We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming pub...”

Crown Inn Cholderton
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Cholderton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A welcoming pub...”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived quite late on a Friday evening but there were no worries, staff were friendly and the menu was varied. We had a steak not the best I have eaten but it was served with a smile and we were made to feel quite comfortable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolBford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    52
    14
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy great britain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very obliging”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Happy staff, very welcoming. Meal was superb, fresh and delicious!
They even squeezed us in late as we had warned them we had been held up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCZWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, friendly country pub, great for motorhome stopover!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

They have a large car park and grassed area which was a great start for us in our motorhome to be able to park up.
A very friendly welcome and homely top quality menu with a couple of very interesting and different options. We had 3 courses each, starters were overly and a decent size, mains were perfectly cooked (lamb chump and osterich). We were very impressed with the food and would recommend to anyone. We stopped over on a Wednesday night to break up he journey to Devon and it was peaceful, relaxing start to our holiday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mammoth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Ostrich on the menu...”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Previous experience was not altogether positive, but as we were passing thought we would give it another go. We dropped by on a fine evening with a decent number of guests in evidence. Decent trade for a midweek. Intrigued by the Ostrich Steak, decided to give that a go with another in the party opting for tried and tested bullet proof main course, Wiltshire ham, egg & chips. Arrived after the expected amount of time to cook, given busy nature of place and only one staff member at the bar. Prepared to pay £14.95 to give the Ostrich steak with sautéed onions & peppers a go but overall the place is a couple of £ more expensive than you might expect. Pint of draught Cider at £4.20 seems more like London prices than Wiltshire. The ale was slightly better than last visit but only a limited selection. Given what we saw all over the carpet (see picture, look close) perhaps molluscs might feature on the menu.

Plenty of space to distract the kids and quaint enough venue (close enough to Thruxton if you are over that way).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cordon Bleu excellence”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The title of my review says it all. We were staying locally for four nights and having had an excellent snack lunch of warm baguettes on our arrival the first day, returned for the following three nights for an evening meal. The Chicken Breast in a blue cheese dressing was so good, I had this on each occasion with salad and shared the chips which my husband had each evening with his chosen meal. The excellent raspberry cheesecake was outstanding but unfortunately was not on the menu again while we were there but all the freshly made and unusual choice of desserts were totally outstanding. Unfortunately as we live in Surrey we will not be able to make this our " regular " but when visiting this area again we would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown Inn Cholderton also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Shipton Bellinger, Hampshire
 
Cholderton, Wiltshire
 
Pewsey, Wiltshire
East Chisenbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Crown Inn Cholderton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing