We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of Torlesse Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torlesse Motels
Ranked #3 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights. We agree with other posters about the wonderful location, and clean and spacious accomodations. We cooked all three nights that we stayed there and the kitchen had everything we needed. We were in a 2 bedroom, and it was fantastic. The owner was very helpful and we were glad that he suggested and arranged for us a guided kayaking trip. We feel lucky that we were able to get a reservation here, especially since we did not have a car and it was a very convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    49
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed three nights in unit towards rear of property which was large, spacious and well appointed. Good value given expensive area. Easy to walk to local beach and over headland to bustling Kaiteriteri. Very impressed by owner who went out of his way to help organise day hikes in Abel Tasman, and suggest where to go more further afield. His advice greatly enhanced our stay.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brancacci186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

very happy with out stay. The motel is clean, tidy and spacious. Good kitchen facilities. The unit had a balcony overlooking the beach which we loved. The motel is in quiet area and we enjoyed the relaxed surroundings. The best thing was the 2 minute walk to the wonderful beach.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank alk3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night, in a 1 bedroom. Really liked the location, 2 minutes walk from a very beautiful beach. We probably were unlucky to get the last room available at the time, and were placed in the room right next to the reception which is also under the owners' apartment. Our evening was noisy, and not relaxing as we suffered from very loud noises above us. We asked the owners to move us elsewhere or make it stop, and they made it stop, 30 minutes after we asked. The apartment is ok, and is clean. Furniture, showers, quite old and "plasticky". The kitchen is fully equipped, which was important for us, and we got milk upon arrival. We paid $160, and feel it is way overpriced, hence the low rating. We stayed in much nicer places for this price in our trip, in prime locations. Perhaps if we stayed in a different room, this would have been better

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VividPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Booked this motel through an i-site and were very happy with our stay. Our weather was less than ideal but the unit we had was a warm, cozy 2 bedroom with large sliding door looking out to ocean. Motel owners are very nice. We had several loads of laundry to do which required taking it to motel owners dryer. They were very accomodating and friendly, and had system worked out for this arrangement. Great location, jus a Short walk to the beach and water taxi pickup and drop off location for ventures into Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed only the one night, on a quick trip around the area. We were upgraded to Unit 2, towards the rear of the complex. This was a two bedroom unit. It did have beautiful views of Little Kaiteriteri Beach. The furnishings are a bit sparse, but probably once filed by a family, this would not be an issue. The kitchenette was well furnished, and even had a washing machine. Heating of the unit was a very effective heat pump. The bathroom was functional rather than exciting. It really is a midrange family unit rather than higher end couples accommodation. The new owners were very helpful. They have a great little investment.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TripleJFLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a luxury 2 bedroomed unit. It had a wonderful view out to sea from the balcony. There was a good washing machine in the unit which was useful as we had been travelling for several days. We dried the clothes outside on the balcony quite easily. It is in a good position though there is a hill up to the apartments which might be hard for the less mobile. There is a parking space by each unit. Everything was clean with towels replaced when needed. The owners were most helpful.
There is a lovely walk into Kaiteriteri over a headland. Once there you will find only two places to eat. We ate at the 'Shoreline' each night and made our own breakfast in the unit.
Also in Kaiteriteri you can catch the water shuttle to see more of the Abel Tasman coastline. It will drop you at a cove and come back to pick you up. We had a lovely time swimming, picnicking and lying in the sun at Anchorage Bay.
I would recommend this hotel as a good base from which to explore Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
12.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaiteri Lodge
Kaiteri Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlesse Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlesse Motels

Property: Torlesse Motels
Address: 8 Kotare Place, Little Kaiteriteri Beach | RD2 Motueka, Kaiteriteri, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlesse Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TORLESSE MOTELS- Little Kaiteriteri . 8 Kotare Place 200 metres to Golden Sandy Beach, Gateway to Abel Tasman National Park,1Kilometre to Tour operators,Cruises, Kayaking, walking,Paddle Boarding,Wineries.Accommodation: 11 modern studio, 1 &2 brm apartment syle units .Most have sea views. Self contained with laundry, kitchen, bathroom, TV and free WIFI on arrival.Features: Continental breakfast available, Covered spa pool adjacent to undercover BBQ . 1km to Abel Tasman boat cruises , walks, kayaking, sailing and local dining out.Nelson airport 50mins, Motueka 15mins. Picton Ferry 2.5 hrs . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torlesse Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlesse Motels New Zealand/Kaiteriteri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing