We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellbird Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaiteriteri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Kaiteriteri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“First class B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

During November 2012 my wife, Denise, and I did a 14 day, 3000km motorcycle trip around the South Island of New Zealand. We stayed at Bellbird Lodge for two nights. We were treated like royalty by the hosts/owners, Anthea and Brian. We were spoilt with the most delicious home-made and baked snacks (nibbles), breads, croissants, chocolates etc and picture perfect scrumptious breakfasts. The early evening nibbles and wine in the delightful company of our hosts and fellow guests was very special to us. Our votes go to Bellbird Lodge as the best home-from-home establishment during our visit to New Zealand.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
130
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

In the third week of November, we stayed for two nights in this excellent lodge. It was like arriving at good friends. The room with sea view was de luxe and Brian even helped with carrying in the luggage.
Anthea and Brian were perfect hosts. And when they heard that we where celebrating our 40 years mariage, they invited us for nibbles and Champagne! Their eye for detail was unbelievable, for example the car rear window was washed every morning. During a very complete breakfast we received a lot of interesting trip information. We really enjoyed our stay and thank our hosts for their excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TvMeurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed at this incredible B&B for 3 nights in April 2012. We would have stayed longer just for the B&B since it was one of the highlights of our trip. We were greeted with a platter of food, wine, and a warm welcome as though we were visiting close friends. The room we stayed in had an amazing view with large windows and a sliding door to a private deck overlooking the hillside and ocean. Anthea and Brian helped us with our travel plans, answered our many questions about the area and birds, turned our bed down each night with a homemade chocolate, and helped us with our laundry. We still dream about the snacks and breakfasts we had there. So much thought and attention was put into every detail of the stay. The price of this B&B was a splurge for us, but had been recommended to us by friends. It was worth every penny and we would stay there again in a heart beat! We also appreciated that Anthea and Brian e-mailed us prior to our visit to coordinate a kayak tour and then booked it for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redelses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We spent a night here on our way through to the Abel Tasman for our honeymoon. Brian and Anthea were so welcoming and spoilt us with a platter on arrival, chocolates in the room, homemade brownie, and a delicious cooked breakfast the next morning. They were so kind and thoughtful and even bought us a bottle of bubbles to congratulate us! Room was beautifully presented with views out to stunning Kaiteriteri beach (2 min drive away). We would have no hesitation recommending Bellbird Lodge!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had such a good time at the Bellbird lodge. The owner, Anthea and Brian, have been so nice with us than they made us feel that we were part of the family! They gave us all the necessary information to visit the Abel Tasman National park or to go to the restaurants nearby. The breakfasts we had were just delicious and the house is really well situated with a perfect view on the sea. Unfortunately we stayed only two weeks at the Bellbird Lodge on our honeymoon but it was for sure the best B&B that we had in New Zealand on the 3 weeks we spent there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

"Unfortunately" we were at Bellbird Lodge for only 2 nights during our NZ honeymoon but they were enough to appreciate the incredible hospitality coming from Anthea and Brian. They did everything possible to make you feel like at your home: they provided to us all the needed information for visiting Abel Tasman National park and also for other beatiful places and experiences that you can try in NZ and Fiji too....
If you are planning to visit NZ don't forget to stay at Bellbird otherwise you will lose a great occasion to taste NZ hospitality and Anthea's breakfast too....
We will hope to come back to Bellbird....
Best wishes
Marco & Cristina

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monchengladbach, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Bellbird Lodge is located within walking distance (20') to the beach and offers beautiful views from its romantic garden. Our room and bathroom were first-class, very cosy and luxurious. And we had our own private terrace overlooking the sea. Our hosts, Anthea and Brian, did everything, and I mean everything, to make us enjoy our stay. They are very generous hosts and Anthea is a brilliant cook. Forget about all the cooked breakfasts you have had so far- her breakfast excels them all. And don't miss her apéritif invitation before dinner - maybe you don't want to have dinner out after that! If you do, however, you might even get a lift in Brian's car.
We had a great time in this fantastic 5-star B&B, like staying with friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
11.8 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbird Lodge

Property: Bellbird Lodge
Address: Kaiteriteri--Sandy Bay Road, Kaiteriteri, | RD2, Motueka, 7197, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellbird Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bellbird Lodge New Zealand/Kaiteriteri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing