We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaiteriteri
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Seen better days”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were very disappointed. It was run down, dirty and overpriced. It may have been nice 30 or 40 years ago but it doesn't look like it's been renovated since. There are much nicer places to stay closer to Abel Tasman. Keep driving!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Traveler123500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear 500 Traveler,
I am sorry that Kimi Ora did not meet your expectations, and would like to respond to your review. Kimi Ora Eco Resort started 25 years ago, on a piece of land with regrowing bush and a magnificent sea view. The Chalets are spread out on the 12 ha property and blend into the native forest.

We constantly work on improving the experience of our guests and we can honestly and wholeheartedly say, that we do our best and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and able to enjoy a relaxed holiday in a natural environment. We are proud of our 4 star Qualmark rating. Our charge of NZ$179 for 2 people in a Studio including breakfast and use of Swimming Pool, Spa Pools, 3 different Saunas, use of bikes and more. We believe that is not overpriced.

We would appreciate if you could explain in detail what you found was not up to standard, so that we can address these problems. Please contact us on info@kimiora.com and in return we would like to offer you one night's free accommodation for 2 people.
Kind regards
Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    90
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
68
227
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

My wife (becoming a vegetarian) and my son's girlfriend (vegetarian) both wanted to visit the restaurant at the Spa for an evening meal. As a confirmed meat eater I was dreading it. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The food (try the Tofu Curry) and the service was excellent, the atmosphere was very relaxing and the views across Kaiteriteri bay were stunning. The meal was so good we returned two days later, which was as good if not better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear David,
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the meals and the relaxing atmosphere
in our vegetarian restaurant. Thank you so much for your fantastic review.
Kind regards and all the best Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stumbled on Kimi Ora and we could not have been happier, great vegetarian food, lovely views on a lovely property. The rooms are comfortable log cabins with big windows overlooking the bay. If you visit, take the time to see the glow worms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Matthew Ottawa,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review. We are very glad that you stumbled on Kimi Ora and happy to hear that you enjoyed the vegetarian food, beach view, chalet and last but not least the glow worms.
Kind regards and all the best. Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom chalet at the last minute as we thought it was priced really well. It was a great size for a small family of four, large bedrooms and comfortable bed. The pool area was fantastic our 2 year old loved it. The breakfast was amazing very healthy and yummy. A good price, good value for the money, we will be back !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenncarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear glenncarina, many thanks for your fantastic review. We are very glad that you and your family had a great time and enjoyed the chalet, pool area and our healthy breakfast buffet.
We look forward to seeing you another time.
Kind regards and all the best Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I took my elderly mother to Kimi Ora for six days in February 2013. My husband and I had stayed here with our two young children 20 years ago and I wanted my mother to experience this unique location and this fantastic accomodation venue. Exceptional facilities, location and food. The staff were fantastic. Our chalet was immaculate and the furniture extremely comfortable - more comfortable than anywhere I have ever stayed! The pools, sauna and spa were great at the end of the day and all other guests I spoke with were impressed with Kimi Ora. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, the staff will select a chalet that is close to all amenities and easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Robynz69
Thank you so much for your very positive review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on here for others. We are thrilled that you came back to visit us again and that you and your mother enjoyed both the chalet and the setting.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards and all the best Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passaic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hi
I spent an excellent time in Kimi Ora. It is situated 20min away from beach area similar to Abel Tasman NP. The staff was super nice and accommodating. We had some special requests that they were able to assist with. I loved the small cottages that were literally like walking into a home. We were able to fix our food that we wanted and had romantic meals facing a beautiful view of the water. It was exactly what we need for our peaceful weekend.
As the people in NZ say "sweet as..."

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Souler, Thank you very much for taking the the time to leave us such a great review.
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the little cottage and your romantic dinner and had a peaceful and relaxed weekend.
Kind regards and all the best, Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Kimi Ora scores highly on all fronts- location, staff, facilities, accommodation and food! It is located in a perfect position in its own grounds in the hillside with great views to the ocean and a short walk to the beach. Abel Tasman National Park is easily accessed via water taxis from the beach. The accommodation is well thought out and equipped, with lovely views. Staff are really helpful and friendly and the food is great. It is a vegetarian spa and the chef produces some great dishes! All in all you should stay here if you want to visit this part of South Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Jill K, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review.
It is always a great pleasure for us to have such lovely guest stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Abel Tasman, your accommodation, the great view and the vegetarian restaurant.
Kind regards and all the best. Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
12.5 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.0 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimi Ora Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ora Eco Resort

Property: Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Address: 99 Martin Farm Road | RD2 Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimi Ora Eco Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kimi Ora Eco Resort. Kimi Ora means "Seek health" in Maori - and it is here you will find it! Nestled amongst 12 hectares of tranquil hillside bush, Kimi Ora Eco Resort overlooks the golden sands of Kaiteriteri beach and is right on the doorstep of the popular Abel Tasman National Park and Mountain Bike Park. Here you will find the perfect location and facilities for any type of holiday experience you wish to find. Whether it is a relaxing weekend getaway, honeymoon, a special treat for your employees or some adventure packed days with kayaking, mountain biking and canyoning. Everything is possible! Just ask our friendly staff what packages are currently available to suit your needs. We offer 22 chalets, all with sea views, fully equipped kitchenette, ensuite and much more. We also offer an indoor/outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor spa, sauna, steam room, Day Spa - offering extensive spa treatments, table tennis, bike hire and bush walks, including a night time Glow Worm walk. The team at Kimi Ora Eco Resort hope to welcome you soon to our beautiful resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimi Ora Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ora Health Hotel Nelson
Kimi Ora Eco Resort New Zealand/Kaiteriteri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing