We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of New Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Landford
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed a couple of nights as we were attending a wedding. For what we wanted it was excellent The rooms are generous in size, clean ,well appointed and equipped with everything one could need. including iron and ironing board. The bed was the most comfortable that I have slept in away from home.The bathroom was a good size with plenty of hot water .
The hotel is right on the A 36 so easy to find ,the downside is the potential for traffic noise though I must admit that this was not a problem for us.
The hotel does not have any public rooms apart from a smallish breakfast area, there is no lounge or bar area .The Owner was helpful and friendly and offered us some good advice about locations where we could meet up with friends before the afternoon wedding. He had also offered the use of the breakfast area had that been more convienient.
Breakfast is not included in the price of the room but at £7.50 offered excellent value and variety of choice of cooked breakfast as well as juices cerials and yoghurt and excellent fresh coffee. I have to be wheat free ,glutin free toast was provided for me which was super.
I would certainly stay here again provided that we did not want the use of a lounge or bar on site. As mentioned by other reviewers there is an Indian resturant on the same site and no end of good pubs and resturants located within a few minutes drive. There is ample free parking on site.
For a quick stopover I could not think of a better place.

Room Tip: Upstairs and towards the back of the property. We were upstairs midway along the corridor and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooredup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    55
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
45
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Nice clean & well presented hotel with very helpful & polite staff. However the pictures of the hotel could be misleading as it portraits the hotel as situated in a rural setting but actually that's just a field next to the hotel. The hotel is located on the main A36 so is easy to find & is just a couple minutes drive from the New Forest. Value for money could of been better if the price of the breakfast was included but overall a pleastant stay. If though you're looking for something a little bit more lively then try Downton as this place is pretty remote.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudge055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I was staying away on business and found the New Forest Lodge via Bookings.com. My expectations were'nt high - just a reasonably priced twin room, single occupancy near to my client. What a surprise when I arrived. The Lodge was pristine, the welcome impeccable, and I was escorted to my room, bag carried for me and everything explained. The room was delightful. Immaculate and very comfortable and with free WiFi. There was even an ironing board and iron tucked away in a cupboard. Lovely hot strong shower and a (moveable) desk so that I wasn't working with my nose to the wall. Even though the Lodge is on the A36, there was very little traffic noise and I got a great night's sleep.

I would recommend the Lodge to anyone. In fact, I've booked to go back next month on another business trip and am planning to take hubbie down for a weekend break to try the very delightful looking Indian restaurant next door and (I am reliably told by my client) the glorious New Forest countryside and a lovely pub on a green just down the road. Can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeLouD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed one night attending family reunion locally.Superb location close to New Forest attractions. Clean, modern with polite friendly staff.Has an excellent indian restaurant next door and a pub 100 yards up the road.What more could one want. Only criticism is that sound carries from corridors and upper floors which might upset the light sleeper. Breakfast value for money. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crib46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Best place we have stayed so far in England! Spotlessly clean, wonderfully comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly, helpful staff. Ideally located, the New Forest and the ponies start only 5 minutes down the road. We wanted to stay longer but alas no vacancies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The staff were were very accommodating. Books and games for children, room was very big with a lovely view.
The breakfast staff - two ladies, were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
No take away food allowed in room, which was a shame, as have two small children, who go to bed very early.
Wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights with our 3 year old son. The ensuite room was very comfortable, clean and spacious, but (as somebody else commented) it was very hot for mid-summer, having a thick duvet on the bed. We preferred not to have the windows open as we're not used to a lot of traffic noise at night, although it did quiten down after midnight until around 6am. There was also an electric fan provided, so we used that and it did make it a bit cooler.
I can't get over how many people said the breakfast was very good! Ours most certainly was not - the sausages and bacon appeared microwaved and were very bland and tasteless and the eggs were poached and not drained at all well, resulting in a very watery breakfast. They also charged us more than half price for our 3 year old, for just a small box of cereal and one slice of toast, so I wasn't impressed. Needless to say, we didn't have the breakfast again.
We were central for both the new forest and southampton (we went to IOW on the ferry) so the location was ideal for us.
All in all, a pleasant stay, but do yourselves a favour and get some croissants and orange juice in for a DIY breakfast like we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CirenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landford
7.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
822 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
836 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
550 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Forest Lodge

Property: New Forest Lodge
Address: Southampton Road, Landford, New Forest National Park Wiltshire SP5 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > New Forest National Park Wiltshire > Landford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Landford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our independent, 4-star guest accommodation is located just one mile from the edge of the New Forest within the National Park, and within easy reach of Southampton and Salisbury. Ideal for business or pleasure we have 14 fully equipped, modern bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Forest Hotel Landford
New Forest Lodge Landford, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing