We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We enjoyed a tranquil and relaxing stay in this lovely, small hotel embedded in the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Right from the start we were made to feel very welcome and appreciated the attentive and friendly service as well as the care that had been taken in the many small details that enhanced our stay (the fresh flowers on the tables, the homemade biscuits in the rooms, the White Country toiletries etc.) It was a real treat to come back to to the hotel after a day of sightseeing and spend the rest of the day on the terrace in the lovely gardens with afternoon tea.
The dinner was also excellent, beautifully prepared from fresh regional products, and delicious (and very reasonably priced as well).. The rooms have apparently been refurbished recently and our room was very stylish, spacious and comfortable and had good wifi reception. We had a gorgeous view of the gardens and the village church.Thanks to the good weather, we were able to enjoy the very tasty cooked country breakfast accompanied by an assortment of fresh pastries
on the terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

It was a heavenly place to stay but attention to detail lets them down. The truly perfect meal was well presented however the waiter (manager) should make sure that his trousers are not stained and the chef if he is to appear should not be dressed in track suit bottoms that a sliding down creating a large expanse of sweaty skin. This attention to detail continues in the bedroom ours was charing but a very dirty shelf in the wardrobe was disgusting, no zapper for the TV, curtain rail coming away from the wall, badly fitted door handle on the bathroom door caused me to scratch my hand and last but not least three pairs of nickers in the tea table draw. At these prices things have to be perfect and they were not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a fantastic place. I've enjoyed a great weekend in Howard's House. The quality of the service, the location, the staff, rooms and facilities are just great. Howard's House is a gem in Wiltshire.
The only 'negative' aspect I wish to note is the restaurant. The food was good and the ingredient were all fresh and local. You can actually see the care in selecting the best. However portions are VERY small (especially considering the bill).

Overall a very good place to stay. I would recommend it to everybody

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kocchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

we were recommended howars house by a friend. we came for quite weekend breaks for many years. It has a magnificent 'old world' charm, hidden away i a most lovely part of Wiltshire some 10 miles west of Salisbury-which is really a must see when staying there.my wife always said I was more relaxed after a weekend here than after a 2 week holiday.The rooms are beautifully designed and maintained and the food in class of its own. we enjoyed the area so much that we bought a house in the next village and now live here full time. therefore we no longer stay at the hotel but regularly return to the restaurant for their excellent fare.

Room Tip: the gardens is magnificent-see if you grt a room overlooking it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollardspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have been visiting Howard's House for the last eight years for those 'special' occasions. It is tucked away in the little village of Teffont Evias in the Nadder Valley and is surrounded by beautiful countryside. The grounds of the house are well kept and on our recent visit, were bursting with English country garden flowers and birds. The service is attentive and although, not opulent, the lounge areas are clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and fresh although the floors, as in most old buildings do creak a bit, but this adds to the charm of the place.The food is very good and I particularly liked the meringue and prune desert, which I can assure readers, was certainly home made. The staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is memorable and want to know if there is anything you think can be improved. It is not cheap, but as I say, Howard's House is for that 'special occasion'.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canneb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Howard's House is not somewhere that you would find by chance, tucked away as it is in the depths of the Nadder Valley west of Salisbury. However if you want a taste of a comfortable, quiet hotel deep in the English countryside than this is the place for you. The rooms are spacious, cosy and well appointed. Unusually for an old house the water pressure in the showers is excellent.
The service is attentive from a small and seemingly very hard working team and the restaurant was a delight for both dinner and breakfast.
A place for a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug47london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The lounge bar furniture was so dirty you wouldn't want to sit on it! We had a two course lunch. The main course was very ordinary sausage and mash not even good farm sausage! The desert was ridiculous it had a fancy name but it was just five prunes a dollop of cream and a supermarket meringue! I wouldn't have had the cheek to serve this at home to guests! Very disappointing as the last time we went two years ago it was good. Won't go back!

Room Tip: Did not stay here only had lunch so don't know about the rooms etc!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georgina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardsHouse, Partner at Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Georgina67,

Thank you for your comments following your lunch with us at Howard's House.

We were both disappointed and surprised to read your review of our establishment, as we are regularly complimented on both the food we serve and our high standard of cleanliness.

We are not sure which piece of furniture you are referring to but it was certainly a surprise to hear that you found it dirty - please rest assured we will examine all the furniture in our lounge and ensure that is clean.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch. It is disappointing to hear that the pavlova was not to your taste. All the food we serve is made on site by our chefs and the ingredients are fresh, seasonal where possible, and sourced from local suppliers.

We hope that if you were to visit us agan you would find your experience to be a more positive one.

Best wishes,
Charlotte Greenwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teffont Evias
9.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
8.2 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
9.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Teffont Evias SP3 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Teffont Evias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Price Range: £179 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard`s House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Howards Hotel Country
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant Teffont Evias, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing