We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel - Friendly owners, great location”
Review of New Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Landford
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - Friendly owners, great location”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Lovely hotel on the edge of the new forest. Rooms very clean and well appointed. Hotel doesn't have a bar or restaurant but does serve an excellent quality breakfast in the lounge area by reception. Rooms also have free wifi internet access.

Staff are very friendly and knowledgable. Owner arranged a local taxi for us and allowed us to check in a little early since we were attending a wedding. Slept really well, beds soft and comfy. The hotel is on a main road which you can hear with the windows open but that didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    54
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
38
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This small hotel is in a newish building so the rooms are generous and bathrooms large. Extremely comfortable and modern surroundings. You can tell that someone has thought about the details - I love the shower curtain with the rods so that it doesnt blow against you! I have never seen them before!

The staff are very friendly and went out of their way to arrange taxis for us after a wedding. They also made special arrangements for us to check-in very late the evenign we arrived after driving from Yorkshire and getting stuck in terrible traffic. (Please do pay attention the rules for this late check-in, I did not, but they sorted us out anyway).

The breakfast is not included in the room price, but it is good value for money and served with a smile. We did not try the indian next door or the pub 600 meters away, but did visit the Green Dragon 10 mins away in the New Forest and that was a lovely pub with large beer garden.

You can hear the road noise, but honestly it is not a big deal. the hotel has so many other things going for it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kstearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

My family of 4(2 teenagers) stayed in a family room overlooking a cow pasture. The room was large and easily supported the 4 of us.

The hotel is on a busy road but we were not at all bothered by the noise.

The only real problem we had was in finding the place. Our GPS couldn't locate the right address and we were confused by instructions given on the website. We were also tired and intimidated by the fast moving traffic.

We walked up the hill(maybe 600 yards) and had dinner at a lovely english pub. The food was good and the atmosphere, charm, and friendly staff were superb. Just what we were hoping for with our first experience into the culture.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scooby2057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We have stayed at this hotel many times and always receive a warm welcome from the owners. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms are a good size with a full sized bath and powerful shower. Everything that the traveller could require is provided including iron, ironing board, mini bar and hairdryer. The room where breakfast is served is comfortable but there are no other guest areas. The hotel is close to the road but the traffic cannot be heard from the bedrooms. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy-in-Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COVENTRY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Welcomed on arrival with a smiling face after a 2 hour journey.Lots of parking space available for my MPV and very easy to find, set back off the main road.
I was offered assistance with help carrying my baggage to my room.
Room was spacious with ensuite bathroom and overlooking green fields with cows grazing.How tranquil can you get after a long day.
Room was clean and bright with complimentary toiletries provided.
Made a nice change to have nice quality large towels in the room.
My room had a flat screen tv with freeview , trouser press, and drinks fridge.
Shower was the best power shower I have ever experienced,and I stay in lots of hotels up and down the country on a weekly basis.
Would recommend this hotel to all my business friends and would definately book for my family when visiting the New Forest in Autumn.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RAKFIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Lodge style Hotel with surprisingly large rooms and very comfortable beds. Great power shower,and free wi-fi. Excellent freshly cooked English breakfast.
Not in the New forest itself but only a short drive. Ate in the on site Indian Restarant which had a really good menu and friendly staff. Lots to do in the area and helpful
people on reception to advise. Had a really relaxing weekend lots of fresh air and encounters with New Forest Ponies, and a delicious cream tea at the Lavender Tea Garden just up the road from the Hotel. All you need for a weekend break.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieBlythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Location just outside New Forest. Rooms look a bit tired. Hotel is right on a main road.
This hotel does not have a bar or restuarant, what they do have is an Indian restuarant next door which has 2 sofas if you want to just have a drink. But they will charge you extra if you want to take your drink to your room.
We complained about the noise from the main road and from the people in the room next to us, as the sound insulation seems to be very poor and we heard every word they said. The hotel did not offer us any discount for our troubles.
The general cleanliness was good but there was a lot of dust and cobwebs left.
There is no reception after 6.30pm. There are no phones in room for room service if you wanted, and breakfast was in a tv room next to reception. The breakfast was also very poor quality and over priced at £7.50.
They also recommended the bar/restaurant up the road called the Landford Poacher for dinner. Nice and newly decorated but poor quality food. No local produce at all, and over priced too.
Taxis are expensive as they have to come some distance.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil6534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landford
5.0 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
7.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Forest Lodge

Property: New Forest Lodge
Address: Southampton Road, Landford, New Forest National Park Wiltshire SP5 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > New Forest National Park Wiltshire > Landford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Landford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our independent, 4-star guest accommodation is located just one mile from the edge of the New Forest within the National Park, and within easy reach of Southampton and Salisbury. Ideal for business or pleasure we have 14 fully equipped, modern bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your New Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Forest Hotel Landford
New Forest Lodge Landford, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing