We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, charming family”
Review of Villa Albori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Albori
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming place, charming family”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I opted to stay in Opicina instead of Trieste and was happy to find Villa Albori, a lovely old house situated in an inviting garden. The villa is just steps away from the bus line, making the trip to Trieste quick and easy. My room was clean and comfortable and the Piazzi family were wonderful hosts. I would most definitely recommend it to others and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cllow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    44
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
80
119
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We didn't want to stay in central Trieste, and so opted for this lovely Villa an easy and inexpensive bus trip away from the center of Trieste. It was probably about 20 minutes from the bus stop, which was about 5 minutes from the Villa Albori, and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a bus. Fulvia, who along with her husband own the Villa, spoke fluent English and was one of the more friendly folks we met on our recent trip to Europe, and extremely helpful with respect to our questions and needs.

Room Tip: I doubt that there is a bad room in this small hotel. We stayed on the second floor, with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just spent three nights at the Villa Albori, or Villa Opicina. Fulvia was very helpful with information about sights and restaurants in the area. Getting to Trieste is very easy with local buses that depart right from the villa. Peaceful garden and swimming pool. Comfortable beds and modern bathroom made this a very pleasant alternative to the bustle of Trieste.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afroqwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were looking for a quaint, old world place to stay and stumbled upon Villa Albori. The owner's hospitality is absolutely wonderful, and the house is beautiful. We felt welcomed into a family home, which made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our bathroom was absolutely spotless, and our room felt private from the rest of the house. We strongly recommend staying with Villa Albori.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizGavigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We felt like we were visiting our Italian cousins since the rooms are in the home of a lovely Italian family who were very eager to help and get to know us. One night we returned from dinner and they invited us into the living room for an after dinner drink and some conversation. Our room was big, airy, and very nice, nothing luxurious, but definitely clean, with a comfortable bed and very nice bathroom and shower. Breakfast was okay with fruits, cereals and delicious croissants. (I would have liked more coffee) There is a beautiful garden in the back where we enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine. The bus stop is in front of the house so getting into Trieste is fast and easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAT600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This beautiful villa is the perfect place to stay while visiting the Trieste area. The bus is across the street and it is a quick trip to the city center. (Tram still not working.) There is a large public parking lot not far from the villa (easier than finding street parking). Fluvia was extremely helpful with places to go that would be most interesting to us in Tireste. Breakfast was very good and fantastic cornetti! We stayed in the main floor room with twin beds; the space was large and has a door opening to the garden with a table and chairs right outside the door. We highly recommend the Villa Albori.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It was fun to stay in this 1880 villa with a lovely garden, only a short bus ride from the center of Trieste. Our hosts were very welcoming. Many dining options were nearby. About a kilometer back towards Trieste, there are great views of the city and the Adriatic. We had a most enjoyable, restful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estherandjeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villa Opicina
3.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
411 reviews
2.8 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
2.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alla Valle di Banne
Alla Valle di Banne
#1 of 1 in Banne
247 reviews
2.3 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Laly
Villa Laly
#2 of 3 in Villa Opicina
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Albori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Albori

Property: Villa Albori
Address: Via Nazionale 41, 34151 Villa Opicina, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste > Villa Opicina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Villa Opicina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ancient Villa is an historical building which was built in 1880 as the residence for a wealthy Habsburg family. The house was completely renovated in 2011; it's surrounded by a large Italian-style garden with a wide swimming pool (50 sqm) and several timber trees. We offer to our guests 3 large rooms (25 sqm), each with private bathroom, air conditioned and TV. Family Piazzi will be glad to have all of you guests at our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Villa Albori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Albori Villa Opicina, Italy - Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing