Restaurants which offer a varied plan for the evenings.
We couldn't recommend the resort, the facilities, the property, the town, the local area, the beaches and the lifestyle enough. It is a fantastic holiday venue and the perfect place to live.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank STann08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We ate in the hotel restaurant and were very impressed with the quality of the food and standard of friendly service. Meal look and tasted great and was reasonably priced. Sleek stylish decor, comfortable seating on large patio area overlooking terraced swimming pools. Enclosed play area for children to side of hotel.
Did not stay in hotel so cannot comment on bedrooms.
More pedestrian access is required into hotel from different parts of resort.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived late evening, security didn’t stop us (they never seem to stop anyone but there are cameras up recording who comes and goes). We found the villa easily and went inside and it was really nice, clean, modern, spacious, well equipped and lovely outside space with a gorgeous pool and lots of mature plants - no complaints at all about the villa.

The area is very quiet but to us that wasn’t a problem. It was an easy 90 min drive from Alicante airport and there were places nearby to visit and a supermarket just down the road.

The problem with this place is two-fold. Problem one, you can smell a pig smell at certain points of the day. To us this was very minor, it wasn’t a constant smell and it wasn’t too strong and no sooner had we noticed it and it was gone again - it wouldn’t put us off - I guess it varies at different times of the year and with wind direction.

The real problem here is flies, I don’t just mean a few. As soon as you go outside they start landing on you. They were on our faces, trying to fly up our noses, buzzing round our ears - just everywhere. Don’t even consider eating outside until after dark. The whole resort seemed to have them, it was terrible at the sports bar (nice staff and nice place but totally ruined by flies). At first we tried a citronella candle but the flies just laughed at that! By day 3 we had had enough of having to keep retreating inside and so we decided to make our own fly traps from our used plastic bottles, we baited them with beer. We caught so many that we kept having to refill them as the bottoms of the bottles were just solid with dead flies. We put 10 traps out and they did make a really noticeable improvement but there were still a lot of flies around us whether in the pool or under the shade. We were very careful not to leave doors open so luckily there weren’t many at all got into the villa l. I don’t think the flies are everywhere in the rest of the Murcia region as we hardly saw any when we were off the resort. The villa / resort owners need to accept they have a problem and at the very least provide good quality fly traps and plenty of them around the outside space - they may not look nice but it’s better than having flies all over you. The flies here also seemed more aggressive than any I’ve met in the UK, you don’t just have to shrug to get them to fly away you actually have to brush them off and they just keep darting back at you rather than flying away.

It’s such a shame as other than the flies this place is great and has obviously had a lot of money spent on it and a lot of effort put in - it doesn’t look quite finished but what’s done is really nice. The landscaping is brilliant along the sides of the roads etc.

Unless the owners do something to improve it, I think the flies will put us off returning which is a shame but they really do drive you crackers! If you do come here then there did seem to be some fly-respite after the sun had gone down and who knows, maybe it’s not so bad at other times of the year.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank RR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Our 4th visit to HDA and its all beginning to wake up, slowly. The new supermarket at the Spanish village is a real asset, as is the new IT bar and beauty salon. The hotel had only been open for a few days when we visited. The food and service were generally good. The views spectacular. There are a few teething problems: not enough staff to clear the tables and the SPA/Gym not yet fully open but its got the potential to be spectacular. Upstairs we ate in the buffet style restaurant which was really good. The a la carte restaurant downstairs overlooking the pool had a lovely atmosphere with excellent food although the menu was quite limited. But again, its early days and a lovely place for a family celebration. The low density of this resort means you can really get away from it all. The views are simply stunning and cycling around is wonderful. A visit to Hotel Mariposa for the menu del dia and sporting activities is a must. Quad bike trip was fun and we'll be booking in for more days out next time we visit. The pig farm smells were less than previous years. I can't really understand why people would complain as the resort is in the countryside with farms nearby so you would expect farm smells. The flies were quite bad but we soon realised if you eat outdoors in the evenings, always wait until it goes dark and the flies just disappear. It took us abit of time to work this one out! The one downside is the sports area. It has the potential to be wonderful. The prices being charged are too high for such poor facilities, but we heard on the grapevine this area will be overhauled next year. The positives for the sports bar: very good way for kids/tennis to meet. The bar has recently started serving affordable snacks including chip butties and bacon rolls which always go down well with teenagers. There is a lady who is running exercise classes weekday mornings and late afternoons in the sports area. Fabulous way to keep fit and meet others. We took a few golf lessons and as beginners we can't comment on the main 18 hole course but the academy area seemed really well maintained and the golf pro Fredy was excellent. Fuente Alamo town looks very run down but once you get your feet on the ground there is a lot to discover. It has pretty much everything you need but you have to search for it all and get chatting to the locals which we tried to do using our limited Spanish. If you are looking for a lively resort with active night life this is not the place for you. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful tranquil setting then yes, I can highly recommend HDA.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank poppyc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews