We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Plenty of room in the new kitchen and dining area
Eating In.....
Time for tea or coffee?
The main bedroom
The main bedroom with king-size bed
The twin room
The double bedroom
The shower room
The games room
The rear garden
The front garden
A nice spot to sit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hambye, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Krush1981
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic week away”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful week away at this fantastic gite. From the moment we booked Anne was great at communicating with me and answering all my many questions.

When we arrived both Anne and David were there to offer us a warm welcome and talk us through the gite. We found the gite to be very clean and comfortable with everything you could need inside. The kitchen is great with every appliance you would require and utensil.

The outside area is great and my three young girls loved the pool, games room and all the other sports equipment provided. My youngest especially loved the cat, Garfield!!

The area around is lovely, fab beaches 30mins away and the local town has a great bakery for fresh bread and croissants every day. There is so much around to do. Our weather was a little mixed but we found so much to do and see. Anne and David were great at advice as well

It was our 10th wedding anniversary while we were away which my eldest mentioned to Anne. We arrived home that night to a bottle of bubbles and balloons. Such a thoughtful gesture and sums up these lovely people.

We will definitely return and would recommend to anyone who would like a break in Normandy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are both so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather. It is always good to know that we are able to reassure our guests and provide them with useful information before they arrive. We do hope you chose to visit us again; we think Garfield enjoyed the company...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ant W
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful week's stay in July. The accommodation is lovely - it's clean, spacious, with good facilities. The hosts couldn't be more welcoming and helpful - they added to the stay.

Our 2 young children loved the garden, pool, games room and games on offer. The garden is peaceful and relaxing and we benefited from some warm weather to be able to enjoy a few meals outside on the patio.!

The gite is 2-3 miles from Hambye, which is a lovely little town with all you need - bakers, supermarket, petrol, bar and bank. The location was ideal for us - lots of activities and sights available within a short journey.

All in all, I'd recommend it to both families and groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you and your family to stay and are so glad that you enjoyed the facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chazbear
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place for all ages”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic 10 day holiday at La Maison Sans Soucis. The gite was spacious and well equipped with everything you could possibly need and probably the best shower we've ever had in a holiday cottage. There are lovely large gardens to the front and rear of the gite with hammocks, loungers, seesaw, children's swing and slide, games room and a good sized plunge pool (it was a bit chilly for us to make full use this).
Holidaying in June we knew the weather could be hit or miss but we were really lucky and only had a couple of overcast/rainy days. The gite is close to Hambye where we went most mornings for gorgeous bread from the Boulangerie. Highlights for us were the lovely and peaceful Abbey in Hambye, local markets (Sunday market at Hauteville sur Mer was fantastic - try the sausage baguettes), zoo at Champrepus (fantastic lemur walk and don't miss feeding the goats) and Mont St Michel. There are beaches between 20 minutes and an hour away to the west and the north. The D-Day beaches are around an hour away and are worth a visit not least because of the beautiful towns and villages which are close by.
Anne and David must be the loveliest and most helpful hosts we've encountered - always on hand for helpful tips and pointers and were very accommodating of us and our 3-year old little boy.
We wanted a relaxing holiday where we could spend time at the gite together and also go on excursions that were close by. The gite is perfect for this - it's a lovely place to while away an afternoon and was also close enough to local attractions to mean that we weren't spending hours in the car each day. A perfect place for couples, groups and families to access the varied attractions that Normandy has to offer, would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you so very much for your lovely review; we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. David had a lot of fun playing with Harry in the front garden and the rockery has never looked better! We hope you hurry back and see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sdecrom
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Perfect Place to Enjoy your stay with friends and Family”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at the gites for 4 days and wish we could have stayed longer. The gites is perfectly and stylishly accomodated with a full kitchen, livingroom, 3 bedrooms with full size closets and a bathroom with ample towels. The children didn't want to go visit any place and just stay home to enjoy the pool, the multiple toys and the playroom. We were able to relax in the backyard and watch the clouds go by. The gite is a quick drive to an amazing beach and 40 minutes from Mont St Michel. The owners couldn't have been more welcome and have great local tips for restaurants and places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review the gite. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay. We are continuing to work on the garden and hopen to have completed some more landscaping and tree planting for next season. A larger pool is also on the cards! Hopefully we will see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJMYORKS
UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent gite and helpful owners.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Gites here are both well appointed with everything you could hope for, and are well decorated, furnished and very clean and comfortable. The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. They are also constructing a Chambre d'hote in their own home building ( which is seperate to the Gites) which I'm sure will be to the same high standard. Ideal for families, but well worth a visit out of the school holidays, as it is also ideal for couples alone or in groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of Accomodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we enjoyed having you stay here. Work continues on the house (it never stops), with the new roof taking shape beautifully. We have just finished a mission to the UK to source tiles for the chambres d'hote, so David will be kept very busy over the winter. Come back and visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and location.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just got back from a week in La Maison sans Soucis and all the family had a fabulous time. The accommodation is very practical and comfortable with modern furniture and useful amenities such as a washing machine and dishwasher. Anne and David clearly go out of their way to ensue that all visitors have the best stay possible with a small larder of bread, cheese, eggs, milk etc provided to start you off, a decent collection of books and DVDs, the thoughtful provision of wifi, and a very thorough and comprehensive guide to the accommodation and surrounding area. There is also a very well-stocked games room, extensive gardens and all manner of outdoor seating in which to enjoy the tranquility of the local environment. Location is pretty convenient for the attractions of Normandy and I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this place to others. The only tiny thing to note is that the walls upstairs are not well sound proofed so there is some noise from the adjoining accommodation, especially the bathroom. This didn't really affect us at all but had we had slightly noisy neighbours it could have been a small issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail by the owners to ensure we had the best visit possible.
Liked least: Somewhat thin walls giving some scope for noise from next door.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was such a pity that the weather was not better for you. We always strive to better what we offer our guests and will look into improved sound-proofing upstairs. In the meantime work continues on landscaping the gardens front and back, although we will leave enough space for croquet!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire85M...
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
“Excellent gite for a stay with you g children”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here for a week in early August and had a fantastic stay. We travelled with our 2 children (4&almost 2). The owners couldn't have done more for them providing us with an outside children's table and outside garden toys. The gite is really high quality and nicely finished and the garden was beautiful and perfect for young children. Finally, it was so well equipped for travelling with children and the stair gates in particular made the stay much less stressful! We will definetly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always seeking ways to improve what we offer to our clients and it is very reassuring to know that we are 'getting it right'! We look forward to welcoming you and your family here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing