We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous!!! A really warm, welcoming hotel.”
Review of Claregalway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claregalway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was a family break for children, parents and grandparents. All had a ball! We were away from the hustle and bustle of Galway City, yet near enough to enjoy everything. The staff in the hotel are soooo friendly, courteous, helpful and cheerful (hard to do in these times)!! Thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing break!

Tip: If you're not driving, you can get a bus from Eyre Square, Galway. The bus stop is beside the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, look for an end room away from the main corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words and your feed back. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Wishing you all a Merry Christmas & Peace Full New Year.


Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Really lovely hotel with extremely friendly staff. We booked this through a daily deal and it was our first time in Galway. The only problem we had was with ordering a taxi but I don't think that was any fault of the hotel staff. We had some food in the bar and that was lovely too and everything was great value for money. We will definitely be back and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mezzdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words and important feed back. We will work on getting the a quicker response time from the taxies. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I stayed here in November with my partner for a nice relaxing break. The staff are all very courteous and professional. The hotel is set in a nice location. We both enjoyed the food in the bistro, the portions are large and the price was reasonable. The rooms are large with extra pillows and blankets in the closet. Girls, there is a decent enough hairdryer in the rooms! We stayed in the pub for the evening, there was a band playing and the atmosphere was relaxing yet it had a buzz. Breakfast in the morning is a typical buffet, great selection, what more can you want! If I was in the location again I would definitely stay here again. The hotel could be so much more with a few amendments and small touches, such as upgrading the bathrooms, but it is still nice as is.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danceoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments and taking time out to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year,

Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Enjoyed my stay immensely, manager Paul really made our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you so much for posting your kind comments on tripadvisor. I welcom all feed back and I am delighted to say that we have take your menu comments on board, in our new menu which went live last week.

Again many thanks for your feed back and i will post your kind comments about the team here up on our team notice board.

May I take this oppertunity to wish you a very happy Christmas & prosperus new year.

Paul & the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Recently spend 2 nights at this nice hotel. Although a lot of functions taking place both nights there was ample car parking. Check in was efficient and friendly and welcoming. Room was bright, clean and spacious. We booked the restaurant for the 1st night, however there was 21st that evening in the restaurant and the meal was served in a pleasant mezzanine room overlooking the bar area. Food was really good (we both opted for the fish skewers) and staff were friendly & attentive. There was music in the bar area and altogether it was a very pleasant evening. The bar itself was busy and free cocktail sausages was a nice touch later in the evening. On the strength of the first evening we booked the restaurant for the 2nd evening and although we got the restaurant itself we were slightly disappointed. The menu was the same and this time I choose the cod and chips which were really good my wife chose the lasagne , which she described as poor. (we broke our own rule on this one - stick to Italian restaurants for Italian food). The wine my wife ordered came in a glass with lipstick around the top, but she just reached over to another table and took a clean glass off it. There was a number of birthday parties in the bar that night and a group playing. Cocktail sausies were provided again and the bar was buzzing, jammed to the door with a really good atmosphere. An enjoyable end to a nice day.

Breakfast on both mornings was excellent, plenty of choice and food was replaced very frequently and staff were once attentive and efficient.

The owners/manager and staff of the hotel work very hard to keep customers happy and it shows. We got a really fantastic deal and to be honest the hotel was a higher standard than we actually paid for. If I had any suggestions it would be that maybe the hotel would consider offering a set price dinner menu as a lot of other establishments now do.
Overall lovely hotel, very hardworking and friendly staff and totally enjoyed visit. recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here at short notice on the road back from mayo towards home and the staff were lovely and helpful, the room and leisure centre were lovely and they were very child friendly. However the bar food was overpriced and only average. The fire alarm had problems and went on and off for a while but settled down eventually

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandSCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I will take on board your comments regarding the bar food as we are launching our Christmas menu next week. I will pass on your comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for being so understanding regarding the Fire Alarms, you will be please to know they have been silent since (bar their weekly test!).

Kind Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Myself and my husband stayed her for two nights in September, the deal included dinner on one evening. The hotel is of standard quality, clean and comfortable but without any extra touches!!! The food at dinner was most disappointing and breakfast was standard fare. No major complaints but no major compliments either. The second night was a disaster, we had been put in a room directly above the function room where there was a wedding and we never slept a wink!! On the plus side the hotel and the staff were most apologetic about this (though not much use when you are facing a drive to Dublin) and did not charge us for that nights stay. Reading the other reviews which are mainly positive, perhaps we were just unlucky but I wont rush back. However, 10/10 for the courteous and professional way in which our complaint was handled. Thanks for that, and to Niamh (?) at reception.

Room Tip: Stay away from the function room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jun404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time for posting your comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel. I am disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations and your experience is not our normal standards of service. Your feedback regarding breakfast and the room you were allocated, although very embarrassing to us will help us improve our service to you our customer. I am pleased that Niamh dealt with you and that you left our hotel with a good impression.
Kind Regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,127 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5.4 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,666 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claregalway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claregalway Hotel

Address: | Claregalway Village, Claregalway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range: £44 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Claregalway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claregalway Hotel is 'definitely different' with an innovative, contemporary design offering an indulgent experience and energetic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claregalway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claregalway Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing