We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Panajachel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Bistro

El Bistro
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Solola
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Reviewed by Frommer's, we lied it a lot, located next to Posada de los Volcanes (already listed on TripAdvisor)
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Panajachel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The italian food is great and the atmosphere also because of the live music. Ask for homemade pasta, pizza or steak. I ordered a vegetarian pizza that was delicious and my friends ordered homemade pasta and steak. A great place to go with friends!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge Gabriel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Italian classic Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Love their new set up with the outdoor covered, as the inside is not worth to sit in except if it is pouring bucket... Nice attentive service, my favorite their tomato soup and the spaghetti arriabata

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AngelsofAtitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Quality Food in Pana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband loves the filet mignon. I prefer the homemade pasta. The atmosphere is relaxing with live music, and the service is great.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good steak place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Bistro is great for a steak tartar or a plate of rich Risotto - you can and should bring your own wine...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank didreyfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Maine
Level Contributor
176 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced Italian food in a pleasant setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Located on Calle Santander, next to the Posada de Los Volcanes (different ownership), El Bistro was a pleasant surprise for the four of us. The pasta dishes were all good and the prices were too. The shaded outdoor setting is very comfortable. We plan to go back on our next visit to Panajachel (my aunt-in-law lives in Antigua).

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Bistro also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Solola, Solola Department
 

Been to El Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing