We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUINTESSENTIALLY ENGLISH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“QUINTESSENTIALLY ENGLISH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Howard’s House is a quintessential English country hotel, quietly nestled in a stunning river valley to the west of Salisbury. We had hoped the hotel would deliver on the promise of the reviews and it did, by the spadeful.

Small but perfectly formed, Howard’s House has a homely interior, stone fireplaces, immaculate bedrooms and a glorious terrace which is graced with a view of a dreamy church spire which rises out of the valley like a miniature Salisbury Cathedral.

We indulged in the restaurant with a perfectly pitched tasting menu that was note perfect and faultless in its execution. The staff were charming and accommodating.

After lunch we went for a stroll down to the Church, past the stunning gin clear stream and fantastical topiary hedge. We only stayed for a day, but could have ensconced ourselves there for a year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    30
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
74
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

An excellent venue for a long business lunch. Good food, good wine and very comfortable surroundings. Makes a nice change to have a quiet restaurant where there is no need to shout to be heard. Also easy to have confidential conversation.

Very good indeed.

Robert Horsford
13/12/13

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

There is a timeless quality about Teffont Evias, a small hamlet in a valley with a brook running beside the quiet road framed by a neatly clipped cloud hedge. The spire of a small church and turrets on a, now divided, manor house complete the picture-perfect country scene. In this tranquil setting, Howard's House also has its own lovely gardens and sheltered terrace where you can sit out in the better weather. On this occasion, however, we were glad to take our tea, biscuits and cake in the lounge!

The main lounge is cosy and decorated in autumn colours with a welcoming open fire and plenty of comfortable seating. The dining room has been recently redecorated and has some interesting artwork on the walls. Rooms have also been redecorated since our last visit and are a comfortable blend of traditional and modern.

The dinner menu offers at least half a dozen choices for each course - all sounded tempting but I had the 'dish of the day' which was a whole dover sole with crushed potatoes and wilted spinach followed by a fruit souffle with icecream in a little tuille basket. Portions are just right for me as I like to have the opportunity to try three courses without feeling too full.

After a very restful night and good breakfast we left feeling refreshed and wishing we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the Howards House Hotel (HHH) for a two night break, we have eaten here and stayed for single nights on many occasions.We like to call it our secret getaway.We wanted to stay two nights to take advantage of the wonderful walking in the area as it seems we always have to rush off after breakfast normally.When we arrived we were greeted by Louisa and after settling in to our room we enjoyed very nice tea and cake in the sitting room. After relaxing and getting ready we had a superb evening meal. HHH is a very high quality hotel but still retains a cosy friendliness. Another highlight that must be mentioned is the breakfast , not to be hurried but savoured.
The HHH has won many accolades but I would just like to mention the people Simon and also Louisa who made our stay all the more special. Suffice to say we have already booked a lunch in the New Year.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Had a 3 day break, friendly welcome with umbrella at the ready as it was pouring, log fire alight. Nice bedroom with lovely scenic view, wonderful comfy beds, copious hot water, fluffy big towels and good radiators. Dining room was very tasteful with candles burning, starched tablecloths and napkins. Service excellent, menu was fine dining with portions on the smallish side but fabulous flavours the only criticism which seems petty was, for us, there were not enough vegetables my husband said he might get scurvy at the end of a weeks stay! We were the only residents on the Sunday night but the standard was still the same.The prices for such indulgence are at the top end but well worth it for a special occasion or a getaway break, There was plenty to see and visit with Salisbury about 10 miles away, fabulous countryside all quintessentially England at its best even in the rain.

Room Tip: No 1 overlooking the garden very, very quiet in fact not a sound (was November)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tootspulborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent the evening in this charming Restaurant/Hotel for a retirement party. The food was excellent. We were served canapes on arrival with Champagne. Starters were either scallops or Beouf Bourguinon which just melted in your mouth. Main course choices were fish or venison, but as I am not a fan of either, the chef very kindly cooked some chicken for me - which was again so tender. Dessert was a fruit souffle with smoothie or cheese board with home made biscuits. To top it all off was tea/coffee and home made sweets. Waiting staff were very attentive and helpful. A wonderful time was had by all. Highly recommend a visit for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I had a wonderfully relaxing overnight stay at Howard's House. We enjoyed dinner, breakfast and lunch in that order with our 2 daughters joining us for Sunday lunch. The quality and selection of food, the service and the ambience were nothing less than outstanding on each occasion. Portion sizes are perfect; there is a real trick in being able to serve a delicious 3 course dinner that leaves the customer satisfyingly full but not uncomfortably 'stuffed'. Yet the chef has this down to perfection. The local produce was quite superb, the waiting staff and chef engaging and keen to help and we left this quiet sanctuary more relaxed than we have been in many years. It is a simply wonderful, family run hotel and we are sure to return. You must try it too; it's too good to miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 411David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teffont Evias
6.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
22.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
9.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Teffont Evias SP3 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Teffont Evias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Teffont Evias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard`s House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Howards Hotel Country
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant Teffont Evias, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing