We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average accommodation”
Review of Kaiteri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaiteri Lodge
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Good location just 10m from the beach.
Though the hostel itself is not the newest. The bathrooms, kitchen and rooms aren't very clean. The mattress is thin and very uncomfortable.
Not worth 30$ for the dorm (40$ for a private double).

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Udooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Kaiteri Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The kaiteri lodge was in a fantastic location...2 minutes walk to the beach and next to a great pub. The rooms were pretty spacious and I had a good night's sleep. The tv lounge was quite nice but the kitchen was a let down with hobs that didn't work and a lack of space/utensils.
My major reason for reviewing this hostel however was the seriously rude receptionist who made us feel like a hindrance to her day. I used to be a receptionist and therefore know it is her job to make us feel welcome and help us with any issues we have. She unfortunately was extremely sarcastic, repeatedly unhelpful and gave out false information which lead to some of my fellow bus passengers almost missing the bus. For this reason I will not be returning to this hostel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DIX11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The check in receptionist was incredibly rude, sarcastic and insulting to a number of passengers. The internet was non existent and she refused to call the internet provider telling me to call myself despite that I didn't have a phone! Ruined the experience!! Worst staff in New Zealand!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ckilleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a ripoff! Very expensive, $30 per night, for a place like that!
Unfriendly, uncaring staff at check in.
Insulting signs everywhere: (If you don't wash up properly you will not get your key deposit back, we are watching you!)
No kitchen supplies and dirty!
No comfortable room, no good atmosphere.
It's comparable to a bunker or cell block.The beds are terrible, the mattress may as well have been non existent.
Pure profit from the fact that it is close to Abel Tasman tracks.
Worst hostel we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaddaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at kaiteri lodge, a really nice clean backpackers! My 6 bed dorm was huge!! And the wooden beds were great (don't creek like metal ones) bathroom was spotless. Kitchen was okay maybe needed to be a little bigger. The bar next door was good, large portions of food! Amazing location so so close to the beach!! Only down point was the receptionist didn't seem particularly interested in her customers, maybe just having a bad day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we only stayed her for a night but, it was $80 for one night double room.
they had a tv in the room and a very large bed.
the little pub they had attached was cool, if you spent $10 at the bar you got fish 'n' chips for only $5 which was a good size.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for a night to tour abel tasman and I guess this is the only backpackers hostel in the area around Kaiteriteri so you probably do not have much choice. The location is great as a set off base to Abel Tasman as it is just a 1 min walk to the beach and ticket counters where most of the Abel Tasman water taxis are operating at.

However noise is a huge problem here as the walls are thin and doors are making creaking noise and loud bangs when closed. I sleep in a 4 bed dorm that is nearest to the entrance/Laundry and Reception Area and people are constantly walking in and out of the corridors. The bar next door is also noisy as sounds from the TV can be heard from the room itself! Kitchen is also rather small and gets crowded easily.

However the receptionist is pretty friendly and allowed me to store my bags while Im away for a day trip to Abel Tasman.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that are nearest to the entrance/laundry room/reception/Internet if you are a light...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xuan Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
12.1 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaiteriteri Reserve Camp
Kaiteriteri Reserve Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
188 reviews
5.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiteri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiteri Lodge

Address: 8 Inlet Road | Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kaiteriteri
Price Range: £35 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiteri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaiteri Lodge is set right at the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. Our beach-style and back packer accommodation is just 50m from the beachfront of beautiful Kaiteriteri, a stone’s throw from the Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park, and the perfect setting for fun, relaxed family holidays, international travellers or weekend get-away. The beautiful Nelson region boasts the most sunshine hours in New Zealand, and a selection of safe swimming beaches. At Kaiteri Lodge, we’re proud to offer the best of everything New Zealand has to offer – friendly people, local cafes and restaurants, golden beaches, walking tracks, beautiful scenery, and comfortable, welcoming accommodation for any traveller. When you stay at our Kaiteriteri accommodation, you won’t be short on things to see and do. Go kayaking, sailing, mountain biking, fishing or swimming, or visit the nearby walking tracks for a real outdoor Kiwi experience. We have 21 rooms that can accommodate most requests but have limited private rooms configured as Super King Doubles and Twins with en-suite. Kaiteri Lodge is mainly configured as shared dorm style rooms with en-suite. Our private en-suite rooms come with a super king double bed, heater, TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. All linen is provided. Kaiteri Lodge is also shared with Kiwi Experience, a national in-bound tour bus operation. The lodge has the following facilities available to all guests: Activity booking desk, TV room, Laundry, Wireless and Kiosk Internet, BBQ area and a shared kitchen with all necessary cooking utensils. The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, fully licensed, on-site and open from 4pm 7 nights a week November to April and May to October 4 nights per week serving set menu options or choose from our a la carte dining, gourmet pizzas or take away, we’ve got it all. There is music nightly. Local activities: kayaking, walking Abel Tasman, waka races, water taxis, scalloping, cray-fishing, mini golf, sailing, sky diving and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaiteri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiteri Hotel Kaiteriteri
Kaiteri Lodge New Zealand/Kaiteriteri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing