We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten Track” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at High Post

Inn at High Post
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in High Post
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at High Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Post
Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Off the beaten Track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We found this little gem by accident. We were travelling back to Cornwall from Essex and had'nt booked anywhere to stay and were directed to this establishment by the Holiday Inn at Solstice Park Amesbury. On arrival it appears a bit tired, but with ample parking available. On entry we were greated by a very personable young man, registered and was then shown to our room. Once we were settled we went into the Bar/Lounge area which was exceedingly comfortable and ordered an evening meal, which was delivered quite promptly (A word of warning dear reader, the portions are LARGE). After our meal we retired to our very comfortable room, en suite with bath and shower, grab rails for disabled and a very good selection of complimentaty toiletteries. The courtesy tray included biscits, Tea, Coffee, Decaf coffee and chocolate. The whole hotel is very disabled friendly, I would say it is the best we have found. After spending a comfortable night we went for breakfast, a very wide selection of cereals, yoghurt, fruit juices, including should it be required decaf tea and an extensive cooked breakfast menu. A good choice of idividual preserves including 2 types of marmalade, marmite, jams and honey. The staff were excellent, very smart and very clean. Nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: Ring in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TroggerCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    8
    4
    11
See reviews for
5
5
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is an absolute nightmare it smells musky and the smell from the drains in the toilets in the function room is disgusting, it says it has a swimming pool i would never like to swim in that . This hotel should not be allowed to be open i cannot say how dirty and terrible it is

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaynor f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The bad reviews are not justified. This hotel is honest with good food and great rooms with very good views. It is quiet and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I have stayed at the hotel for one week each month since the end of last year and have always been made very welcome, the staff are extremely courteous and polite.
The menu is varied, suits all tastes and the portions very generous.
The countryside views are stunning. If you are lucky enough to have a room at the back of the hotel, which over looks the fields, there is a variety of wildlife to enjoy watching.
The rooms are large, with Freeview TV and the beds very comfortable with plenty of pillows.
The decor is a little dated but you cannot fault the cleanliness.
My thanks to all

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the back of the hotel have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hgouldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

we only stayed here as we couldnt complete a long drive and therefore we didnt look up this hotel before hand.

on entering the hotel had an awlful old musky smell to it, terrible decor, just looked really dirty, and it got worse when we got to the room.

the room absolutly stunk of damp! the smell made it so hard to get to sleep! the decor was old and in need of replacing. TV was older than my dad and the radiator was something out of the 70s, no idea if it still worked

the toilet would not flush and the toilet seat was the wrong type for the toilet.

breakfast was ok. waiter wasnt very welcoming. really glad to leave this place behind never to be seen again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notamused_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I should have realised when I entered the large car park that something was wrong, there were only about 2-3 cars there, also the paint was peeling from the outside of the hotel. My suspicions were unfortunately, later confirmed.

On entering the hotel I immediately noticed the hideous decoration, surpassed only by the awful smell of rancid food, somewhat like Butlins.

The décor looks as if it had come from the dark ages, the carpets were fraying.

Many of the staff paid no attention and some were downright rude, particularly a female member of staff.

The food was not hot and when it eventually arrived it was not of the standard one would expect from a hotel.

I notice now (too late) that this hotel is rated on “The Trip Advisory Popularity Index” as 1 out of 1, that’s not surprising as there are no other hotels in the area.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but has the benefit (?) of a firework factory next to it and an aircraft test establishment close by, so plenty of noise to be heard if you like that sort of thing.

This hotel/Inn is really a very dismal, grubby, unfriendly and lacklustre place. It needs a complete overhaul and refurbishing throughout.

I only wish I had checked Trip Advisor before I went there as if I had I wouldn’t have ever entertained the place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank regsiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

I was a little weary of staying at this Hotel after reading previous reviews, but to my surprise the Hotel was very different from what others had said about it. On arrival was greeted by a charming young man who checked me in with speed and efficiency and offered to carry my luggage for me. The room had a nice relaxing king sized bed in, there was a large digital TV with remote control. The bathroom was large clean and well stocked with toiletries. The tea and coffee tray was a good welcome after a long journey and the views from the window were spectacular looking over distant hills and countryside. The restaurant in the evening provided our group with an excellent evening meal and the service was second to none. Breakfast in the morning was a faultless full English and with options for cereal, yogurts and choice of teas. The bar for lunch was pleasant providing a full menu with light snacks and cooked meals. The Gym was well equipped and the sauna was an added bonus. Overall the staff were professional and able to assist our group at every given opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catholicman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Post
0.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Inn at High Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at High Post

Property: Inn at High Post
Address: High Post SP4 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > High Post
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Inn At High Post Hotel High Post
Hotel High Post
Inn At High Post Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing