We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sad it was only one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we stayed one night having traveled from Yorkshire to the tank museum in bovington. sad it was only one night what a delightful property with themed bed rooms very tastefully decorated and furnished,the room tray choices of a high standard. The bar and restaurant and lounge were cosy and welcoming the property has lovely grounds and free parking. we did look at property in Salisbury which is very close and so glad we choose the Pembroke Arms,The staff were welcoming and friendly we ate evening meal which was delicious and then excellent chioce for breakfast which was cooked to order and faultless.I would recommend this property to anyone visiting the area with Stonehenge and Salisbury near, It is a perfect base for exploring the area, sadly we were only there overnight and had already made on ward plans.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattsUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thanks for your review and I'm glad we lived up to your expectations. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff and it's good to hear we made you feel welcome. Being so close to many tourist attractions such as Stonehenge, Old Sarum, Salisbury Cathedral and Wilton House I hope you'll be able to find a good enough excuse to visit again. Many thanks again and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for The Pembroke Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

A chance find on the internet when looking for a stop-over in Somerset with colleagues in early June, I was keen to see if it was a good choice. After a long drive from London we arrived and were delighted by our friendly welcome. We were shown to our individually designed rooms and could not have been more impressed with the lovely style, cleanliness and comfort. We decided to eat in the restaurant and the high standard was continued with service and quality for meals. We had a very good night's sleep and a wonderful breakfast. This hotel and restaurant offered great value and service for money, I will return - hopefully soon.

Room Tip: The Queen's Bedroom on the top floor was wonderfully quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thanks for your review - I'm glad you managed to stumble upon us! It's good to hear that you enjoyed what we have to offer. We hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Difficult to do better in the area - good parking, excellent welcome, great food/bar service - can't report on the breakfast as we had to depart very early. but suspect it is more than adequate.
Particularly impressed with the range of freshly prepared veggy choices on the menu.
Pleasant rooms, everything worked and considerate amount of bottled water, tea etc available.
We are intending to stay again during August.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear preferable - traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thanks for your review, Richard. Our menu is created in order to accommodate all types of dietary requirements and I'm glad that you enjoyed our Vegan/Vegetarian section on the menu. It's a shame you weren't able to stay with us for breakfast because we also offer a vegetarian full English! Thanks again and we'll hopefully see you again in August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Pembroke Arms was the 1st B&B we stayed at during our recent visit to England. Our room was spacious, comfortable beds, and a nice size bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast great. The location is ideal since it's close to Salisbury and Stonehenge. Plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Thank you Leny.
We are close to Salisbury. Three miles from the Cathedral to be precise! Stonehenge is 15-20 minute drive away too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The food at The Pembroke Arms is now far superior to what it once was. I would recommend the burger and chips, and their salads looked delightful. The services is friendly but at times confused. As for value for money, since The Pembroke Arms has changed hands, the prices have become more in line with what one would expect for pub food. Lovely place to stop for lunch if you are visiting Wilton House.

Room Tip: Eat here, over eating within Wilton House.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that you were pleased with the prices. Thankyou for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We, a group of 9, booked five rooms and stayed at the Pembroke Arms Hotel in Wilton, UK for one night on May 23, 2014. The rooms, amenities and services were good and to our satisfaction. However, an incident happened that really marred our reunion trip and ruined our impression of this Hotel’s integrity.

Below are the facts of what happened:

A shopping bag containing 2 birthday cards and 2 wrapped birthday gifts (specifically purchased in London from the V&A museum) was accidentally left in one of the twin rooms on the 1st floor at the Hotel when we checked out on May 24th.

Having noticed this on the morning of May 25th , we contacted the hotel and the staff member who took the call agreed to look into the issue and promised to call back on any findings. No call was received. With the birthday dinner set for the evening, we were anxious to know if the gifts and cards were found. So we called again in the afternoon and found the staff member who took the initial call. He said that the missing bag had been found with 2 birthday cards and some rubbish inside! Knowing that it would be hard to prove our case, we did not intend to seek compensation but were keen to inform the owner to keep an eye on his staff members. We asked if the owner, Ido Davis, was around but was told that he was not available but would call us back.

The next day, we finally got hold of Ido and told him that we were not looking for compensation but needed to alert him to the possibility that his Hotel was served by staff members with dishonest behaviour, which would be damaging to the hotel's reputation. However, Ido responded arrogantly by saying that it could not be true and it was a serious accusation. The way he talked showed he would not want to listen and was not willing to reason. It was so off-putting that it rendered one to feel waste of energy to continue with the conversation. So our caller put the phone down on Ido.

We were all greatly upset by this event mainly due to the hotel's response, particularly as our initial intention was not to make a complaint but to give helpful feedback. It also meant we were left without gifts for the 2 members of our party whose birthdays we were celebrating. Despite further communication, we never received any apology and we therefore feel driven to post on Tripadvisor.

We will NOT be staying at the Pembroke Arms Hotel again following this experience, and would advise others to keep a close eye on their belongings if they choose to stay there in future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
10  Thank 9_Upset_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

This is what we replied to your email to us which we are not going to publish due to its contents. It is just worth mentioning that the gifts you accused our staff of stealing are two V&A tea towels... There are always two sides to a story. This is ours:

Dear XXXXX,

When the loss of the bag was reported a day after you left, our staff searched the skips for your bag and found it. Sadly, the present you lost was not there. Searching rubbish bins is more than should be expected from our staff. The following day I spoke to your friend who very rudely twice put the phone down on me. Behaviour more appropriate to a 10 year old child than to the person I met only a day earlier and tried to explain to, that I, as an employer, can not just discipline my staff on the say so of a guest. And yes saying that my staff stole your items is a serious allegation and one that has to be carefully thought through before making.

Our staff have been with us for a long time and we trust them implicitly and treat them with respect and we expect them to treat our guests in the same way. We do not accuse them of stealing every time a guest misplaces an item.

As the bag ended up in the skip, isn't it just possible that the lost item was lost in the skip? Is it not possible that it is lost in your bags? that perhaps you failed to put it in the bag in the first place and it never even made it to the hotel? Is it possible that you have left it on the counter in the shop where you bought it?

We are very sorry that the experience of your stay with us was marred by the loss of the gift, however we did all we could when you alerted us to its being missing to find it, even searching through a skip. We have tried to work with you on this and have been treated with complete aggression and rudeness, not the type of behaviour we are used to nor should have to put up with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the food was of good quality and the breakfast waitress was superb. The quirkiness of the property was charming but my husband nearly fell out of bed in room 2 because of the slope! If we came to the Salisbury area again we would happily stay here for a second time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spag734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idodavids, Owner at The Pembroke Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Your husband nearly fell out of bed because of the slope???
I reckon we don't dilute the beer enough. Working on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
406 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.1 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
2.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pembroke Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pembroke Arms Hotel

Address: Minster Street, Wilton, Salisbury SP2 0BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Wilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wilton
Price Range: £94 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pembroke Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the beautiful Wilton Estate, The Pembroke Arms offers bedrooms, a restaurant & bar, plus elegant function rooms which are perfect for weddings or conferences. Our intention is to offer a relaxed, friendly and top-notch service in enticingly quirky surroundings - the hotel is furnished with beautiful, colonially-themed furniture from Rajasthan, supplemented with items from local suppliers and antique dealers. Our restaurant menu also makes the most of fresh, locally-sourced produce, creating delicious, excellent quality dishes that appeal to all.We are not a stuffy, corporate hotel group; we have an unconventional style which won't fail to impress as you step through the door; a passionate and obliging style of service that exceeds customer expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Pembroke Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing