We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel next to a busy main road!”
Review of New Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Landford
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel next to a busy main road!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at the New Forest lodge for 2 nights in a superior room, with our baby son.
We were disappointed that the hotel location does not match the tranquil pictures on the hotel's website! There is nothing near the hotel except an Indian restaurant.
That said the room was clean and quiet, and the breakfast was very good, with free breakfast for our baby son.
I am sure this hotel is fine for business travellers but not ideal for families.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wibby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    54
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
38
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is on the A36 and is easy to find, and is on the edge of the New Forest. It is a modern building with an adjacent Indian restaurant, and a good pub just up the road. Check in was fine and the reception were helpful with booking taxis to and from a wedding reception. I got there a bit late and they had called while I was on my way - the reception desk is closed after 8pm. The room was large, quiet and clean, with a good bathroom. The bed had a very soft mattress. Breakfast was good (£7.50 surcharge), with plenty of choice including full English.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed for two nights in a superior room with en suite which was clean and tidy, and had a very comfortable bed.
The only real negative was the flimsy locks on guest room doors.
There is an Indian restaurant immediately adjacent which is fine for an evening meal.
Although adequate and reasonably priced, it lacks atmosphere, and is probably more suited for families or business travellers.
Couples seeking something picturesque with a personal touch would be advised to look for one of the many B&Bs within the New Forest itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a family room after a long weekend on the Isle of Wight. The hotel was easy to find and we were greated by a polite, helpful gentleman. The room was a good size, clean and tidy and the bathroom too was nice.
We were able to explore Southampton, Salisbury and the newforest quite happily from the hotel and when we went back to the hotel in the afternoons my children were happily entertained by the tv which was a nice change to get good reception on a hotel tv!!
Breakfast at the hotel really was very nice, there was a good selection for everyone, it was cooked fresh and served quickly.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family. The service was good and it was good value for money :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam8374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I booked a 1 night stay here based on previous feedback and was not disappointed. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room was clean, well equipped and bright. The shower was excellent..I also thought the rods in the shower curtain was an ingenious idea to stop it moving and keep it in the bath. Breakfast was very good and the Host had arranged to have gluten free bread available as I had mentioned I am coeliac. Although the Hotel is directly on a main road it is reasonably quiet during the night and I slept like a log in the comfy bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front if you are sensitive to road noicse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Excellent hotel very clean, mattress was a dream never ever had such comfort, breakfast good would certainly recommend stayed there a couple of years ago and it just gets better!

Room Tip: any room seems to have the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yarco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Think independently owned premier inn style. Nice rooms, great showers and a nice but slightly over priced Indian restaurant next door. Only grumbles are if you don't eat in the Indian you are a little restricted unless you drive out and if u get there past 8:30pm the reception is closed so no wifi code and is a little quiet. Overall I would go back though

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chipfatinasock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landford
5.0 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
7.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Forest Lodge

Property: New Forest Lodge
Address: Southampton Road, Landford, New Forest National Park Wiltshire SP5 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > New Forest National Park Wiltshire > Landford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Landford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our independent, 4-star guest accommodation is located just one mile from the edge of the New Forest within the National Park, and within easy reach of Southampton and Salisbury. Ideal for business or pleasure we have 14 fully equipped, modern bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your New Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Forest Hotel Landford
New Forest Lodge Landford, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing