We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but otherwise just OK”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We found this B&B looking for a place near but not in Salisbury. It looks lovely from the back, with a stream and gazebo. The owner was very friendly. The room was en suite. But unfortunately our room fronted on the highway and was quite noisy early in the morning. The pub is friendly but there were only two other customers even though England was playing in the World Cup that evening. Generally I'd say the place could really benefit from professional help.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leathem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We would never recommend the Wheatsheaf. We wanted a base for the Summer Solstice at Stonehenge. We arrived mid afternoon. The owner showed us the room which was tired and dated. It was at the front of the pub, so we have heavy traffic noise as there was no double glazing. We had a rest and then about 6.30 went down for a meal as we were going to get some rest and then set off to to stones in the early hours of the morning. We were told by the owner that because everyone else had left to go to Stonehenge he had't put on the friers so thee was no food. We then went in search of a pub for a meal and then went on to Stonehenge. We did not find a pub so had no meal. After the sunrise we went back to the pub hungry and tired had two hours sleep before getting up for breakfast. There was no show by the owner, and as he hadn't actually done any work the previous evening, we expected him to be there. It cost us £80 for the night which was a total rip off. It was outrageous the cost of the room which we had for three hours at the most, no wonder he can afford to not do evening meals, I WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS PUB TO ANY TRAVELLERS.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My 2 children and I stayed her Saturday night to go to Peppa Pig land the next morning.
We did not arrive till 9pm after an 3 and a half hour journey down there.
We were warmly greeted and the children were starving, the man kindly rustled up a couple of ham and cheese butties for them.
The lady serving breakfast was also lovely.
Thank you for our lovely stay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very noisy room, right by a main road. Cramped room with no attempt at making it feel homely. The smell of fried breakfast throughout the building. Over-priced for what you get. The pub has the feeling of being on it's last legs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercuryman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Travelling back from Wilton, we happened across this country inn. As it was lunchtime we stopped for a meal. There was a large garden with plenty of seating on such a sunny day. The interior was like the tarsus - it just went on and on.
The decor was very tasteful. The menu catered for all tastes and the prices were very reasonable. We are going to return for an evening meal. What a find!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dorothea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The B&B is on the busy A46 and because no double glazing has been fitted the noise from the lorries kept me awake all night - my head was literally 10ft from the road! The room was clean but the bed and pillows very uncomfortable. The back of the hotel is nice and overlooks a pretty stream. Food only served until 8 o'clock and very basic. £75 room rate for a single room was pricy for the quality. A 25w light bulb on the bedside light was a first! Will not be returning

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovefoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank roberto s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
3.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
910 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
421 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
317 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf

Address: 1 King Street, Wilton, Salisbury SP2 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Wilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilton
Price Range: £66 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 1800's The Wheatsheaf is full of character a hidden gem on the A36 with a riverside garden, free onsite parking and 4 comfortable en suite rooms all with tea and coffee making facilities. The Building and accommodation been undergoing changes for the last 23 months and we aim to keep improving over time. We are now serving lunch and evening meals, please see our website for days and times. Breakfast is included with room bookings, please feel free to contact us for any more information. (Thank you all for your kind reviews so far! We are hugely grateful to have had the pleasure of such lovely guests) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wheatsheaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing