We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising Good Food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pembroke Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wilton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprising Good Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The food at The Pembroke Arms is now far superior to what it once was. I would recommend the burger and chips, and their salads looked delightful. The services is friendly but at times confused. As for value for money, since The Pembroke Arms has changed hands, the prices have become more in line with what one would expect for pub food. Lovely place to stop for lunch if you are visiting Wilton House.

Room Tip: Eat here, over eating within Wilton House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that you were pleased with the prices. Thankyou for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    100
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
82
276
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We, a group of 9, booked five rooms and stayed at the Pembroke Arms Hotel in Wilton, UK for one night on May 23, 2014. The rooms, amenities and services were good and to our satisfaction. However, an incident happened that really marred our reunion trip and ruined our impression of this Hotel’s integrity.

Below are the facts of what happened:

A shopping bag containing 2 birthday cards and 2 wrapped birthday gifts (specifically purchased in London from the V&A museum) was accidentally left in one of the twin rooms on the 1st floor at the Hotel when we checked out on May 24th.

Having noticed this on the morning of May 25th , we contacted the hotel and the staff member who took the call agreed to look into the issue and promised to call back on any findings. No call was received. With the birthday dinner set for the evening, we were anxious to know if the gifts and cards were found. So we called again in the afternoon and found the staff member who took the initial call. He said that the missing bag had been found with 2 birthday cards and some rubbish inside! Knowing that it would be hard to prove our case, we did not intend to seek compensation but were keen to inform the owner to keep an eye on his staff members. We asked if the owner, Ido Davis, was around but was told that he was not available but would call us back.

The next day, we finally got hold of Ido and told him that we were not looking for compensation but needed to alert him to the possibility that his Hotel was served by staff members with dishonest behaviour, which would be damaging to the hotel's reputation. However, Ido responded arrogantly by saying that it could not be true and it was a serious accusation. The way he talked showed he would not want to listen and was not willing to reason. It was so off-putting that it rendered one to feel waste of energy to continue with the conversation. So our caller put the phone down on Ido.

We were all greatly upset by this event mainly due to the hotel's response, particularly as our initial intention was not to make a complaint but to give helpful feedback. It also meant we were left without gifts for the 2 members of our party whose birthdays we were celebrating. Despite further communication, we never received any apology and we therefore feel driven to post on Tripadvisor.

We will NOT be staying at the Pembroke Arms Hotel again following this experience, and would advise others to keep a close eye on their belongings if they choose to stay there in future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank 9_Upset_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
This is what we replied to your email to us which we are not going to publish due to its contents. It is just worth mentioning that the gifts you accused our staff of stealing are two V&A tea towels... There are always two sides to a story. This is ours:

Dear XXXXX,

When the loss of the bag was reported a day after you left, our staff searched the skips for your bag and found it. Sadly, the present you lost was not there. Searching rubbish bins is more than should be expected from our staff. The following day I spoke to your friend who very rudely twice put the phone down on me. Behaviour more appropriate to a 10 year old child than to the person I met only a day earlier and tried to explain to, that I, as an employer, can not just discipline my staff on the say so of a guest. And yes saying that my staff stole your items is a serious allegation and one that has to be carefully thought through before making.

Our staff have been with us for a long time and we trust them implicitly and treat them with respect and we expect them to treat our guests in the same way. We do not accuse them of stealing every time a guest misplaces an item.

As the bag ended up in the skip, isn't it just possible that the lost item was lost in the skip? Is it not possible that it is lost in your bags? that perhaps you failed to put it in the bag in the first place and it never even made it to the hotel? Is it possible that you have left it on the counter in the shop where you bought it?

We are very sorry that the experience of your stay with us was marred by the loss of the gift, however we did all we could when you alerted us to its being missing to find it, even searching through a skip. We have tried to work with you on this and have been treated with complete aggression and rudeness, not the type of behaviour we are used to nor should have to put up with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the food was of good quality and the breakfast waitress was superb. The quirkiness of the property was charming but my husband nearly fell out of bed in room 2 because of the slope! If we came to the Salisbury area again we would happily stay here for a second time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spag734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Your husband nearly fell out of bed because of the slope???
I reckon we don't dilute the beer enough. Working on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night on our honeymoon and wish we had more time! We had a great time here. The food was delicious and they had a good wine a beer selection. Our room was fantastic and one of the best on our trips. The bed was super comfortable and a decent size. The hotel has a fantastic country charm with model conveniences. They even had an ipod player in the room! Great free wifi and over all and excellent location. Would definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssalto87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed one night here. The staff were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful, though never intrusive. The room was light and pretty and had a really comfortable bed. I'm not a good sleeper,so was concerned by the proximity of the road, but the double glazing did a great job. The food was excellent - high quality but not London prices. Dinner included was a real bonus and no restrictions on the menu chosen - a rarity.
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay here. Our double glazing is very effective, thankfully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A really exceptional small hotel, with friendly and efficient but unobtrusive staff. The rooms are a delight - beautifully furnished and comfortable, with extra amenities such as fresh milk for the tea and coffee tray.
The food is hearty pub fare, not very sophisticated but well prepared and served in the attractive bar and dining room. Breakfast was delicious.
The hotel is on a man in road, but the noise did not trouble us - the double glazing is effective, and the traffic dies down to a trickle after dark.
What is most extraordinary is the price - they could charge double for this sort of quality, but they don't!

Room Tip: i have no tip to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RUPECLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
Thankyou for your kind review, it is very helpful to us to receive feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very impressed with this hotel!
Lovely relaxed atmosphere with superbly comfortable rooms, beds and well appointed bathrooms.
Had a delicious dinner and loved the whole feel of the place!
We had a car so found the parking excellent.
We enjoyed the no nonsense connection to the wifi and the warmth and comfort of the sitting room downstairs!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Thankyou for writing such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
2.8 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pembroke Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pembroke Arms Hotel

Property: The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Address: Minster Street, Wilton, Salisbury SP2 0BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Wilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pembroke Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the beautiful Wilton Estate, The Pembroke Arms offers bedrooms, a restaurant & bar, plus elegant function rooms which are perfect for weddings or conferences. Our intention is to offer a relaxed, friendly and top-notch service in enticingly quirky surroundings - the hotel is furnished with beautiful, colonially-themed furniture from Rajasthan, supplemented with items from local suppliers and antique dealers. Our restaurant menu also makes the most of fresh, locally-sourced produce, creating delicious, excellent quality dishes that appeal to all.We are not a stuffy, corporate hotel group; we have an unconventional style which won't fail to impress as you step through the door; a passionate and obliging style of service that exceeds customer expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pembroke Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing