We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good views, nice rooms”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Solola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mansion del Lago
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solola
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel was excellent value esp as a solo traveller. I booked a single room - I was given a good sized room on the top floor with a double bed & lake views for just 75Q a night. I have heard that rooms on the lower floors aren't so good so be sure to request the top floor. The room was clean with lots of storage space. The bathroom was basic but again, clean & fully functional. There was a communal balcony with rocking chairs & tables with a lovely lake view. The staff were friendly & location excellent. Just minutes from the Pana dock. I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaraZahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mansion del Lago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Hello!! We have been here for a week now. I highly recommended this place to everyone of all walks and places. We have a two year old with us and have felt comfortable our whole stay. We are from the outer banks of North Carolina. Great staff and very clean. It can be a little loud sometimes at night but not to big of a problem. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelton w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Only 30 feet from the San Pedro dock.
Just walk straight up from the dock... hotel is on the left side... up the stairs.
About $10 a night. Great value.
A great place to stay at if you like to be in the busy central part of San Pedro.
Close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor for really wonderful views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OccupyHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks while we studied Spanish at San Pedro Spanish School (also highly recommended) All the staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Don't stay here for the advertised jacuzzi or gym. Neither have been used for some months. Rooms have great huge balconies to relax on and take in the vibe of the place. The central location gives you great access to restaurants & a great pub across the road. You have to expect a little noise that goes with this, but the noise of the Tuk-tuks trying to ascend the hill is quite loud at times.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Pros: location near the dock and in the center of town, views from the patio, wifi access
Cons: rooms are antiquated, bathrooms somewhat dirty

I actually liked this property. I enjoyed waking up in the morning and looking out across the lake. My first stay I paid 80Q (about $8US) and the room sucked. This was a room in the middle of the second floor. It was small. The second time I asked to stay on the top floor and paid more (100Q). The third time I went back I got the top floor nice room with a view for 75Q. I was backpacking solo at the time.

There is nothing really special about this place but is an outstanding value in my eyes. Sure there are other places in San Pedro that are cheaper and possibly nicer but I found this place to be a great place to explore San Pedro and be my base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The guide book recommended it, but I would not. The location's great and their website makes the place look nice, but really it's moldy, the bathroom had plumbing issues, and if the hot tub on the roof is hot, so is Greenland.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We didnt actually end up staying here, but when we were in San Pedro we were looking for a better place to stay than the place we were at (Hotel San Francisco) and this looked great...from the outside. Externally it looks like a lovely big hotel and it is situated right next to the dock. We asked if we could have a look at one of the rooms. Now considering that we were asking to view a room so that we could book to stay there, you would assume that what they showed us was one of their best rooms, which makes me feel sorry for people who ended up staying in one of their not-so-great rooms.

We went into the room and instantly were hit by the awful smell of mould and damp, the result of a huge damp patch on the wall (about 1mx2m). the furniture was antiquated and shoddy and yes, they had a TV, but it was one from the 1980's I'm sure!

Worse than that, they wanted 200Q total for the room (a triple), which given the cheapness of San Pedro is a complete rip-off.
For somewhere better to stay in San Pedro la Laguna, i recommend Jarachik (see my other reviews).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solola
4.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
670 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
Lush Atitlan/Hotel Aaculaax
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
246 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
136 reviews
8.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion del Lago

Address: San Pedro la Laguna, Solola 07001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Solola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solola
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of our clean, comfortable rooms, enjoy a cup of fresh coffee in our internet cafe, or unwind in our rooftop jacuzzi. We are the perfect home from which to base your explorations of Lake Atitlán. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing