We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for little money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cabana de Alarcon

La Cabana de Alarcon
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Alarcon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Drammen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for little money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at Hotal Spa Villa de Alarcon, but chose to have dinner at La Cabana , and did not regret. Unforunately for the owner wre we nearly the only guest that evening, but he was wery nice and helpful. Nice interior and a lovely wiew. We had an 3-4 course 16 euro menu incl one bottle of wine. Every course was good and well prepared by the chef. Absolutely the best value for money meal we had on our visit to Spain

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BjoBra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    135
    32
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

By far the best restaurant meal we had during our recent trip to Spain. Nice decor, great view across the valley and an excellent host. We chose the set menu (18€ if I remember correctly, including a bottle of reasonable wine). Delicious three course meal with lots of extra tasty things offered for our aperitif. We left happy and in good spirits!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed one night at Parador de Alarcon but we didn't eat there. After reading review from other members about La Cabana, we was thinking to give it a try. We loved everything about the restaurant. The ambiance was lovely and the food is delicious. I love the service from the owner of the restraurant ( i guess he is the owner ) because he is very well mannered. The price for the food is very reasonable and for us we ordered a set menu that cost us fixed price of 18Euro per person. We attached a few pictures of this lovely place for your reference. Of course, you can always ordered something more expensive there and we believed it will turn out great for all of you. Make sure you drop by to give it a try and trust me you won't be disappointed with your choice :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieNSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
573 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

While staying in Alarcon we wandered the ancient streets and looked for a restaurant as an alternative to the one in the castle. We found La Cabana just on chance and were greatly surprised with the beauty of the decor, the quality of food and the excellent service. We were late at night and thus there were few other diners, but our host, Raul Poveda was welcoming and took great care of us. We waited with a round of drinks and enjoyed the art work that adorns all the walls. Soon the Queso Manchego and other cheeses and appetizers arrived and they all were melt in your mouth good. Of special note was the Ajo Cocido or roasted garlic which was a mixture of garlic and bread baked in a dish. All the meals were terrific and well prepared and served. The tuna dish and the pork dish were both served with pablano type peppers. My lamb dish was served in round medallions spread with a wonderful gravy. We ended up ordering a bottle of wine for the meal. Raul explained that they strive to serve meals typical of the local area and with local ingredients. We had a wonderful time. With appetizers, wine, four meals and coffee our total was 122 euro which we felt was good value for the special time and meals we enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
592 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“What a 'find' for this 'neck of the woods!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

WHY would one eat for 3x the price at Parador Alarcon when this delightfully intimate restaurant presents a delightful alternative? We are so thankful that our humble Hostal owner recommended this place. The 'fixed price' dinner at 18E (?) each included multiple courses, each local-themed and prettily presented. By the time our 'mains' came, garlic chicken for Jim, a perfectly done tuna steak for me, we were FULL (though icecream and creme caramel begged to be eaten, along with coffee). It was quite easily the best value-for-money meal of the trip factoring in ambiance. The service was pleasant if a bit slow (one got the feeling that they didn't want to rush us, could have probably asked for the check with dessert and not been delayed by the large group that came in after we were half finished). Alarcon is 'sleepy', probably best seen in summer ... but if you're in the area or passing through, DO frequent this restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cabana de Alarcon also viewed

 
Alarcon, Province of Cuenca
Alarcon, Province of Cuenca
 
Alarcon, Province of Cuenca
Motilla del Palancar, Province of Cuenca
 

Been to La Cabana de Alarcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing