We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Scottish heaven!!”
Review of Ard Daraich

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardgour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ard Daraich
Ranked #2 of 2 Ardgour B&B and Inns
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“A little piece of Scottish heaven!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had a wonderful week - it really is a special place to stay. Perfectly situated to do as much (or as little) walking and sight seeing as you want, whilst also offering the perfect space to relax, unwind, cook delcious food and curl up on the sofa in front of the fire with a glass of wine. Heavenly!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbignold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have just come back from Ard Daraich and can not believe we are back in London! The place is magical to say the least, amazing scenery and fabulous walks. We stayed in the self-catering cottage which is more than equipped with everything one needs to cook wonderful meals using local produce, get comfy in front of the fire and enjoy the fabulously stocked bookcases. It is a home from home and then some. Fresh white linen on the bed, candles and tealights make the cottage romantic and heavenly. One is really looked after..

It is remote but isn't that what one looks for in the Scottish Highlands? Beware of the cost of ferries as the Corran ferry is £6.70 a single and the Mull ferry costs over £30 with the car. It is, however, a day trip you must make when you are there.

Book this wonderful place for a proper break...and book it now before everyone finds out....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Mum & I's third night on our trip around Scotland - what a fantastic find. Anna kindly recommended somewhere to eat and booked us a table, and we were greeted warmly at Ard Daraich by Anna and friendly Kubrick their labrador. After unpacking in our beautiful room, we sat in the lounge by the roaring fire with a pot of tea & coffee and then took a tour of the garden and the loch with Kubrick in tow!! Lovely comfy bed, beautiful linen and feather pillows - bliss. Norrie cooked us a great breakfast and then even booked Mum a doctor's appointment. We left feeling thoroughly well looked after...and wanting to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyGilbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We loved it here. The old house has a lovely "feel" and it has been beautifully restored to a very high standard. Everything is wonderful, the big sitting room with the very welcome log fire, tea and cakes, the comfortable bedroom, quality linens, a very comfy bed with a good mattress, delicious breakfasts using good quality produce, I could go on and on! On top of that you have the charming hosts with good conversation and fun! They are also very good at recommending local eateries for supper.
All excellent and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Excellent service from the owners of Ard Daraich.
The rooms were of a good size and neat and tidy with en suite. The house has an "old farmhouse" feel to it with a fire in the lounge to warm yourself on in the evening, a large aga in the kitchen and chunky wooden dining room table to eat breakfast from.
The bed and duvet was amazing, I could have slept for a week, but there was a full English breakfast waiting for me.
Breakfast is very good as it has all the trimmings one would expect and tasted great. The eggs are from the owners own chickens!
There is a lot to do in the area and I wish we had stayed longer. We enjoyed a tour of the garden which is well worth a look. It has a number of very interesting plants and trees planted by the owner and his family over many years. The view from some areas of the upper garden is quite spectacular.
Well worth it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewTromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Ard Daraich is situated in a beautful area west of Fort William . Norrie and Anna MacLaren are wonderful hosts providing every comfort for your stay.We arrived in very wet weather and really appreciated the welcoming fire in the sitting room , a cosy room,comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast. The gardens are superb. The hosts are more than happy to provide advise about the area . The quickest way to Fort William is via the Corren Ferry but the area where they live has access to beautiful scenery, beaches and walking .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cochrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Norrie and Anna (the hosts) are lovely and treat you fantastically well the second you step through the door. Breakfast is hearty and delicious, and rooms are spotless and have lots of character. Go for the private annex upstairs with adjacent bathroom, which features and amazing Victorian bath - great for a soak after a long day on the road! Location is remote but setting is beautiful and Norrie/Anna will be more than happy to point in the right direction in terms of places to go and things to see, not to mention local restaurants and pubs. This part of Scotland is beautiful and highly recommended. If you pass through Ardgour be sure to stay nowhere other than Ard Daraich! Would loved to have stayed there for one week, let alone one night. Faultless.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h_russell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardgour
4.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
13.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
12.6 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
474 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Ardgour
Inn at Ardgour
#1 of 2 in Ardgour
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Daraich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Daraich

Property: Ard Daraich
Address: Sallachan | Ardgour, Near Fort William, Ardgour PH33 7AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Ardgour
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ardgour
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard Daraich, the prefect place for a self catering holiday. Once the holiday home of cook and gardener, Constance Spry. Ard Daraich is now the home of Norrie & Anna Maclaren. We welcome you to our 8-acre Hill Garden with stunning views of Ben Nevis and Glen Coe. The shrub nursery has an interesting selection of trees and shrubs from all over the world. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe we are within easy reach of Fort William, Outdoor Capital of Britain. Ard Daraich also makes the perfect place from which to explore the West Coast of the Scottish Highlands, either as a walker, cyclist or by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ard Daraich Ardgour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing