We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential English Garden Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Howard's House is the quintessential English garden inn. Simply delightful. A bit hard to find, but certainly worth the short distance from Salisbury. The town felt like a trip back in time. The setting, on a quiet one-lane road in a small valley, is perfect for walking and contemplating how lucky you are to be there. Youll find a few houses, an old church, a converted castle, a creek, and a small lake in Teffont Evias. We enjoyed exploring it all, especially the lovely church. The rooms are well-appointed, not fancy or modern, but quite comfortable. The food is exquisite, among the best we had on our trip. Both breakfast and dinner were wonderful, which included excellent gluten-free options for the two Celiac members of our party. The restaurant, by itself, is worth the trip! The staff couldn’t have been more kind or helpful. All in all, the best place we stayed in Britain.

Room Tip: Our family of four fit quite comfortable into their family room. The views from the room were lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

A lovely stay in this charming hotel, situated in lovely surroundings. We had torrential rain on the afternoon we arrived so couldn't take advantage of the very pretty garden. Good food and wine, and wonderful staff who managed that rare skill of being attentive but relaxed. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidTraveller047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A great location not too far from Salisbury. Rooms very pleasant but some have two flights of stairs to access, well appointed, comfy bed. Staff are attentive and freindly, the service first rate. The evening meal was very good food nicely presented. Cooked breakfast freshly served for each individual, good selection of cerials.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A last-minute booking meant we had the last room in the hotel for a Friday night. We had been recommended the quality of the service, food and ambiance and in those respects we were generally pleased with our decision to stay. The room turned out to be at the top of the house, in a garret type space, up a steep short flight of steps, and unfortunately the residents in the next room had a dog which gave an occasional bark! We were rather cramped but had a good choice of teas and ground coffee in the room. the newspaper arrived early.at the room door.The table d'hote menu had only two choices per course, but the food was very good. Excellent breakfast of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The table linen was pristine and so was the general presentation and decor. Pleasant garden. At £270 for two including three course table d'hote dinner, we thought a high price for an inadequate room. The staff asked if I wanted to add anything (ie tip) to the bill - I did, but rather a cheek I thought (are they on low wages?!)

Room Tip: Ask about the room- don't take it for granted (but we did have Hobson's choice).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroTotnes_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We enjoyed a tranquil and relaxing stay in this lovely, small hotel embedded in the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Right from the start we were made to feel very welcome and appreciated the attentive and friendly service as well as the care that had been taken in the many small details that enhanced our stay (the fresh flowers on the tables, the homemade biscuits in the rooms, the White Country toiletries etc.) It was a real treat to come back to to the hotel after a day of sightseeing and spend the rest of the day on the terrace in the lovely gardens with afternoon tea.
The dinner was also excellent, beautifully prepared from fresh regional products, and delicious (and very reasonably priced as well).. The rooms have apparently been refurbished recently and our room was very stylish, spacious and comfortable and had good wifi reception. We had a gorgeous view of the gardens and the village church.Thanks to the good weather, we were able to enjoy the very tasty cooked country breakfast accompanied by an assortment of fresh pastries
on the terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It was a heavenly place to stay but attention to detail lets them down. The truly perfect meal was well presented however the waiter (manager) should make sure that his trousers are not stained and the chef if he is to appear should not be dressed in track suit bottoms that a sliding down creating a large expanse of sweaty skin. This attention to detail continues in the bedroom ours was charing but a very dirty shelf in the wardrobe was disgusting, no zapper for the TV, curtain rail coming away from the wall, badly fitted door handle on the bathroom door caused me to scratch my hand and last but not least three pairs of nickers in the tea table draw. At these prices things have to be perfect and they were not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a fantastic place. I've enjoyed a great weekend in Howard's House. The quality of the service, the location, the staff, rooms and facilities are just great. Howard's House is a gem in Wiltshire.
The only 'negative' aspect I wish to note is the restaurant. The food was good and the ingredient were all fresh and local. You can actually see the care in selecting the best. However portions are VERY small (especially considering the bill).

Overall a very good place to stay. I would recommend it to everybody

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kocchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teffont Evias
6.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
9.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
882 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
421 reviews
9.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
910 reviews
9.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Teffont Evias SP3 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Teffont Evias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Price Range: £186 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard`s House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Howards Hotel Country
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant Teffont Evias, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing