We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

Old Mill Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Harnham
Price range: US$16 - US$53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautifully located over the Mill Run of the River Nadder, in the old village of Harnham, just 10minutes walk from Salisbury centre. Five centuries old, this once working Paper Mill, is now the perfect location for a lunchtime snack, meal with friends or romantic dinner. This fantastic building retains many of the old features, in both the restaurant and bar area. Open fires can be enjoyed throughout the ground floor, to add to the old world ambiance of this wonderful pub/restaurant. Through the warmer months, you can dine outside, in the most spectacular garden where every seat has a waterside view. Relax in the sun and allow us to treat you with our freshly prepared barbeque menu, delivered straight from our newly introduced charcoal ovens. The Old Mill Hotel has benefitted from a full refurbishment throughout in November 2014, to showcase the stunning nature of this iconic building in its' full glory.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This pub should be fantastic. Why they have such poor food I don’t know. A chicken burger with a mouldy bun, a ploughman’s which was small and disappointing, garlic bread which was freezing cold in the middle and a incredibly unhelpful waitress when told. The lager was flat and when complained we were told it was the glasses not the lager. If that’s the case clean the glasses!!!!!!! Such a shame, we won’t be back again.

1  Thank LadyHamilt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear LadyHamilton
we are so sorry you had such a poor experience here at The Old Mill, this is certainly not our usual standard of food or service. We are working hard with our new team of chefs to improve the overall quality of the food and on this occasion we failed to deliver. Some issues were with a supplier regarding bread but we can only apologise that your visit was so poor.
Please be assured that we are continuing to improve nad hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future and will see the giant steps we have taken
Regards
Andy, Gail & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a walk round Salisbury Cathedral (on a hot day) we walked down the river to this pub.

Sat outside by the river for lunch.

Portions were good. Notice the fish on plates going by was enormous!!

Food was very nice. Service was not too bad as it was very busy.

Really nice place to visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jean H
Thank you for your comments, and hope to see you again in the near future
Regards
Andy, Gail & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We had a real nice dinner outdoor seating just in front of the river banks. a great scenery. Service was slow, beer was good and we had a real nice moment at that patio.It's of the beaten path of salishbury went there by the bike paht. must do.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Alain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Alain H
Thank-you for your comments. We are so glad you had such a lovely time here at The Old Mill & look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards
Andy, Gail & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

The food is slow and poor quality. Service is low standard and you will be better off eating somewhere else. Both our meals were terrible with no taste and over cooked, a full refund was given but wasted our precious time.... not even a sorry...

Eat somewhere else is my advice.

2  Thank Thundercat747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Thundercat747
We are so sorry for your experience. We can see that you have commented on both our pages as you were so unhappy. If you would be so kind as to contact us directly on info@oldmillhotelsalisbury.co.uk we would like the opportunity to try to rectify your issues
Regards
Andy, Gail & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I dropped into this well located and pretty little pub for lunch with my wife.

It was not that busy but after ordering it took about 30 mins for the food to come. We ordered a chilli and a Cajun burger. The service was pretty bland and limited to no conversation or anything other than barked single words from the staff.

The food came and was terrible. The chilli was with basmati rice which appeared that it had been microwaved in a bowl and then turned out on the plate. It had clumps of solid dry rice and did not absorb any of the chillie which was salty and had no spice or flavour of chillie. The burger was dry and even crispy at points with again not a hint of Cajun flavour. It was listed on the menu as served with “slaw” and it was. A thimble of cheap supermarket stuff...

We tried to eat as we don’t have time to re- order but it was terrible. On taking it back the server thanked me for bringing the plates not even noticing they were still full.... I explained and she took them away, not a sorry not an offer for fresh food....

I went to the bar and got a refund for the food, I still had to pay for the drinks which we had also not had as we were now leaving to find somewhere to eat a nice lunch together on a rare day off.

Don’t waste your time here, eat in town or another pub as the food is rubbish.

1  Thank Thundercat747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Manager at Old Mill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Thundercat
We are so sorry for your experience. As per our message on our restaurant site we have asked you to contact uis directly to discuss the issues further in order that we can rectify your issues
Regards
Andy, Gail & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Wilton, Salisbury
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Old Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing