We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is somewhere special”
Review of Bellbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is somewhere special”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have never reviewed a B and B before but this place has to be the first. Anthea and Brian are hosts who offer old fashioned hospitality that makes their guests feel very special. Nothing is too much trouble and everything possible has been thought of, from the beautiful rooms, gorgeous breakfasts, local knowledge and advice to complimentary drinks in the evening and even a little home-made chocolate on a your bed when you return at night. Most 5 star hotels don't offer this level of comfort and care. I had a special diet (gluten free) and this was accommodated with the greatest of ease. Such a nice change from the usual reactions of many hosts who simply exclude most foods, leaving you with very little to eat. Everything about Bellbird Lodge is relaxing and luxurious and you leave feeling thoroughly rejuvenated and sad to being saying goodbye to such lovely people and accommodation.

Room Tip: The cream room has lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormabLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
141
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spend a wonderful stay in this B&B .. The service was the perfect sea view was just AMAZING, we regret not to be stay longer .. Everything was perfect I do not know what else to say. Thank you very much Anthéa and Brian for your hospitality.. Freddy and Claire , January 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at 14 B&Bs during our recent tour of New Zealand and Bellbird Lodge was simply the best! Brian and Anthea are warm and generous hosts, their home is beautiful with lovely views towards the coast and the added extras made it a wonderful two day stay in Abel Tasman area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We couldn't fault Anthea and Brian on their hospitality, thoughfulness and warmth of welcome to their home. Every detail had been considered - even flowers and chocolates on the bed at bedtime. The breakfasts are delicious and everything seems to be homemade to a very high standard. Evening drinks and tasty nibbles are provided about 6 o'clock which gives all their guests the opportunity of meeting one another. Nothing is too much trouble. They even chauffeured us to and from a local restaurant so that we could have a glass of wine with our meal. We wanted to walk in the Abel Tasman National Park and the Lodge is a perfect place from which to start. There are some lovely beaches close by too. So whether one is looking for an active or a leisurely break, we would certainly recommend Bellbird Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My friend Karen and myself were lucky enough to stay 2 nights at the wonderful Bellbird Lodge at the end of March 2012. The accomodation is truely beautiful and the attention to detail made our stay very special. Anthea and Brian are the most incredible hosts and wonderful people to spend time with. We particularly enjoyed the afternoon teas, complete with homemade cakes, and the pre-dinner drinks, again with delicious homemade savoury treats. Needless to say, the breakfasts were outstanding and will be missed! Both Brian and Andrea did a great job ferrying us to and from restaurants and water taxis, and made sure our stay was as relaxing as it could get! They were a mine of information and helped us make the most of this incredible location. I would recommend this first-class retreat to anyone.

Room Tip: The Magnolia Suite has wonderful sea-views and incredible sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at Bellbird Lodge for 4 nights in February 2012, where we met Martin & Sue. Everything Martin wrote about the place and about Anthea and Brian is true. The Bellbird Lodge was the best place we stayed in NZ. Anthea and Brian did everything to make it a perfect time for us. Of course we liked the excellent breakfasts, the afternoon tea, the home made cakes and the time before dinner with wine and nibbles. Our room, the Rosewood suite, was spacious, very clean and very quite. We felt like in paradise there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at Bellbird Lodge for 5 nights in February 2012. Anthea and Brian could not have done more to make us feel at home. The Magnolia Suite has magnificent sea views with a patio area. The standard of the rooms and lounge was exceptional with attention to detail, we had fresh flowers and fruit in the room on arrival and we were greeted with tea and home made cakes. The breakfasts were wonderful with a wide choice of delicious home cooked healthy dishes we especially liked the poached fruit and the innovative hot breakfasts.
Our hosts were keen to take care of us giving good advice on local trips and after days out we looked forward to coming home to afternoon tea and Anthea's delicious home made cakes and biscuits. The early evening chats with nibbles and a glass of local wine were really enjoyable.
This was the best accommodation that we stayed in during our 7 weeks in New Zealand and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in the Abel Tasman area.

Martin & Sue Sheffield UK

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.8 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbird Lodge

Property: Bellbird Lodge
Address: Kaiteriteri--Sandy Bay Road, Kaiteriteri, | RD2, Motueka, 7197, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellbird Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bellbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellbird Lodge New Zealand/Kaiteriteri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing