We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

The Boathouse Bistro
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ardgour
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Boathouse Restaurant is located on the picturesque Kingairloch Estate, about an hours drive from Fort William. Menus feature produce grown in the estate's walled garden, seafood from local waters and wild venison from the surrounding mountains. It is a perfect place for visiting yachts in the area as there are free moorings. It is advisable to book ahead as the restaurant is an intimate dining experience.
SUFFOLK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We sat outside on the decking and looked down the loch, beautiful! It looked like rain but we sat outside as long as we could because of the view.
The food was excellent, my husband and I shared a fish platter it was great as was the venison which followed. Very friendly place,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    18
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hanoi
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“fresh produce with stunning views”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Open Thursday - Sunday, we were able to use wifi here, have morning coffee and enjoy lunch. Friendly, responsive service and great views. Children could fish off the pier. Food was fresh an local - fantastic quality - wish we could have afforded dinner! Wine list looks good. We would have come back in evenings if price was right. Great place for yachts to shelter and crew to eat!
Thank you for service - would travel from Fort William for the food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank furrysporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing find”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across the boathouse by chance and we were not disappointed , possibly one of the prettiest locations in Scotland with views down the loch, the food spoke for itself in choice , presentation and taste , honest local fayre offering good value the scallops and pannacotta were my favourites, can't wait to return

Helpful?
Thank Jockonhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great, fresh, local ingredients makes for a wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As out of the way as it's possible to get, but oh so worth it!
Everything served is sourced from the Estate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing as always!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We look forward to our meals at the Boathouse every year we visit Kingairloch and stay at the cottages! This was our 4th year to Kingairloch and every meal was exceptional.

My husband loves the venison and will only eat it at the Boathouse!

We also had the goats cheese salad to start and the flavours were exceptional. I love the use of produce from the walled garden on the estate! The strawberries and home made ice cream are a must!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Bistro also viewed

Lochaline, Scottish Highlands
Strontian, Lochaber
 

Been to The Boathouse Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing