We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff. Nothing too much trouble. Facilities suited my needs perfectly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Needed to stay somewhere overnight after visiting a patient in the Galway University Hospital. Was able to enjoy the craic in the back-streets of Galway before returning to this hotel which is only a few minutes drive out of Galway. They gave me a super room rate including breakfast. They even offered to help change a tyre after I discovered I had a slow puncture - now that service you don't encounter every day!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue_infinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

Just stayed at this hotel with my 2 young kids and extended family for a few days. What a great hotel with such friendly, helpful staff. Anyone who's travelled with young kids knows what a nightmare it can be but the staff at the Arches were a godsend!! The family room was bright and spacious with plenty of room to move around. The food at the hotel was excellent with the menu having a wide selection and reasonably priced. My aunt is coeliac and was very well catered for. There is a lovely children's playground in nearby Oranmore which kept us occupied for hours. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Galway city and perfectly located to tour the surrounding areas. I will definitely be back to stay again!!! Looking forward to it

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marnas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Just stayed at the Arches for the weekend and the hotel is lovely. The staff are very friendly and the food was excellent. The room was very clean and the bathroom was very spacious with a good shower in it. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debrakeogh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed in the Arches hotel recently. Was at a wedding next door and the hotel was full. Really lacks any soul for a hotel. My room was very basic but clean. TV didnt work and looked like it had seen better days. Shower was definitely a bit dodgy, head was not secure and keep swinging around and wetting bathroom floor.
Hard to get the night porter to answer the door - waiting in the cold and rain @4.00am is not fun. . Breakfast in bed seemed to be an issue, but got it eventually.
Not a hotel i would return to for any reason !!!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dalytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This hotel is ok for a overnight stopover hotel. It is well located and has plenty of parking, The staff are friendly and the breakfast was nice. The room was a good size although there was a bit of damp beside the window and the light fitting in the bathroom was missing. The reception isnt always manned which leave the restaurant/bar staff to deal with your queries and while they were friendly they are not properly trained to deal with all queries. May stay again if i get a cheap rate and and need a night stopover in the area. Wouldnt stay for leisure though.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baddiel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed in the Arches for just one night to attend a wedding nearby. The common areas of the hotel are well looked after and put forward a clean an welcoming appearance. The staff were friendly and efficient. However, the room was well below par.

It appears that they've received no attention since the hotel opened. The walls are marked and dirty, the window frame was in need to some attention and a broken pole was left on the window sill for some unknown reason. The bathroom had poor fixtures, a shower head that leaked, an extractor fan with broken bearings and no soap at the sink.

Overall not the worst place I've stayed in but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColmDAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We looked forward to our trip to Galway and having our group all in the hotel's own self catering house sounded like a fantastic idea, however the facilities were seriously lacking.
The towels were just dumped on one of the beds, there were no cleaning materials in the house, apart from a token gesture dirty mop and bucket by the front door, there was no shower curtain in the main bathroom, and no TV ariel for the TV (the hotel staff were informed of this, as it would have been nice to chill out in front of the telly!).

There were patches on the wall where holes had been filled in and just left unfinished, and the garden was a mess, not very inviting to sit outside. When you flushed the loo, the seat was broken, or turned the tap on it was so noisy with all the pipes banging and groaning. It felt as if the hotel had recently aquired the house and not really prepared it for guests to stay in. The saving grace is that it was relatively clean.

This may not seem the end of the world, but on the morning of the second day having experienced cold showers to start the day, despite the boiler/hot water being on, a leak appeared and the hallway ceiling was soaking wet right and down the walls, near to the light switches and a big puddle on the floor.

This was bought immediately to the hotel staff's attention, and despite making it quite clear that it was health and safety risk, as we all know that electric and water don't go well together, they who really didn't appear that bothered, but I have to give them some credit at reception they had found an indoor ariel for the telly!!

Having had the reception staff confirm that there were spare rooms in the hotel, I was expecting the member of staff to say, yes get your bags, we've got spare rooms in the hotel, as we don't want you to stay in the house as there is clearly a problem, but alas no.....The comment was "go and ask the rest of your group if they want to move into the hotel and let us know as we have some spare rooms." Needless to say upon my return to the house our group were packed and pretty much waiting by the door! It felt like we were being treated as an inconvienience.

We infromed the staff that we had to throw away our breakfast food for the next day and the hotel didn't even offer a complimentory breakfast!

Our last night was in the hotel, this was ok nothing more than an average room, and relatively clean, but after all is'nt that the basic requirement of all hotels!

Think carefully before making a booking..........

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hampshirehogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
569 reviews
4.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,112 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,967 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches Hotel, Claregalway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches Hotel, Claregalway

Address: Cois Chlair, Claregalway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arches Hotel, Claregalway 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Arches Hotel, Claregalway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing