We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Lake
Ranked #7 of 11 Ampang B&B and Inns
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nothing much to say about the hotel. What I can say is, it is a very quiet hotel with basic furniture and amenities. The traffic can be really bad during peak hours. Although inside the hotel is very quiet, but outside really noisy caused by the traffic and sometimes it could be chaotic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    47
    27
    29
See reviews for
28
36
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay there because my usual place was fully booked. For less than rm200, it seems like a steal in KL and it claims to be a 3 star hotel. It must have been a good 10 years since I was there. It was badly maintained and staffed by rude tarty Philippinos then. Perhaps the lower Malaysian salaries attracted the unsavoury ones, I had good friends from the Philippines in the US. Anyway, I thought after 10 years it would have improved. Starting at the checkin where there were 2 customers and 3 staff who were shuffling papers and clicking computers, one of them served someone else who came after me before serving me. When I pointed it out to the staff, instead of apologising, she said she didn't know. Then the room. It looked clean enough but there was a big burnt mark on the dresser, chipped edges to the other furniture and bad TV. Wifi was available at the lobby. Breakfast was disappointing. The location is next to a very busy road and you have to cross it to get to Ampang Point or walk up for about a km to some eating places. Won't go back there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marigold26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ampang hotels

Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Six years ago I remember staying at Flamingo by the Lake in Ampang. It was new then, with room balconies overlooking the little lake it was picturesque, clean. The service was friendly. One of the receptionists even told me they wanted to earn another star. They were a three-star hotel back then.

When I was booked into this hotel again I did not mind. I remembered that story of how they had a 'growth mindset'. WRONG!

Checked in and was horrified to see the bathrooms were rusty, the towels very wilted and old. Everything in the room looked run-down and badly maintained. When I took a shower, the water grew very hot, and I turned the cold water knob but the water was still hot. I used the sink tap to rinse. The next morning the same thing happened and I realized the cold water was not working. So after shampooing and soaping, and to avoid burns with the hot-water-only shower I rinsed with the toilet spray hose. I also vowed as soon as I finished the shower that I would book myself a room at another, better hotel.

When I went downstairs to explain the problem, the first thing out of the manager's mouth was, "Your already paid. So you have to stay or lose the money."

Wow, really? Don't these hotel service people go to school about how to talk to paying customers. I mean, he could have said, "Sorry to hear that, is there a way we could change your experience?" There are a lot of ways that might be more customer friendly. Maybe change the room? If I was really upset, upgrade. Offer to fix the cold water tap. Meal voucher to compensate. Ask whether I burned myself.

Nope. All he said was I paid, so I had to now deal with it.

I went upstairs and took my bag down. Then I took a cab over to the Renaissance Hotel and had a very, very very good three more days in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: Downtown is a short ride away. Do not stay at the Flamingo by the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locomojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Arrived from Australia and stayed there for a week. Location is not good.
Had to walk 5 minutes to get to my room from reception.
Rooms were a big disappointment, towels were ran down and dirty. I got dirty towels every day. But that's not ye worst part !
I left this hotel with bed bug bites and scabies ! For your own health do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J9zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Location :
This hotel is located in Ampang which is too far from the city center so u should pay a lot of money to the taxis which is not very pleasant for me or u can walk about 5 mins to the nearest bus station and take a bus to go to the city center .
Staff and Furniture :
Old Old Old . All of the staffs are out of date and i guess they are for 10 years ago ! So i decide not to talk about it !
View :
Our room view was really something because we had a perfect view of the lake so i enjoyed it very much with my friend !
Conclude :
Not advised !

Room Tip: If u want to get this hotel just consider that u get a lake view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moein a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel says it is strategically located....yes at the junction of a motorway...it is extremely hard to get in and out of at peak hour traffic......By a Lake??? by a dirty pond!!....booked for 3 people...eg 2 beds...gave us 1 king bed and would not change nor provide a stretcher...so 3 of us in one bed, fantastic.....the one positive was the curries from the restaurant were amazing, however i think this restaurant delivers in :) it is miles away from all the key places a tourist would like to visit...so don't do it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

After changing our hotel from dynasty to flamingo, we came there. It is better than dynasty but what a pity...
This hotel has very good eye sights but some problem didn't let us to enjoy more.
Furniture and beds are old. Wi-Fi is so much weak.the corridors are not likely...
Very important thing that makes us upset is that,the environment and rooms of this hotel is not as the pictures of hotel in its official site.this is one of the things that we call "lie".

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank atamdni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampang
3.7 mi away
Grand Seasons Hotel
Grand Seasons Hotel
#109 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
831 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#59 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ambassador Row Hotel Suites by Lanson Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Vistana Kuala Lumpur Titiwangsa
Vistana Kuala Lumpur Titiwangsa
#81 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
219 reviews
3.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#51 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,182 reviews
3.3 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#107 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Lake

Property: Flamingo Hotel by the Lake
Address: 5 Tasek Ampang | Jalan Hulu Kelang, Ampang 68000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Ampang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ampang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Lake Hotel Ampang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing