We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Girls Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaiteriteri
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous Girls Getaway”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We are 2 friends on a girls getaway weekend for 2 nights - but we could have easily stayed for longer (if it wasn't for husbands, kids and jobs calling us back!). We booked a 1 bedroom chalet and had Unit 12. This gave us a king bed in the bedroom and a single bed in the living room which was all we needed and allowed us to have a bit of space each. The single bed wasnt the greatest but the king was good. It cost $155 for the room booked direct through their website. They do have 2 bedroom units if you prefer 2 double beds. The room also had 2 lazy boys, a heat pump, a flat screen TV, a small hob and fridge (but no microwave) and it was all we needed for making breakfast and lunches and a quick dinner one night. The bathroom looked new and had a very good shower.
We used the spa, saunas, indoor pool and steam room both days and booked a massage on day 2...it was really good and we wish we had time to do it again the next day but we had to head away. We had the 3 course vegetarian dinner one night and it was hot, tasty and fresh. I would do this again.
It is up a hill (parking wasnt too bad considering the uphill location), the views are amazing overlooking Kaiteri and ocean. The atmosphere at Kimi Ora is about being healthy, natural and relaxing and we even fitted in a walk each day.
We found the staff to be very helpful from answering our first enquiries, sorting our reservation and booking for massages through to check out.
It is not a 5 star glitzy resort, but rather a special natural place to spend some time relaxing.
We will certainly do it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear HughesChristchurch
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay Kimi Ora Eco Resort as well as the facilities and vegeterian food.
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and hope you find the time to visit us again for more relaxation.
Kind Regards
Karina and the team at Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    97
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
74
239
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Kimi Ora...the rooms were spotlessly clean...but very tired. You can tell the resort is 20 years old. The staff were friendly & we made use of the spa, pools, sauna, steam room etc. The steam room smelled musty & mouldy so we didn't stay in there for very long. The lay out of the resort is good but unfortunately it was absolutely pouring with rain while we were there so we were unable to explore. Kai Teri Teri is a pretty place to visit though & must look gorgeous in the sunlight. The view from our room could have been fantastic. We also had a massage each which was very nice. All in all, while our stay wasn't unpleasant, we would probably not recommend this resort to friends. Also, we didn't receive breakfast which we had been advised was not available on the Monday morning...but it didn't appear on the Tuesday morning either...& the restaurant was closed so we didn't get to try it out

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jotibarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear jotibarker,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review.
We are very sorry to hear that your time at Kimi Ora was not 100% positive.
Of course on sunny days the whole place looks different. Also Kimi Ora is a seasonal business which slowes down after Easter, we charge winter rates. Our visitors come mainly over the weekends and as a result - the restaurant is closed over the winter period and we offer only breakfast on the weekends.
Over the last few weeks the whole team worked tireless to upgrade the units who needed a makeover. A few days ago we had a Qualmark review and achieved again our 4 star rating.
We would love to see you again at Kimi Ora Eco Resort .
Kind regards and all the best
Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here about sixteen years ago and already had a wonderful stay then. We were happy to still find it up and running and decided to stay a few days. The view from the chalets and restaurant is just beautiful and calms the soul. Our compliments go to the very efficient and helpful staff and also to the Chef de cuisine - the vegetarian meals were absolutely delicious, everything freshly cooked and nicely presented. My favourite was the torfu Thai curry and the cheese platters. The wines were very good, too. We did not have any spa treatments, but just enjoyed the swimming pool and area. Of course it was a must to go on the trail to see the glowworms. Such a pretty sight. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the lovely beach. There are all kinds of excursions you can make from here, including, of course, trips to the Abel Tasman Park. This is certainly a secret hideaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Ursula P,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review.
We are thrilled that you came back after 16 years and had another enjoyable and relaxing time at Kimi Ora and of course we are also very happy that you loved the delicious vegetarien meals.
We look forward to seeing you another time.
Kind regards and all the best
Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our second stay at Kimi Ora, the last around 6 years ago. This time we stayed four nights and did not want to leave.
The resort is just as good, the rooms were spacious, clean and well equiped. The view over Kaiteriteri is just fantastic.
We made use of the indoor pool and the spa pool which were always spotless clean and well maintained.
The ratee came with a continental breakfast each day which was served in a communal dining room.
We also used the Vegetarian Restaurant on three nights, the food was delicous and each day the menu changed which we aappreciated. There was two choices of entrees, three mains and three desserts.
The owner and the staff are so lovely, everyone who works there is friendly.
My husband had a foot massage which he felt was excellent value.
The walks, mountainbike tracks and even the "Glow-worms" are right there on the property.
We filled our days in easily, hiking the Abel Tasman track, kayaking and yes some relaxing.
We will definitely return. Thank you for a great mini-break.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newzealnder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear newzealander1,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this positive review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your chalet, the pools, delicious vegetarian food and the activities at and around Kimi Ora.
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope you will visit as again.
Kind regards and all the best
Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Our hosts at Everton B&B suggested we try this restaurant and we were so glad we did! It was the best food we had on our trip! Creative, beautiful and delicious! Portions were perfect, atmosphere comfortable, pretty views and our waitress (Erica) was such a delight! We ate there 2 of the 3 nights we were in town after not loving the food elsewhere the first night. Don't miss dining at Kimi Ora Spa!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdawainis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear jdawainis,
Many thanks for your great review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, the beautiful views and the delicious vegetarian food.
Kind regards and all the best
Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We booked a chalet very last minute at Kimi Ora for our "mini-moon". And what a find! I had seen the restaurant and spa advertised on previous visits to Kaiteri but wasn't aware there was a resort. The chalet was extremely comfortable, clean and well-appointed set in a beautiful bush location with great views across Kaiteri beach. It was wonderful watching the sun rise and the clouds pass by whilst listening to cicadas on our balcony. You almost breathe a deep sigh of relaxation just on entering Kimi Ora. The accommodation was good value, although next time I would pay less and forfeit the private spa for a standard suite (a bit cheaper), as the spa facilities on site would suffice. There is so much to do here - both in the resort and the surrounds. We are both quite active and on a wet day, managed to find table tennis and pool to keep us entertained, obviously whilst making the most of the hot tub, sauna and pool. There are bush walks and nature trails heading out of the resort in to the adjacent bush. We enjoyed the "fitness trail" through the bush and a fab visit to see the glow worms at night too. And as keen mountain bikers, it was great to be able to ride right out of the door on to the awesome trails of Kaiteri mountain bike park. Oh, and did I mention that we had a great paddle-boarding expedition in Little Kaiteri? Lots of fun.
Service was efficient and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who bent over backwards to accommodate our requests. The yoga teacher came out to deliver a class just for the two of us as we were unable to attend the regular class too – first yoga class for my partner, and he thought it was great. We each had two treatments at the health spa – a full body massage and reflexology, which were divine.
Neither of us are vegetarians but had a yummy meal in the restaurant one night – wonderful combination of flavours. The selection of wine was limited and I was nervous about quality, but we had a great bottle of organic sauvignon blanc, and relished every drop.
We booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for 5. It is a hidden gem of a place that offers a wonderful relaxing place to stay and a huge variety of activities. We will most definitely be staying at this place again. Thanks Kimi Ora and thanks Dietmar for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Emma J,
Many thanks for your wunderfull review. We are very delighted to hear that you had such a enjoyable time at our Eco Resort.
It was a real pleasure to have you here and we hope you will visit as again.

Kind regards and all the best
Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were very disappointed. It was run down, dirty and overpriced. It may have been nice 30 or 40 years ago but it doesn't look like it's been renovated since. There are much nicer places to stay closer to Abel Tasman. Keep driving!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Traveler123500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiora, Front Office Manager at Kimi Ora Eco Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear 500 Traveler,
I am sorry that Kimi Ora did not meet your expectations, and would like to respond to your review. Kimi Ora Eco Resort started 25 years ago, on a piece of land with regrowing bush and a magnificent sea view. The Chalets are spread out on the 12 ha property and blend into the native forest.

We constantly work on improving the experience of our guests and we can honestly and wholeheartedly say, that we do our best and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and able to enjoy a relaxed holiday in a natural environment. We are proud of our 4 star Qualmark rating. Our charge of NZ$179 for 2 people in a Studio including breakfast and use of Swimming Pool, Spa Pools, 3 different Saunas, use of bikes and more. We believe that is not overpriced.

We would appreciate if you could explain in detail what you found was not up to standard, so that we can address these problems. Please contact us on info@kimiora.com and in return we would like to offer you one night's free accommodation for 2 people.
Kind regards
Rita and the Kimi Ora Eco Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
12.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.3 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimi Ora Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimi Ora Eco Resort

Property: Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Address: 99 Martin Farm Road | RD2 Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kimi Ora Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kimi Ora Eco Resort. Kimi Ora means "Seek health" in Maori - and it is here you will find it! Nestled amongst 12 hectares of tranquil hillside bush, Kimi Ora Eco Resort overlooks the golden sands of Kaiteriteri beach and is right on the doorstep of the popular Abel Tasman National Park and Mountain Bike Park. Here you will find the perfect location and facilities for any type of holiday experience you wish to find. Whether it is a relaxing weekend getaway, honeymoon, a special treat for your employees or some adventure packed days with kayaking, mountain biking and canyoning. Everything is possible! Just ask our friendly staff what packages are currently available to suit your needs. We offer 22 chalets, all with sea views, fully equipped kitchenette, ensuite and much more. We also offer an indoor/outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor spa, sauna, steam room, Day Spa - offering extensive spa treatments, table tennis, bike hire and bush walks, including a night time Glow Worm walk. The team at Kimi Ora Eco Resort hope to welcome you soon to our beautiful resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimi Ora Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimi Ora Health Hotel Nelson
Kimi Ora Eco Resort New Zealand/Kaiteriteri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing