We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Certificate of Excellence
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous for a short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Had a 3 day break, friendly welcome with umbrella at the ready as it was pouring, log fire alight. Nice bedroom with lovely scenic view, wonderful comfy beds, copious hot water, fluffy big towels and good radiators. Dining room was very tasteful with candles burning, starched tablecloths and napkins. Service excellent, menu was fine dining with portions on the smallish side but fabulous flavours the only criticism which seems petty was, for us, there were not enough vegetables my husband said he might get scurvy at the end of a weeks stay! We were the only residents on the Sunday night but the standard was still the same.The prices for such indulgence are at the top end but well worth it for a special occasion or a getaway break, There was plenty to see and visit with Salisbury about 10 miles away, fabulous countryside all quintessentially England at its best even in the rain.

Room Tip: No 1 overlooking the garden very, very quiet in fact not a sound (was November)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tootspulborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    30
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
74
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent the evening in this charming Restaurant/Hotel for a retirement party. The food was excellent. We were served canapes on arrival with Champagne. Starters were either scallops or Beouf Bourguinon which just melted in your mouth. Main course choices were fish or venison, but as I am not a fan of either, the chef very kindly cooked some chicken for me - which was again so tender. Dessert was a fruit souffle with smoothie or cheese board with home made biscuits. To top it all off was tea/coffee and home made sweets. Waiting staff were very attentive and helpful. A wonderful time was had by all. Highly recommend a visit for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I had a wonderfully relaxing overnight stay at Howard's House. We enjoyed dinner, breakfast and lunch in that order with our 2 daughters joining us for Sunday lunch. The quality and selection of food, the service and the ambience were nothing less than outstanding on each occasion. Portion sizes are perfect; there is a real trick in being able to serve a delicious 3 course dinner that leaves the customer satisfyingly full but not uncomfortably 'stuffed'. Yet the chef has this down to perfection. The local produce was quite superb, the waiting staff and chef engaging and keen to help and we left this quiet sanctuary more relaxed than we have been in many years. It is a simply wonderful, family run hotel and we are sure to return. You must try it too; it's too good to miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 411David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Howard's House is the quintessential English garden inn. Simply delightful. A bit hard to find, but certainly worth the short distance from Salisbury. The town felt like a trip back in time. The setting, on a quiet one-lane road in a small valley, is perfect for walking and contemplating how lucky you are to be there. Youll find a few houses, an old church, a converted castle, a creek, and a small lake in Teffont Evias. We enjoyed exploring it all, especially the lovely church. The rooms are well-appointed, not fancy or modern, but quite comfortable. The food is exquisite, among the best we had on our trip. Both breakfast and dinner were wonderful, which included excellent gluten-free options for the two Celiac members of our party. The restaurant, by itself, is worth the trip! The staff couldn’t have been more kind or helpful. All in all, the best place we stayed in Britain.

Room Tip: Our family of four fit quite comfortable into their family room. The views from the room were lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

A lovely stay in this charming hotel, situated in lovely surroundings. We had torrential rain on the afternoon we arrived so couldn't take advantage of the very pretty garden. Good food and wine, and wonderful staff who managed that rare skill of being attentive but relaxed. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidTraveller047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A great location not too far from Salisbury. Rooms very pleasant but some have two flights of stairs to access, well appointed, comfy bed. Staff are attentive and freindly, the service first rate. The evening meal was very good food nicely presented. Cooked breakfast freshly served for each individual, good selection of cerials.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A last-minute booking meant we had the last room in the hotel for a Friday night. We had been recommended the quality of the service, food and ambiance and in those respects we were generally pleased with our decision to stay. The room turned out to be at the top of the house, in a garret type space, up a steep short flight of steps, and unfortunately the residents in the next room had a dog which gave an occasional bark! We were rather cramped but had a good choice of teas and ground coffee in the room. the newspaper arrived early.at the room door.The table d'hote menu had only two choices per course, but the food was very good. Excellent breakfast of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The table linen was pristine and so was the general presentation and decor. Pleasant garden. At £270 for two including three course table d'hote dinner, we thought a high price for an inadequate room. The staff asked if I wanted to add anything (ie tip) to the bill - I did, but rather a cheek I thought (are they on low wages?!)

Room Tip: Ask about the room- don't take it for granted (but we did have Hobson's choice).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroTotnes_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teffont Evias
6.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
22.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
9.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Teffont Evias SP3 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Teffont Evias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard`s House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Howards Hotel Country
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant Teffont Evias, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing