We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy and not as advertised”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Solola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mansion del Lago
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solola
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moldy and not as advertised”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The guide book recommended it, but I would not. The location's great and their website makes the place look nice, but really it's moldy, the bathroom had plumbing issues, and if the hot tub on the roof is hot, so is Greenland.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We didnt actually end up staying here, but when we were in San Pedro we were looking for a better place to stay than the place we were at (Hotel San Francisco) and this looked great...from the outside. Externally it looks like a lovely big hotel and it is situated right next to the dock. We asked if we could have a look at one of the rooms. Now considering that we were asking to view a room so that we could book to stay there, you would assume that what they showed us was one of their best rooms, which makes me feel sorry for people who ended up staying in one of their not-so-great rooms.

We went into the room and instantly were hit by the awful smell of mould and damp, the result of a huge damp patch on the wall (about 1mx2m). the furniture was antiquated and shoddy and yes, they had a TV, but it was one from the 1980's I'm sure!

Worse than that, they wanted 200Q total for the room (a triple), which given the cheapness of San Pedro is a complete rip-off.
For somewhere better to stay in San Pedro la Laguna, i recommend Jarachik (see my other reviews).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solola hotels

michfitz1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We checked into this place based on a recommendation by a friend. We got a good rate and a nice, clean room. We checked in and went for a walk, about an hour later we decided to head back to the room to change. Our door was slightly open and when we stepped into the room, we caught the hotel employee who had checked us in rifling through our backpack! It was a very unpleasant surprise, we called the hotel owner who assured us this was the first time any such thing had ever happened at his hotel. Yet he didn't yell at his employee or even look all that surprised. In fact, the only thing he seemed concerned about was getting a bad review from us. While all we wanted to do was get our money back and leave, he kept stalling us claiming he didn't have the key to the money box (turned out to be untrue anyway), repeating over and over again that we shouldn't mention this incident to anyone.
He even got on the phone to tell someone else about the angry 'muchacha' who might give him a bad hotel review. Instead of complaining about his employee who was caught redhanded!
I didn't like the whole situation one bit, and especially not the way the owner handled it. Would never go back there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This hotel was recommended by some travel books as a basic clean hotel in a convenient location. But other than the convenient location (near the dock) we were very disappointed with the room. The room was small, mattress was of poor quality and we could feel the springs within, the bathroom was tiny and smelled and the shower curtains were slightly mouldy. We initially were going to spent 2 nights but moved out after the first night to Hotel Maria Elena which was just down the road and had much bigger, cleaner rooms for a more reasonable price.

Also, their website has outdated room rates and the current rates are almost double of what is quoted on the website. The hotel does not have much of a lake view and advertised hot tub did not seem to be functioning.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solola
8.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
766 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
8.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
277 reviews
6.0 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion del Lago

Property: Hotel Mansion del Lago
Address: San Pedro la Laguna, Solola 07001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Solola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Solola
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of our clean, comfortable rooms, enjoy a cup of fresh coffee in our internet cafe, or unwind in our rooftop jacuzzi. We are the perfect home from which to base your explorations of Lake Atitlán. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing