We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Inn Cholderton

Crown Inn Cholderton
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Cholderton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We discovered this pub on our doorstep in December and have eaten here a couple of time and had very good food, served quickly by friendly staff. Yesterday we tried their Sunday lunch and it was very good. A choice of starters, followed by a choice of Lamb, Pork Loin, Beef topside or chicken with Crispy roast spuds and two veg. This was followed by a choice of 9-10 different desserts all for £14.95. The food was of good quality, served on hot plates. Booking is a must as word must be getting out as it was very busy but this did not affect the service we were given or saw others getting

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rwelfare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    14
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely experience and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Food and service were great. Very picturesque pub in a lovely village. We will be back. Rare Breeds farm is just up the road if you want a bit of exercise first.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great pub - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great country pub set by a river in tranquil setting. Extensive menu of bistro style pub food at very reasonable prices. Food was plentiful and was served very hot. Good selection of local beer, although no malt whisky stocked! Stone flags in dining area add to ambience of the experience. Cheerful and helpful staff. Dog friendly. Highly recommended for a cosy and rustic evening meal. The only thing that let it down when we visited was insufficient bar staff, which caused a bit of a wait - but we weren't in any hurry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very friendly and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were a party of 6 adults who had not been here before. Very friendly, staff were hard working. Home cooked food and delicious deserts. Not too expensive. Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Tried the food On a evening out with friends, the service was excellent, we all had the burgers and they are highly recommended, freshly prepared to how you like them cooked. We all had the desserts which were traditional puddings and tasted great.
Only negative was
The limited starters on offer, but we will definitely be going back and trying the Sunday Carvery



Helpful?
Thank Billiem47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Inn Cholderton also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Shipton Bellinger, Hampshire
 
Cholderton, Wiltshire
 

Been to Crown Inn Cholderton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing